Tag Archives: Tears for Fears

Tears for Fears: The Hurting

On March 7, 1983, “Mercury” label released “The Hurting”, the debut Tears for Fears studio album. It was recorded 1982 – 1983, and was produced by Chris Hughes and Ross Cullum.


  • Roland Orzabal – lead and backing vocals, guitars, keyboards, rhythm programming
  • Curt Smith – lead and backing vocals, bass, keyboards
  • Ian Stanley – keyboards programming, computer programming
  • Manny Elias – drums, rhythm programming
  • Chris Hughes – rhythm programming, tuned percussion, conducting
  • Ross Cullum – jazz high, dynamic toggle percussion
  • Mel Collins – saxophones
  • Phil Palmer – Palmer picking guitar
  • Caroline Orzabal – child vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Roland Orzabal.

  1. The Hurting
  2. Mad World
  3. Pale Shelter
  4. Ideas as Opiates
  5. Memories Fade
  6. Suffer the Children
  7. Watch Me Bleed
  8. Change
  9. The Prisoner
  10. Start of the Breakdown

Jon Hassell

On June 26, 2021, Jon Hassell died aged 84. He was musician (trumpet) and composer, best known as creator of the “Fourth World” music concept. He recorded and performed with artists such as Brian Eno, Terry Riley, the Theatre of Eternal Music, Talking Heads, Farafina, Peter Gabriel, Tears for Fears, Ani DiFranco, Techno Animal, Ry Cooder, Moritz von Oswald, Carl Craig, Francesco Guccini, La Monte Young, David Sylvian, Lloyd Cole, Alice, Marc Beacco, Les Nouvelles Polyphonies Corses, Hector Zazou, Stina Nordenstam, David Toop, Jackson Browne, K. D. Lang, Holly Cole, Mandalay, Hal Wilner, Nick Wood, Rick Cox, Frou Frou, Ibrahim Ferrer and John Balke. As leader, co-leader, Hassell released 18 albums.

On February 25, 1985.


On February 25, 1985, “Phonogram” label released “Songs from the Big Chair”, the second Tears for Fears studio album. It was recorded in 1984, at “The Wool Hall” in Somerset, and was produced by Chris Hughes.


  • Roland Orzabal – lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, grand piano, vocal styling, bass synth and Linn Drum Programming
  • Curt Smith – vocals, bass guitar
  • Ian Stanley – keyboards, synths, Linn Drum programming, arrangements
  • Manny Elias– drums drum arrangement
  • Tim O’Sullivan –cover photography
  • Sandy McLelland –backing vocals
  • Chris Hughes– drums
  • Jerry Marotta– percussion, saxophone arrangements
  • Will Gregory– saxophone
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Andy Davis –grand piano
  • Neil Taylor– guitar
  • Chris Hughes– drums, MIDI programming
  • Stevie Lange– backing vocals
  • Will Gregory– saxophone
  • Annie McCaig – backing vocals
  • Marilyn Davis – backing vocals, operatic vocal

Track listing:

  1. Shout – Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley
  2. The Working Hour – Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley, Manny Elias
  3. Everybody Wants to Rule the World – Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley, Chris Hughes
  4. Mothers Talk – Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley
  5. I Believe – Roland Orzabal
  6. Broken – Roland Orzabal
  7. Head Over Heels / Broken– Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley
  8. Listen – Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley