In January 1967.

In January 1967, “Impulse” label released “Kulu Sé Mama”,the 24th John Coltrane album. It was recorded June 10 – 16, 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, October 14, 1965, at “Western Recorders” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane— tenor saxophone
  • Pharoah Sanders— tenor saxophone, percussion
  • McCoy Tyner— piano
  • Jimmy Garrison— double bass
  • Donald Rafael Garrett — bass clarinet, double bass, percussion
  • Frank Butler—drums, vocals
  • Elvin Jones— drums
  • Juno Lewis — vocals, percussion, conchshell, hand drums

Track listing:

  1. Kulu Sé Mama (Juno Sé Mama)
  2. Vigil
  3. Welcome



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.