On October 7, 1978.

Dire Straits first album

On Octoebr 7, 1978, “Vertigo” label released the self titled, debut Dire Straits studio album. It was recorded February – March 1978, at the “Basing Street Studios”, London, and was produced by Muff Winwood. The album featured the hit single “Sultans of Swing”, which became the band’s trademark and helped the album to be certified 2 x Platinum in the US and UK.


  • Mark Knopfler– vocals, lead and rhythm guitars
  • David Knopfler– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • John Isley– vocals, bass
  • Pick Withers– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Knopfler.

  1. Down to the Waterline
  2. Water of Love
  3. Setting me Up
  4. Six Blade Knife
  5. Southbound Again
  6. Sultans of Swing
  7. In the Gallery
  8. Wild West End
  9. Lions

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.