Tag Archives: Chick Corea Elektric Band

On February 9, 2020.

On February 9, 2020, Armando Anthony “Chick” Corea died aged 79. He was musician (piano, keyboards, percussion), composer and bandleader. He is regarded as one of the major piano players to emerge in jazz during the post-John Coltrane era. Recorded and performed with the most important Jazz musicians including Miles Davis, Mongo Santamaria, Willie Bobo, Blue Mitchell, Herbie Mann, Stan Getz, Roy Haunes, Miroslav Vitous, Stanley Clarke, Richard Davis, Joe Farrell, Joe Henderson, Eric Kloss, Hubert Laws, Herbie Mann, Blue Mitchell, John Patitucci, Wayne Shorter, Cal Tjader, Sonny Stitt, Dave Pike, Armando Peraza, Marion Brown, Sadao Watanabe, Larry Coryell, John Surman, Elvin Jones, Rolf Kühn, Airto Moreira, Antony Braxton, Pete La Roca, Al Di Meola, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Ron Carter, Gábor Szabó, Donald Byrd, Tete Montoliu, Chaka Khan, Eddie Gomez, Wallace Rooney, Herbie Hancock, Antonio Sanches, Gary Burton and Hiromi Uehara. Corea formed and lead Return to Forever, Circle, Chick Corea Elektric Band, Chick Corea Akoustic Band and Five Peace Band. As leader he released 77 studio and 23 live albums. Corea won 23 “Grammy Awards”.

On August 24, 2004.

On August 24, 2004, “Stretch Records” label released “To the Stars”, the eighth Chick Corea Elektric Band album. It was recorded in 2004 and was produced by Chick Corea.


  • Chick Corea– keyboards, liner notes
  • Eric Marienthal– saxophone
  • Frank Gambale– guitar
  • John Patitucci– bass guitar
  • Dave Weckl– drums
  • Pernell Saturnino– percussion
  • Steve Wilson– saxophone
  • Bernie Kirsh – engineer
  • Bob Cetti – assistant engineer
  • Bernie Grundman– mastering
  • Rik Pekkonen – mixing
  • Emanuele Ruffinengo – assistant producer

Track listing:

All tracks by Chick Corea.

  1. Check Blast
  2. Port View 1
  3. Mistress Luck-A Portrait
  4. Mistress Luck-The Party
  5. Port View 2
  6. Johnny’s Landing
  7. Port View 3
  8. Alan Corday
  9. Port View 4
  10. Hound of Heaven
  11. Port View 5
  12. The Long Passage
  13. Port View 6
  14. Jocelyn-The Commander
  15. Port View 7
  16. Captain Jocelyn-Tribute by His Crew
  17. Captain Jocelyn-The Pianist


On August 22, 1991.

On August 22, 1991, “GRP” label released “Beneath the Mask”, the fifth Chick Corea Elektric Band studio album. It was recorded in 1991, at “GRP Group Company”, and was produced by Chick Corea.


  • Chick Corea – keyboards, mini Moog, synclavier, synthesizer
  • Frank Gambale– guitar, synthesizer guitar
  • Eric Marienthal– alto and soprano saxophone
  • John Patitucci– bass
  • Dave Weckl– drums, percussion, mixing
  • Evelyn Brechtlein – project coordinator
  • Joseph Doughney – post production
  • Bernie Kirsh – engineer, mixing
  • Robert Read – assistant engineer
  • Michael Landy– post production
  • Scott Johnson – design
  • Sonny Mediana – design
  • Andy Ruggirello – design
  • Dan Serrano – design
  • Harrison Funk – photography

Track listing:

  1. Beneath the Mask – Chick Corea, John Patitucci, Dave Weckl
  2. Little Things That Count – John Patitucci, Dave Weckl
  3. One of Us Is Over 40 – Chick Corea, John Patitucci, Dave Weckl
  4. A Wave Goodbye – Chick Corea, Dave Weckl
  5. Lifescape – Chick Corea
  6. Jammin E. Cricket – Chick Corea, John Patitucci, Dave Weckl
  7. Charged Particles – Chick Corea
  8. Free Step – Chick Corea
  9. 99 Flavors – Chick Corea
  10. Illusions – Chick Corea, John Patitucci, Dave Weckl