Tag Archives: Melvin Sparks

On August 2, 2005.

On August 2, 2005, “Savant” label released “Fun House”, the 15th Reuben Wilson album. It was recorded in December 2004, at “Van Gelder Studios” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Melvin Sparks.


  • Reuben Wilson– Hammond B-3
  • Cochemea Gastelum – tenor saxophone
  • Melvin Sparks– guitar
  • Mike Clark– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Reuben Wilson except where noted

  1. Easy Talk – Gene Redd, Hank Marr
  2. Fun House
  3. For the Love of You – The Isley Brothers, Chris Jasper
  4. Ronnie’s Bonnie
  5. Love Time
  6. Sweet Feet
  7. Minor Yours
  8. Loft Funk – Mike Clark

On April 17, 2001.

On April 17, 2001, “Milestone” label released “Feelin’ It”, the 60th Jimmy McGriff album. It was recorded in October 2000, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Porter.


  • Jimmy McGriff– organ
  • Bill Easley– tenor saxophone, alto saxophone
  • David “Fathead” Newman– tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber– baritone saxophone
  • Wayne Boyd – guitar
  • Melvin Sparks – guitar
  • Kenny Washington– drums
  • Don Williams − drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy McGriff except where noted

  1. Stan’s Shuffle – Stanley Turrentine
  2. Hard Times – Paul Mitchell
  3. Us – Wayne Boyd
  4. Feelin’ It – Melvin Sparks
  5. Sermonizing
  6. All Blues – Miles Davis
  7. Just in Time – Jule Styne, Betty Comden, Adolph Green
  8. City Lights


In November 1967.

In November 1967, “Verve” label released “The Blues Is Now”, the twenty-eight Jimmy Witherspoon album. It was recorded on June 1, 1967, and was produced by Ken Druker and Lew Futterman.


  • Jimmy Witherspoon- vocals
  • Jack McDuff- arranger, organ
  • Leo Johnson, Danny Turner – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute
  • Melvin Sparks- guitar
  • Jymie Merritt- bass guitar
  • Ray Appleton- drums
  • Hollis King- art direction
  • Nancy Reiner- cover art
  • Acy Lehman- cover design
  • Val Valentin– engineer
  • Ken Druker- executive producer
  • Bob Irwin, Jayme Pieruzzi– mastering
  • Raymond Ross- photography

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Slumber – Lucky Millinder, Al J. Neiburg, Henri Woode
  2. I’m Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town – Andy Razaf, Will Weldon
  3. Past Forty Blues – Robert Lee Roach, Jimmy Witherspoon
  4. K. Blues – Saunders King
  5. Late One Evening – Jimmy Witherspoon
  6. Part Time Woman – Jimmy Witherspoon
  7. Good Rocking Tonight – Roy Brown
  8. I Won’t Tell a Soul (I Love You) – Hughie Clark, Ross Parker
  9. My Baby’s Quit Me – Doc Pomus
  10. My Money’s Long This Morning, Baby – David Parker

On December 17, 1999.

Grover Washington Jr

On December 17, 1999, Grover Washington, Jr. died aged 56. Being saxophonist, composer and arranger, he is considered to be one of the founders of the smooth jazz genre. Some of his most popular works feature his own compositions and covers of “Mister Magic”, “Take Five”, “Soulful Strut”, “Reed Seed”, “Black Frost”, “Winelight”, “Inner City Blues” and “The Best is Yet to Come”.  In his career he has performed and recorded with many famous musicians, including Kathleen Battle, Kenny Burrell, Hank Crawford, Charles Earland, Dexter Gordon, Urbie Green, Eddie Henderson, Masaru Imada, Boogaloo Joe Jones, Idris Muhammad, Gerry Mulligan, Don Sebesky, Johnny “Hammond” Smith, Melvin Sparks, Leon Spencer, Mal Waldron, Randy Weston, Bill Withers and Patti LaBelle.