Tag Archives: Michael Clarke

On April 8, 1976.

On April 8, 1976, “Atlantic” label released the self-titled, debut Firefall album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Criteria Studios” in Miami, Florida, and was produced by Jim Mason. This album became the fastest record to achieve gold status in “Atlantic” label history, and was certified Platinum by “RIAA” in the US.


  • Rick Roberts– vocals, acoustic guitars
  • Larry Burnett– vocals, acoustic, rhythm and electric guitars
  • Mark Andes- bass guitar
  • Jock Bartley- lead electric and slide guitars, Bigsby Palm Pedal guitar, cover concept
  • Michael Clarke– drums
  • David Muse – piano, clavinet, synthesizer, flute, tenor sax, harmonica
  • Joe Lala – congas, timbales, shakers, tambourine, finger cymbals, sand blocks
  • Peter Graves – trombone
  • Ken Faulk – trumpet
  • Whit Sidener – baritone sax
  • George Marino– mastering
  • Karl Richardson – engineer
  • Michael Laskow – engineer assistant
  • Ralph Wernli – front cover design

Track listing:

  1. It Doesn’t Matter – Chris Hillman, Rick Roberts, Stephen Stills
  2. Love Isn’t All – Larry Burnett
  3. Livin’ Ain’t Livin’ – Rick Roberts
  4. No Way Out – Larry Burnett
  5. Dolphin’s Lullaby – Rick Roberts
  6. Cinderella – Larry Burnett
  7. Sad Ol’ Love Song – Larry Burnett
  8. You Are the Woman – Rick Roberts
  9. Mexico – Rick Roberts
  10. Do What You Want – Larry Burnett



In February 1967.

In February 1967, “Columbia” label released “Gene Clark with the Gosdin Brothers”, the debut Gene Clark album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Larry Marks and Gary Usher.


  • Gene Clark– vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Glen Campbell– electric guitar
  • Jerry Cole– guitars
  • Bill Rinehart– guitars
  • Clarence White– guitar
  • Doug Dillard– electric banjo
  • Leon Russell– piano, harpsichord; string arrangements
  • Van Dyke Parks– keyboards
  • Chris Hillman– bass
  • Jim Gordon– drums
  • Michael Clarke– drums
  • Vern Gosdin– backing vocals
  • Rex Gosdin– backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Gene Clark, except where noted.

  1. Echoes
  2. Think I’m Gonna Feel Better
  3. Tried So Hard
  4. Is Yours Is Mine
  5. Keep on Pushin’ – Gene Clark, Bill Rinehart
  6. I Found You
  7. So You Say You Lost Your Baby
  8. Elevator Operator – Gene Clark, Bill Rinehart
  9. The Same One
  10. Couldn’t Believe Her
  11. Needing Someone


In June 1972.

In June 1973, “Columbia” label released the debut, self-titled Roger McGuinn solo album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Wally Heider Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Roger McGuinn.


  • Roger McGuinn– vocals, guitars, banjo, Moog synthesizer, harmonica
  • Gene Clark, Spanky McFarlane– vocals
  • David Crosby, Graham Nash– guitars, vocals
  • Jerry Cole– guitar
  • Buddy Emmons– pedal steel guitar
  • Bruce Johnston– piano, vocals
  • Spooner Oldham– organ, piano
  • David Vaught, Chris Ethridge, Chris Hillman, Leland Sklar– bass
  • John Guerin, Michael Clarke, Jim Gordon– drums
  • Charles Lloyd- saxophone
  • Hal Blaine– tambourine, percussion
  • Bob Dylan– harmonica
  • Jimmy Joyce Children’s Chorus—vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Roger McGuinn and Jacques Levy, except where noted.

  1. I’m So Restless
  2. My New Woman
  3. Lost My Drivin’ Wheel – David Wiffen
  4. Draggin’
  5. Time Cube – Roger McGuinn, R. J. Hippard
  6. Bag Full Of Money
  7. Hanoi Hannah
  8. Stone – Spooner Oldham, Dan Penn
  9. Heave Away – traditional, arr. by Roger McGuinn
  10. M’ Linda
  11. The Water Is Wide – traditional, arr. by Roger McGuinn

In June 1971.

