Tag Archives: Otis Spann

In May 1957.

In May 1957, “Chess” label released “After School Session”, the debut Chuck Berry album. It was recorded May 1955 – January 1957, in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Leonard Chess and Philip Chess.


  • Chuck Berry – vocals, guitar, steel guitar
  • Johnnie Johnson – piano
  • Otis Spann – piano
  • Jimmy Rogers – guitar
  • L. C. Davis – tenor saxophone
  • Jerome Green – maracas
  • Willie Dixon – bass
  • Fred Below – drums
  • Jasper Thomas – drums
  • Ebby Hardy – drums
  • Vartan – art direction
  • Don Snowden – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry.

  1. School Days
  2. Deep Feeling
  3. Too Much Monkey Business
  4. Wee Wee Hours
  5. Roly Poly
  6. No Money Down
  7. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  8. Berry Pickin’
  9. Together (We Will Always Be)
  10. Havana Moon
  11. Downbound Train
  12. Drifting Heart

In january 1966.

In January 1966, “Chess” label released “The Real Folk Blues”, the sixth Sonny Boy Williamson II album. It was recorded September 1957 – April 1964, in Chicago, and was produced by Marshall Chess.


  • Sonny Boy Williamson – vocals, harmonica
  • Buddy Guy, Robert Lockwood Jr., Eddie King, Matt Murphy, Luther Tucker – guitar
  • Otis Spann – piano
  • Lafayette Leake – piano, organ
  • Willie Dixon, Jack Meyers, Milton Rector – bass
  • Fred Below, Al Duncan, Odie Payne – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Boy Williamson except where noted

  1. One Way Out
  2. Too Young to Die
  3. Trust My Baby
  4. Checkin’ Up on My Baby
  5. Sad to Be Alone
  6. Got to Move
  7. Bring It On Home – Willie Dixon
  8. Down Child
  9. Peach Tree
  10. Dissatisfied
  11. That’s All I Want – Willie Dixon
  12. Too Old to Think

On May 12, 1969.

On May 12, 1969, “Cadet” label released “After the Rain”, the sixth Muddy Waters studio album. It was recorded in January 1969, and was produced by Marshall Chess, Charles Stepney and Gene Barge.


  • Muddy Waters(McKinley Morganfield) – vocals, lead guitar
  • Phil Upchurch– guitar
  • Pete Cosey– guitar
  • Morris Jennings – drums
  • Otis Spann– piano
  • Louis Satterfield– bass
  • Charles Stepney– organ
  • Paul Oscher– harmonica
  • Stu Black – engineer
  • T. Swan – re-mix production

Track listing:

All tracks by Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield), except where noted.

  1. I Am the Blues – Willie Dixon
  2. Ramblin’ Mind
  3. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
  4. Bottom of the Sea
  5. Honey Bee
  6. Blues and Trouble
  7. Hurtin’ Soul – Charles Williams
  8. Screamin’ and Cryin’


In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Checker Records” label released “Bo Diddley Is a Gunslinger”, the fifth Bo Diddley studio album. It was recorded October 1959 – February 1960, and was produced by Leonard Chess, Phil Chess and Bo Diddley.


  • Bo Diddley(Ellas McDaniel) – lead vocals, lead guitar
  • Jerome Green – maracas, backing vocals
  • Willie Dixon, Bobby Baskerville – bass
  • Jesse James Johnson – electric bass
  • Billy Downing, Clifton James – drums
  • Lafayette Leake, Otis Spann, Billy Stewart– piano
  • Peggy Jones – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Gene Barge– tenor saxophone
  • Johnny Carter, Harvey Fuqua, Lily “Bee Bee” Jamieson, Gloria Morgan, Nate Nelson – backing vocals
  • Vartan – art direction

Track listing:

All tracks by Ellas McDaniel, except where noted.

