Tag Archives: 16

On March 13, 2001.

On March 13, 2001, “Blue Note” label released “Flights of Fancy: Trio Fascination: Edition Two”, the 18th Joe Lovano album. It was recorded June 14 and 16, 2000, and was produced by Joe Lovano.


  • Joe Lovano– tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto clarinet, drums, percussion, gong
  • Idris Muhammad- drums
  • Cameron Brown- bass
  • Billy Drewes- soprano saxophone, alto flute
  • Joey Baron- drums
  • Toots Thielemans- harmonica
  • Kenny Werner- piano
  • Dave Douglas- trumpet
  • Mark Dresser- bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Lovano, except where noted.

  1. Flights of Fancy
  2. On April (I’ll Remember April) – Gene de Paul, Patricia Johnston, Don Raye
  3. Amsterdam
  4. Blue Mist
  5. Off and Runnin’
  6. Infant Eyes – Wayne Shorter
  7. 206
  8. Bougainvillea – Judi Silvano
  9. Windom Street
  10. Hot Shot
  11. Aisha – McCoy Tyner
  12. Amber
  13. On Giant Steps – John Coltrane
  14. Flights of Fancy – reprise



In January 1967.

In January 1967, “Impulse” label released “Kulu Sé Mama”,the 24th John Coltrane album. It was recorded June 10 – 16, 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, October 14, 1965, at “Western Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane— tenor saxophone
  • Pharoah Sanders— tenor saxophone, percussion
  • McCoy Tyner— piano
  • Jimmy Garrison— double bass
  • Donald Rafael Garrett — bass clarinet, double bass, percussion
  • Frank Butler—drums, vocals
  • Elvin Jones— drums
  • Juno Lewis — vocals, percussion, conchshell, hand drums

Track listing:

  1. Kulu Sé Mama (Juno Sé Mama)
  2. Vigil
  3. Welcome


On April 16, 2017.

On April 16, 2017, Allan Holdsworth died aged 70. He was guitarist and composer, known as big innovator in development of the guitar playing. He was one of the most influential guitarists of the 20th Century, cited as influence by many famous guitarists such as  Tom Morello, Yngwie Malmsteen, Eddie Van Halen, Joe Satriani, Greg Howe, Shawn Lane, Richie Kotzen, John Petrucci, Alex Lifeson and Kurt Rosenwinkel. In his four decades long career he released twelve albums as solo artists, and has recorded and performed with many famous musicians and bands including Igginbottom, Nucleus, Tempest, Soft Machine, The New Tony Williams Lifetime,  Pierre Moerlen’s Gong,  Jean-Luc Ponty, Bruford, U.K., Stanley Clarke, Chad Wackerman, Level 42 and K². According to “Guitar World” magazine he is “as influential as Chuck Berry, Jimi Hendrix and Eddie Van Halen”.


On April 16, 2016.

On April 16, 2016, “Polyvinyl” label released “Plays the Music of Twin Peaks”, the twelve Xiu Xiu studio album. It was recorded in 2016, and was produced by Jherek Bischoff, Jamie Stewart, Angela Seo and Shayna Dunkelman. The album features cover versions of the Twin Peaks soundtrack


  • Jamie Stewart— vocals, guitar, synth, noises, drum machine
  • Angela Seo — piano, synth, cymbals
  • Shayna Dunkelman — vibraphone, percussion, drums, synth
  • Jherek Bischoff— bass, double bass
  • Greg Saunier— mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Angelo Badalamenti.

  1. Laura Palmer’s Theme
  2. Into the Night
  3. Audrey’s Dance
  4. Packard’s Vibration
  5. Nightsea Wind
  6. Blue Frank / Pink Room
  7. Sycamore Tree
  8. Harold’s Theme
  9. Dance of the Dream Man
  10. Falling
  11. Love Theme Farewell
  12. Josie’s Past

On March 16, 2017.

On March 16, 2017, James Henry Cotton died aged 81. Being blues  harmonica  player, singer and songwriter, he had successful solo career, recording albums under his own name, and recording and performing with number of great blues and rock musicians including Gregg Allman, William “Billy Boy” Arnold, Elvin Bishop, Mike Bloomfield, Joe Bonamassa, Paul Butterfield, Grateful Dead, Pat Hare, Howlin’ Wolf, Janis Joplin, B.B. King, Freddie King, Alexis Korner, Steve Miller, Charlie Musselwhite, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Keith Richards, Todd Rundgren, Santana, Willie “Big Eyes” Smith, Otis Spann, Taj Mahal, Big Mama Thornton, Jimmie Vaughan, Joe Louis Walker, Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson and Johnny Winter.

On February 16, 2009.


On February 16, 2009, “Decca” label released “Years of Refusal”, the ninth Morrissey studio album. It was recorded 2007 – May 2008, and was produced by Jerry Finn. It was the last album completed by producer Jerry Finn before his death.


  • Morrissey– vocals
  • Boz Boorer– guitar
  • Jesse Tobias– guitar
  • Solomon Walker– bass guitar
  • Matt Walker– drums
  • Roger Joseph Manning Jr.– keyboards
  • Mark Isham– trumpet
  • Jeff Beck– guitar
  • Michael Farrell– keyboards, accordion, cowbell
  • Kristopher Pooley– backing vocals
  • Kristeen Young– additional vocals
  • Chrissie Hynde– backing vocals
  • Seth Waldmann – engineering
  • Jake Walters – front cover photography
  • Travis Shinn – sleeve photography

Track listing:

  1. Something is Squeezing My Skull – Morrissey, Alain Whyte
  2. Mama Lay Softly on the Riverbead – Morrissey, Alain Whyte
  3. Black Cloud – Morrissey, Boz Boorer
  4. I’m Throwing My Arms Around Paris – Morrissey, Boz Boorer
  5. All You Need Is Me – Morrissey, Jesse Tobias
  6. When Last I Spoke to Carol – Morrissey, Alain Whyte
  7. That’s How People Grow Up – Morrissey, Boz Boorer
  8. One Day Goodbye Will Be Farewell – Morrissey, Boz Boorer
  9. It’s Not Your Birthday Anymore – Morrissey, Alain Whyte
  10. You Were Good in Your Time – Morrissey, Alain Whyte
  11. Sorry Doesn’t Help – Morrissey, Jesse Tobias


On April 13, 1990.


On April 13, 1990, “Lookout Records” label released “9/Smooth”the debut Green Day studio album. It was recorded December 29, 1989, – January 2, 1990, at “Art of Ears Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Andy Ernst and Green Day.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar
  • Mike Dirnt– bass, backing vocals
  • John Kiffmeyer– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Andy Ernst– engineer
  • John Golden – mastering
  • Susie Grant – front cover photo
  • Jesse Michaels– artwork
  • Pat Hynes – artwork, graphic design, layout design
  • Chris Appelgren; Aaron Cometbus; Rich Gargano; David Hayes – artwork
  • Murray Bowles; Arica Pelino – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and John Kiffmeyer, except where noted.

  1. At the Library
  2. Don’t Leave Me
  3. I Was There – lyrics by John Kiffmeyer
  4. Disappearing Boy
  5. Green Day
  6. Going to Pasalacqua
  7. 16
  8. Road to Acceptance
  9. Rest
  10. The Judge’s Daughter