In June 1971, “A&M” label released “The Flying Burrito Bros”, the third Flying Burrito Brothers album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Sunset Sound Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jim Dickson and Bob Hughes.


  • Rick Roberts: vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Chris Hillman: vocals, bass
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow: pedal steel guitar
  • Bernie Leadon: vocals, guitars, banjo
  • Michael Clarke: drums
  • Earl P. Ball: piano
  • Bob Gibson: guitar
  • Mike Deasy: guitar
  • Recording engineer: Lillian Davis Douma, Bob Hughes
  • Art Direction: Roland Young
  • Photography: Jim McCrary
  • Design: Chuck Beeson

Track listing:

  1. White Line Fever – Merle Haggard
  2. Colorado – Rick Roberts
  3. Hand to Mouth – Rick Roberts, Chris Hillman
  4. Tried So Hard – Gene Clark
  5. Just Can’t Be – Rick Roberts, Chris Hillman
  6. To Ramona – Bob Dylan
  7. Four Days of Rain – Rick Roberts
  8. Can’t You Hear Me Calling – Rick Roberts, Chris Hillman
  9. All Alone – Rick Roberts, Chris Hillman
  10. Why Are You Crying – Rick Roberts


In April 1970.

In March 1970, “A&M” label released “Burrito Deluxe”, the second Flying Burrito Brothers studio album. It was recorded 1969-1970, and was produced by Jim Dickson and Henry Lewy.


  • Gram Parsons— vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards
  • Chris Hillman— vocals, bass, mandolin
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow— pedal steel guitar
  • Bernie Leadon— vocals, guitar, dobro
  • Michael Clarke— drums
  • Leon Russell— piano
  • Byron Berline— fiddle
  • Tommy Johnson— tuba
  • Buddy Childers— cornet, flugelhorn
  • Leopoldo C. Carbajal — accordion
  • Frank Blanco — percussion

Track listing:

  1. Lazy Days – Gram Parsons
  2. Image of Me – Harlan Howard, Wayne Kemp
  3. High Fashion Queen – Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons
  4. If You Gotta Go – Bob Dylan
  5. Man in the Fog – Bernie Leadon, Gram Parsons
  6. Father Along – J.R. Baxter, W.B. Stevens
  7. Older Guys – Chris Hillman, Bernie Leadon, Gram Parsons
  8. Cody Cody – Chris Hillman, Bernie Leadon, Gram Parsons
  9. God’s Own Singer – Bernie Leadon
  10. Down in the Churchyard – Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons
  11. Wild Horses – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards

On June 21, 1965.

Byrds - Mr Tambourine Man

On June 21, 1965, “Columbia” label released “Mr. Tambourine Man”, The Byrds debut album. It was recorded January 20 – April 22, 1965, at “Columbia Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Terry Melcher. The album opened the doors of success for The Byrds on the internationall music scene, and became first serious American response to the dominance of The Beatles and the British Invasion during the mid-1960s. The album cover photograph was by Barry Feinstein. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Mr. Tambourine Man” at number 232 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jim McGuinn- lead guitar, vocals
  • Gene Clark- rhythm guitar, tambourine, vocals
  • David Crosby- rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Chris Hillman- electric bass
  • Michael Clarke- drums
  • Jerry Cole- rhythm guitar
  • Larry Knechtel- electric bass
  • Leon Russell- electric piano
  • Hal Blaine– drums

Track listing:

  1. Tambourine Man – Bob Dylan
  2. I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better – Gene Clark
  3. Spanish Harlem Incident – Bob Dylan
  4. You Won’t Have to Cry – Gene Clark, Jim McGuinn
  5. Here Without You – Gene Clark
  6. The Bells of Rhymney – Idris Davies, Pete Seeger
  7. All I Really Want to Do – Bob Dylan
  8. I Knew I’d Want You – Gene Clark
  9. It’s No Use – Gene Clark, Jim McGuinn
  10. Don’t Doubt Yourself, Babe – Jackie DeShannon
  11. Chimes of Freedom – Bob Dylan
  12. We’ll Meet Again – Ross Parker, Hughie Charles