  1. Gunslinger
  2. Ride on Josephine
  3. Doing the Craw-Daddy
  4. Cadillac
  5. Somewhere
  6. Cheyenne
  7. Sixteen Tons – Merle Travis, arranged byEllas McDaniel
  8. Whoa Mule (Shine)
  9. No More Lovin’
  10. Diddling

In July 1959.

In July 1959, “Checker Records” label released “Go Bo Diddley”, the second Bo Diddley album. It was recorded on March 2, 1955, and in September 1958, and was produced by Leonard Chess, Phil Chess and Bo Diddley. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 214 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


 Bo Diddley (Ellas McDaniel) – vocals, guitar; violin

  • Peggy Jones– guitar, backing vocals
  • Jerome Green – co-lead vocals, maracas
  • Willie Dixon– bass
  • Clifton James – drums
  • Frank Kirkland – drums
  • Billy Boy Arnold– harmonica
  • Lafayette Leake– piano
  • Otis Spann– piano

Track listing:

All tracks by Ellas McDaniel (Bo Diddley), except where noted.

  1. Crackin’ Up
  2. I’m Sorry – Ellas McDaniel, Alan Freed, Harvey Fuqua
  3. Bo’s Guitar
  4. Willie and Lillie
  5. You Don’t Love Me (You Don’t Care)
  6. Say Man
  7. The Great Grandfather
  8. Oh Yea
  9. Don’t Let It Go
  10. Little Girl
  11. Dearest Darling
  12. The Clock Strikes Twelve


In August 1969.

In August 1969, “Chess” label released “Fathers and Sons”, the seventh Muddy Waters studio album. The album features both studio and live recordings. The studio tracks were recorded in April 21–23, 1969 at “Ter Mar Studios” in Chicago, April 24, 1969 at the “Super Cosmic Joy-Scout Jamboree” in Chicago. Producer on all tracks was Norman Dayron.The cover illustration was by Don Wilson and was based on Michelangelo’s design on the Sistine Chapel.


  • Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield) – vocals, guitar
  • Otis Spann– piano
  • Michael Bloomfield– guitar
  • Paul Butterfield– harmonica
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn– bass guitar
  • Sam Lay– drums
  • Paul Asbell – rhythm guitar
  • Buddy Miles– drums
  • Jeff Carp – chromatic harmonica
  • Phil Upchurch– bass guitar
  • Ron Malo– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by McKinley Morganfield, except where noted.

  1. All Aboard
  2. Mean Disposition
  3. Blow Wind Blow
  4. Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had
  5. Walkin’ Thru The Park
  6. Forty Days and Forty Nights – Bernard Roth
  7. Standin’ Round Crying
  8. I’m Ready – Willie Dixon
  9. Twenty Four Hours – Eddie Boyd
  10. Sugar Sweet – Mel London
  11. Long Distance Call
  12. Baby, Please Don’t Go – Big Joe Williams
  13. Honey Bee
  14. The Same Thing – Willie Dixon
  15. Got My Mojo Working, Part 1 – Preston Foster, McKinley Morganfield
  16. Got My Mojo Working, Part 2 – Preston Foster, McKinley Morganfield


On March 16, 2017.

On March 16, 2017, James Henry Cotton died aged 81. Being blues  harmonica  player, singer and songwriter, he had successful solo career, recording albums under his own name, and recording and performing with number of great blues and rock musicians including Gregg Allman, William “Billy Boy” Arnold, Elvin Bishop, Mike Bloomfield, Joe Bonamassa, Paul Butterfield, Grateful Dead, Pat Hare, Howlin’ Wolf, Janis Joplin, B.B. King, Freddie King, Alexis Korner, Steve Miller, Charlie Musselwhite, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Keith Richards, Todd Rundgren, Santana, Willie “Big Eyes” Smith, Otis Spann, Taj Mahal, Big Mama Thornton, Jimmie Vaughan, Joe Louis Walker, Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson and Johnny Winter.