In July 1963.

In July 1963, “Impulse!” label released “John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman”, an album by John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman. It was recorded in March 1963, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele. In 2013, the album was inducted in the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


  • Johnny Hartman– vocals
  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums

Track listing:

  1. They Say It’s Wonderful – Irving Berlin
  2. Dedicated to You – Sammy Cahn, Saul Chaplin, Hy Zaret
  3. My One and Only Love – Guy Wood, Robert Melin
  4. Lush Life – Billy Strayhorn
  5. You Are Too Beautiful – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  6. Autumn Serenade – Peter DeRose, Sammy Gallop

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.