On October 5, 1970.

Led_Zeppelin III

On October 5, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “Led Zeppelin III”, the third Led Zeppelin studio album. It was composed at a cottage in Wells, known as “Bron-Yr-Aur”, and was recorded  December 1969; January – August 1970, at “Rolling Stones Mobile Studio”, in Headley Grange, Hampshire; “Island Studios”, “Olympic Studios” in London,  and was produced by Jimmy Page. The album cover was designed the multimedia artist Zacron.  The album was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 3 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 3 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in UK by “BPI, and 6 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • John Bonham– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, Hammond organ, Moog synthesizer, mandolin, double bass, string arrangement
  • Jimmy Page– acoustic, electric and pedal steel guitars, banjo, dulcimer, bass, backing vocals
  • Robert Plant– lead vocals, harmonica

Track listing:

  1. Immigrant Song – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  2. Friends – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  3. Celebration Day – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  4. Since I’ve Been Loving You – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  5. Out in the Tiles – Jimmy page, Robert Plant, John Bonham
  6. Gallows Pole – traditional, arr. by Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  7. Tangerine – Jimmy Page
  8. That’s the Way – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  9. Bron-Y-Stomp – Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  10. Hats Off to (Roy) Harper – traditional, arr. by Charles Obscure

On October 5, 1962.



On October 5, 1962, “Parlaphone” label released “Love Me Do”, the Beatles’ first single, with “P.S. I Love You” as B side. “Love Me Do” was written few years before it was released, and before the name The Beatles existed. The song is signed by Lennon and McCartney and the single was produced by George Martin. Three different versions of the song were recorded, each with a different drummer:

  • 6 June 1962 – with Pete Best
  • 4 September 1962 – with Ringo Starr
  • 11 September 1962 – with Andy White

George Martin said: When ‘Love Me Do’ was released, it was the day the world changed.

On October 2, 1979.

Police-Reggatta de blanc

On October 2, 1979, “A&M” label released “Reggatta de Blanc”, the second Police studio album. The album was recorded from February – August 1979, at the Surrey Sound Studios, and was produced by Nigel Gray and The Police. In 1980, the title track brought the band their first “Grammy Award for Best Rock Instrumental Performance”. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Reggata de Blanc” No. 372 on its list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”.


  • Sting– bass guitar, lead  and backing vocals, double bass
  • Andy Summers– guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Stewart Copeland– drums, backing and lead vocals, guitar, piano, spoken word

Track listing

All compositions by Sting, except where noted.

  1. Message in a Bottle
  2. Reggata de Blanc – Andy Summers, Sting and Stewart Copeland
  3. It’s Alright for You – Sting and Stewart Copeland
  4. Bring on the Night
  5. Deathwish – Andy Summers, Sting and Stewart Copeland
  6. Walking on the Moon
  7. On Any Other Day – Stewart Copeland
  8. The Bed’s Too Big Without You
  9. Contact
  10. Does Everyone Stare
  11. No Time This Time

On October 3, 1967.


On October 3, 1967, Woodrow Wilson “Woody” Guthrie died aged 55. He was musician, singer-songwriter and musician whose musical legacy includes hundreds of political, traditional, children’s songs, along with ballads and improvised works. He performed with the slogan “This machine kills fascists” displayed on his guitar. His song “This Land Is Your Land” has become one of the most popular music pieces in the history of the American popular music, and is regularly sung in American schools Big number of famous musicians and authors have acknowledged Guthrie as their major influence, including:Bob Dylan, Johnny Cash, Bruce Springsteen, Harry Chapin, John Mellencamp, Pete Seeger,  Joe Strummer, Billy Bragg,Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir, Jeff Tweedy, and Tom Paxton.



On October 2, 1970.

Atom Heart Mother

On October 2, 1970, “Harvest” label released “Atom Heart Mother” the fifth Pink Floyd studio album. It was recorded February – August 1970, at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London,  and was produced by Roger Waters, Nick Mason, David Gilmour, Rick Wright and Norman Smith. The album cover was created by “Hipgnosis” and was band’s first album to be specially mixed for four-channel quadraphonic sound as well as conventional two-channel stereo.


  • Roger Waters– bass guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals, tape effects, tape collages
  • David Gilmour– guitars, vocals, bass, drums
  • Rick Wright– keyboards, vocals
  • Nick Mason– drums, percussion, tape editing, tape collage
  • EMI Pops Orchestra –brass and orchestral sections
  • Haflidi Hallgrimsson– cello
  • John Alldis Choir– vocals
  • Alan Styles –voice, sound effects
  • Ron Geesin– orchestration

Track listing:

  1. Atom Heart Mother – Nick Mason, David Gilmour, Roger Waters, Rick Wright, Ron Geesin
  2. If – Roger Waters
  3. Summer of ’68 – Rick Wright
  4. Fat Old Sun – David Gilmour
  5. Alan’s Psychedelic Breakfast – Roger Waters, Nick Mason, David Gilmour, Rick Wright

On September 29, 2015.


On September 29, 2015, Philip Wells Woods, one of the worlds’s most celebrated jazz alto saxophonists, died aged 83. Woods was also a clarinettist, composer and band leader, and in his almost 60 years long career, he has performed with some of the biggest names of jazz and popular music, including: Billy Joel, Paul Simon, Steely Dan, Donald Byrd,Gene Quill, Hal Stein, Sahib Shihab, Michel Legrand, Lew Tabackin, Dizzy Gillespie, Benny Carter, Gordon Beck, Benjamin Koppel, Alex Riel, Grace Kelly, Monty Alexander, Evan Gregor, Bill Goodwin, and Jordan Perlson.


On October 1, 1984.


On October 1, 1984, “island” label released “The Unforgettable Fire”, the fourth U2 studio album. It was recorded May – August, 1984, at the “Slane Castle”, in County Meath and at the “Windmill Lane Studios”  in Dublin, and was produced by Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois.


  • Bono – lead vocals
  • The Edge– guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Adam Clayton– bass guitar
  • Larry Mullen, Jr.– drums
  • Brian Eno– additional vocals, instruments, treatments
  • Daniel Lanois– additional vocals, instruments, treatments
  • Paul Barret – fairlight
  • Chrissie Hynde– backing vocals
  • Peter Gabriel– vocals

Track listing:

All lyrics by Bono, all music by Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen Jr.

  1. A Sort of Homecoming
  2. Pride (In the Name of Love)
  3. Wire
  4. The Unforgettable Fire
  5. Promenade
  6. 4th of July
  7. Bad
  8. Indian Summer Sky
  9. Elvis Presley and America
  10. MLK