Tag Archives: Green Day

On May 15, 2009.

On May 15, 2009, “Reprise” label released “21st Century Breakdown”, the eighth Green Day studio album. It was recorded January 2008 – April 2009, at “Ocean Way Recording” inHollywood; “Studio 880” in Oakland, California,  “Jel Studios” in Newport Beach, California, “Costa Mesa Studios” in Costa Mesa, California, and was produced by Butch Vig, Billy Joe Armstrong, Tré Cool and Mike Dirnt. At the 52nd Grammy Awardsheld in January 2010, “21st Century Breakdown” won “Grammy Award” for “Best Rock Album”. The album was certified Platinum in US by “RIAA”.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar, piano
  • Tré Cool– drums, percussion
  • Mike Dirnt– leaf and backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Jason Freese– piano
  • Tom Kitt– string arrangements
  • Patrick Warren – string conducting
  • Chris Lord-Alge– mix engineer
  • Chris Dugan – engineer
  • Keith Armstrong – assistant engineer
  • Nik Karpen – assistant engineer
  • Wesley Seidman – assistant engineer
  • Brad Kobylczak – additional engineering
  • Joe McGrath – additional engineering
  • Andrew Schubert – additional engineering
  • Brad Townshend – additional engineering
  • Ted Jensen– mastering
  • Chris Bilheimer – design, photography, stencils
  • Andrew Black – stencils
  • Micah Chong – stencils
  • David Cooper – stencils
  • Marina Chavez – back cover photo

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong, all music composed by Billie Joe Armstrong, Tré Cool and Mike Dirnt.

  1. Song of the Century
  2. 21st Century Breakdown
  3. Know Your Enemy
  4. ¡Viva la Gloria!
  5. Before the Lobotomy
  6. Christian’s Inferno
  7. Last Night on Earth
  8. East Jesus Nowhere
  9. Peacemaker
  10. Last of the American Girls
  11. Murder City
  12. ¿Viva la Gloria?
  13. Restless Heart Syndrome
  14. Horseshoes and Handgrenades
  15. The Static Age
  16. 21 Guns
  17. American Eulogy: A. Mass Hysteria/B. Modern World
  18. See the Light

On October 14, 1997.


On October 14, 1997, “Reprise” label released “Nimrod”, the fifth Green Day studio album. It was recorded March – July 1997, at “Conway Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Rob Cavallo and Green Day. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Mike Dirnt– bass, backing vocals, baseball bat
  • Tré Cool– drums, bongos, tambourine
  • Petra Haden– violin
  • Conan McCallum – violin
  • Gabrial McNair, Stephen Bradley– horns
  • David Campbell– strings arranger
  • Ken Allardyce – recording, engineer
  • Tony Flores, Mike Dy, Barry Goldberg, Bill Kinsley, Wes Seidman – additional engineers
  • Chris Lord-Alge– mixing
  • Snorri Brothers – photography
  • Chris Bilheimer – photography, art direction, design

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong; all music by Green Day.

  1. Nice Guys Finish Last
  2. Hitchin’ a Ride
  3. The Grouch
  4. Redundant
  5. Scattered
  6. All the Time
  7. Worry Rock
  8. Platypus (I Hate You)
  9. Uptight
  10. Last Ride In
  11. Jinx
  12. Haushinka
  13. Walking Alone
  14. Reject
  15. Take Back
  16. King for a Day
  17. Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)
  18. Prosthetic Head


On April 13, 1990.


On April 13, 1990, “Lookout Records” label released “9/Smooth”the debut Green Day studio album. It was recorded December 29, 1989, – January 2, 1990, at “Art of Ears Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Andy Ernst and Green Day.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar
  • Mike Dirnt– bass, backing vocals
  • John Kiffmeyer– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Andy Ernst– engineer
  • John Golden – mastering
  • Susie Grant – front cover photo
  • Jesse Michaels– artwork
  • Pat Hynes – artwork, graphic design, layout design
  • Chris Appelgren; Aaron Cometbus; Rich Gargano; David Hayes – artwork
  • Murray Bowles; Arica Pelino – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and John Kiffmeyer, except where noted.

  1. At the Library
  2. Don’t Leave Me
  3. I Was There – lyrics by John Kiffmeyer
  4. Disappearing Boy
  5. Green Day
  6. Going to Pasalacqua
  7. 16
  8. Road to Acceptance
  9. Rest
  10. The Judge’s Daughter


On February 1, 1994.


On February 1, 1994, “Reprise” label released “Dookie”, the third Green Day studio album.  It was recorded September – October 1993, at the “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, and was produced by Rob Cavallo and Green Day.  The album was certified Diamond in US by the “RIIA” for sale of 10 million copies. It  won “Grammy Award” for “Best Alternative Music Album” in 1995 and is ranked at number 193 on magazine Rolling Stone’s list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong— lead vocals, guitar
  • Mike Dirnt— bass, backing vocals
  • Tré Cool— drums, guitar, lead vocals
  • Richie Bucher — cover artist
  • Ken Schles – photography
  • Pat Hynes – booklet artwork

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong, except where noted.  All music by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool.

  1. Burnout
  2. Having a Blast
  3. Chump
  4. Longview
  5. Welcome to Paradise
  6. Pulling Teeth
  7. Basket Case
  8. She
  9. Sassafras Roots
  10. When I Come Around
  11. Coming Clean
  12. Emenius Sleepus – lyrics by Mike Dimt
  13. In the End
  14. O.D. / All by Myself


On January 17, 1992.


On January 17, 1992, “Lookout Records” released “Kerplunk”, the second Green Day studio album. It was recorded May – September 1991, at the “Art of Ears Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Andy Ernst, Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool . “Kerplunk” was band’s last release for “Lookout Records” and the first album to feature Tré Cool on drums.  With sale of over 5 million copies worldwide, “Kerplunk” became one of the best sold independent albums of all time.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar, drums
  • Mike Dirnt– bass, backing vocals
  • Tré Cool– drums, lead vocals, guitar
  • Al Sobrante– drums
  • Chris Applecore – cover art
  • Pat Hynes – artwork
  • Thadicus – art direction

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong, except where noted, all music by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool,  except where noted.

  1. 2000 Light Years Away – music by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt, Tré Cool, Jesse Michaels, Pete Rypins and  Dave “E.C.” Henwood
  2. One for the Razorbacks
  3. Welcome to Paradise
  4. Christie Road
  5. Private Ale
  6. Dominated Love Slave – lyrics by Tré Cool
  7. One Of My Lies
  8. 80
  9. Android
  10. No one Knows
  11. Who Wrote Holden Caulfield
  12. Words I Might Have Ate