Tag Archives: Reid Miles

In June 1957.

In June 1957, “Blue Note” label released “Wailing With Lou”, the fifth Lou Donaldson album. It was recorded in January 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Lou Donaldson- alto saxophone
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Herman Foster- piano
  • Peck Morrison- bass
  • Art Taylor- drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder- engineer
  • Reid Miles- design
  • Francis Wolff- photography

 Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Donaldson except where noted.

  1. Caravan – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Juan Tizol
  2. Old Folks – Dedette Lee Hill, Willard Robison
  3. That Good Old Feeling
  4. Move It
  5. There Is No Greater Love – Isham Jones, Marty Symes
  6. D. Blues

In December 1959.

In December 1959, “Blue Note” label released “The Sermon!”, the fifteenth Jimmy Smith album. It was recorded August 25, 1957 and  February 25, 1958, at “Manhattan Towers” in New York City, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jimmy Smith– organ
  • Lee Morgan– trumpet
  • Lou Donaldson– alto saxophone
  • Tina Brooks– tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell– guitar
  • Art Blakey– drums
  • George Coleman– alto saxophone
  • Eddie McFadden– guitar
  • Donald Bailey– drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder– engineer
  • Reid Miles– design
  • Francis Wolff– photography
  • Ira Gitler– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. The Sermon – Jimmy Smith
  2. O.S. – Jimmy Smith
  3. Flamingo – Edmund Anderson, Ted Grouya

In November 1960.

In November 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Horace-Scope”, the tenth Horace Silver studio album. It was recorded in July 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Horace Silver– piano
  • Blue Mitchell- trumpet
  • Junior Cook- tenor saxophone
  • Gene Taylor- bass
  • Roy Brooks- drums
  • Reid Miles- design
  • Rudy Van Gelder- engineering
  • Francis Wolff- photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Horace Silver except where noted.

  1. Strollin’
  2. Where You At?
  3. Without You – Don Newey
  4. Horace-Scope
  5. Yeah!
  6. Me and My Baby
  7. Nica’s Dream

In December 1956.

In December 1956, “Blue Note” label released “Whims of Chambers”, the second  Paul Chambers album. It was recorded on September 21, 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Paul Chambers- bass
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • John Coltrane- tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell- guitar
  • Horace Silver- piano
  • Philly Joe Jones- drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Francis Wolff – cover photo
  • Reid Miles – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Chambers, except where noted.

  1. Omicron – Donald Byrd
  2. Whims of Chambers
  3. Nita – John Coltrane
  4. We Six – Donald Byrd
  5. Dear Ann
  6. Tale of the Fingers
  7. Just for the Love – John Coltrane

In August 1975.

In August 1975, “Columbia” label released “So Fine”, the fifth Loggins and Messina studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at Jim Messina’s ranch in Ojai, California, and was produced by Jim Messina.


  • Kenny Loggins- vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica, banjo, 2nd engineer
  • Jim Messina- vocals, lead guitar, acoustic guitar, dobro, mandolin
  • Merel Bregante – drums
  • Jon Clarke – flute, saxophone
  • Vince Denham – saxophone
  • Richard Greene – violin
  • Larry Sims – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Don Roberts – saxophone, flute
  • Mike Rubini- piano
  • Milt Holland- percussion
  • Steve Forman – percussion
  • Engineer: Alex Kazanegras
  • Corey Bailey – recording
  • Recording technician: Lew Schatzer
  • Photography: Jim McCrary, Reid Miles
  • Design: Ron Coro, Nancy Donald

Track listing:

  1. Oh, Lonesome Me – Don Gibson
  2. My Baby Left Me – Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup
  3. Wake Up Little Susie – Felice and Boudleaux Bryant
  4. I’m Movin’ On – Hank Snow
  5. Hello Mary Lou – Gene Pitney
  6. Hey Good Lookin’ – Hank Williams
  7. Splish Splash – Bobby Darin, Murray the K
  8. A Lover’s Question – Brook Benton, Jimmy Williams
  9. You Never Can Tell – Chuck Berry
  10. I Like It Like That – Chris Kenner
  11. So Fine – Johnny Otis
  12. Honky Tonk – Part II – Billy Butler, Bill Doggett, Clifford Scott, Shep Shepherd

In May 1978.

In May 1978, “Epic” label released “Heaven Tonight”, the third Cheap Trick studio album. It was recorded 1977-1978, at “Record Plant” and “Sound City Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Tom Werman. In 1979 the album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada” and Platinum in US by “RIIA” in 1995.


  • Robin Zander– lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Rick Nielsen– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Tom Petersson– bass, backing vocals
  • Bun E. Carlos– drums
  • Jai Winding – keyboards
  • Gary Ladinsky – engineer
  • Mike Beiriger – assistant engineer
  • George Marino– mastering
  • Jim Charne, Paula Scher– design
  • Reid Miles- photography

Track listing:

All songs by Rick Nielsen, except where noted.

  1. Surrender
  2. On Top of the World
  3. California Man – Roy Wood
  4. High Roller – Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson, Robin Zander
  5. Auf Wiedersehen – Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson
  6. Takin’ Me Back
  7. On the Radio
  8. Heaven Tonight – Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson
  9. Stiff Competition
  10. How Are You – Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson
  11. Oh Claire – Bun E. Carlos, Rick Nielsen, Tom Petersson, Robin Zander