Tag Archives: Savant

On August 2, 2005.

On August 2, 2005, “Savant” label released “Fun House”, the 15th Reuben Wilson album. It was recorded in December 2004, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Melvin Sparks.


  • Reuben Wilson– Hammond B-3
  • Cochemea Gastelum – tenor saxophone
  • Melvin Sparks– guitar
  • Mike Clark– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Reuben Wilson except where noted

  1. Easy Talk – Gene Redd, Hank Marr
  2. Fun House
  3. For the Love of You – The Isley Brothers, Chris Jasper
  4. Ronnie’s Bonnie
  5. Love Time
  6. Sweet Feet
  7. Minor Yours
  8. Loft Funk – Mike Clark

On July 1, 1997.

On July 1, 1997, “Savant” label released “The Opening Round”, subtitled “The Groove Masters Series Vol. 1”, the 43rd Houston Person album. It was recorded in February 1997, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Houston Person.


  • Houston Person– tenor saxophone
  • Joey DeFrancesco– Hammond B3 organ
  • Rodney Jones– guitar
  • Tracy Wormworth– electric bass
  • Bernard Purdie– drums

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Sucker – Johnny Griffin
  2. Let’s Stay Together – Al Green, Al Jackson Jr., Willie Mitchell
  3. Can’t Help Lovin’ That Man – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II
  4. What’s Going On? – Marvin Gaye, Renaldo Benson, Al Cleveland
  5. When a Man Loves a Woman – Calvin Lewis, Andrew Wright
  6. Blue Spring – Rodney Jones
  7. Song for a Rainbow – Rodney Jones
  8. Shenandoah – traditional