Tag Archives: Billie Joe Armstrong

On May 24, 2019.

On May 24, 2019, “étienne” and “BMG” labels released “California Son”, the twelfth Morrissey studio album. It was recorded July – August 2018, at “Sunset Sound” in Hollywood, and was produced by Joe Chiccarelli.


  • Morrissey– lead vocals
  • Steve Aho – orchestration, music copying, musician contractor
  • Boz Boorer– acoustic guitar, electric rhythm guitar, electric guitar, mandolin
  • Joe Chiccarelli– recording, mixing, stylophone, drum programming
  • Roger Manning – electric piano, synthesisers, keyboards, backing vocals, string arrangement, horn arrangement
  • Zac Rae– organ, upright piano, keyboards
  • Gustavo Manzur – synthesisers, accordion
  • Jesse Tobias– electric guitar, 12-string electric guitar, slide guitar, electric rhythm guitar, fuzz guitar, electric baritone guitar, backbeat guitar, acoustic guitar, ebow guitar
  • Dave Levita – acoustic guitar
  • Sean Hurley – bass
  • Matthew Ira Walker – drums, drum programming
  • Valerie Pinkston – group vocals
  • Arnold McCuller – group vocals
  • Brigette Bryant – group vocals
  • Ed Droste– backing vocals
  • Billie Joe Armstrong– backing vocals
  • Ariel Engle– backing vocals
  • Sameer Gadhia– backing vocals
  • Petra Haden– backing vocals
  • LP– additional vocals
  • Lydia Night– backing vocals
  • Little Willie Iniesta – vocals, dog barking
  • Bill Mims – recording
  • Chris Dugan – additional engineering
  • Tim Kvasnosky– additional engineering
  • Marcus Paquin – additional engineering
  • Ryan Freeland – mixing
  • Ken Sluiter – mixing
  • Chris Allgood – mastering
  • Emily Lazar – mastering
  • Lars Fox – digital editing
  • Liam Lynch – art, design
  • Michael Muller – front photography photography

Track listing:

  1. Morning Starship – Jobriath
  2. Don’t interrupt the Sorrow – Joni Mitchell
  3. Only a Pawn in Their Game – Bob Dylan
  4. Suffer the Little Children – Buffy Sainte – Marie
  5. Days of Decision – Phil Ochs
  6. It’s Over – Roy Orbison, Bill Dees
  7. Wedding Bell Blues – Laura Nyro
  8. Loneliness Remembers What happiness Forgets – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  9. Lady Willpower – Jerry Fuller
  10. When You Close Your Eyes – Carly Simon, Billy Mernit
  11. Lenny’s Tune – Tim Hardin
  12. Some Say I Got the Devil – Melanie Safka


On October 14, 1997.


On October 14, 1997, “Reprise” label released “Nimrod”, the fifth Green Day studio album. It was recorded March – July 1997, at “Conway Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Rob Cavallo and Green Day. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Mike Dirnt– bass, backing vocals, baseball bat
  • Tré Cool– drums, bongos, tambourine
  • Petra Haden– violin
  • Conan McCallum – violin
  • Gabrial McNair, Stephen Bradley– horns
  • David Campbell– strings arranger
  • Ken Allardyce – recording, engineer
  • Tony Flores, Mike Dy, Barry Goldberg, Bill Kinsley, Wes Seidman – additional engineers
  • Chris Lord-Alge– mixing
  • Snorri Brothers – photography
  • Chris Bilheimer – photography, art direction, design

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong; all music by Green Day.

  1. Nice Guys Finish Last
  2. Hitchin’ a Ride
  3. The Grouch
  4. Redundant
  5. Scattered
  6. All the Time
  7. Worry Rock
  8. Platypus (I Hate You)
  9. Uptight
  10. Last Ride In
  11. Jinx
  12. Haushinka
  13. Walking Alone
  14. Reject
  15. Take Back
  16. King for a Day
  17. Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)
  18. Prosthetic Head


On April 13, 1990.


On April 13, 1990, “Lookout Records” label released “9/Smooth”the debut Green Day studio album. It was recorded December 29, 1989, – January 2, 1990, at “Art of Ears Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Andy Ernst and Green Day.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar
  • Mike Dirnt– bass, backing vocals
  • John Kiffmeyer– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Andy Ernst– engineer
  • John Golden – mastering
  • Susie Grant – front cover photo
  • Jesse Michaels– artwork
  • Pat Hynes – artwork, graphic design, layout design
  • Chris Appelgren; Aaron Cometbus; Rich Gargano; David Hayes – artwork
  • Murray Bowles; Arica Pelino – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and John Kiffmeyer, except where noted.

  1. At the Library
  2. Don’t Leave Me
  3. I Was There – lyrics by John Kiffmeyer
  4. Disappearing Boy
  5. Green Day
  6. Going to Pasalacqua
  7. 16
  8. Road to Acceptance
  9. Rest
  10. The Judge’s Daughter


On February 1, 1994.


On February 1, 1994, “Reprise” label released “Dookie”, the third Green Day studio album.  It was recorded September – October 1993, at the “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, and was produced by Rob Cavallo and Green Day.  The album was certified Diamond in US by the “RIIA” for sale of 10 million copies. It  won “Grammy Award” for “Best Alternative Music Album” in 1995 and is ranked at number 193 on magazine Rolling Stone’s list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong— lead vocals, guitar
  • Mike Dirnt— bass, backing vocals
  • Tré Cool— drums, guitar, lead vocals
  • Richie Bucher — cover artist
  • Ken Schles – photography
  • Pat Hynes – booklet artwork

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong, except where noted.  All music by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool.

  1. Burnout
  2. Having a Blast
  3. Chump
  4. Longview
  5. Welcome to Paradise
  6. Pulling Teeth
  7. Basket Case
  8. She
  9. Sassafras Roots
  10. When I Come Around
  11. Coming Clean
  12. Emenius Sleepus – lyrics by Mike Dimt
  13. In the End
  14. O.D. / All by Myself


On January 17, 1992.


On January 17, 1992, “Lookout Records” released “Kerplunk”, the second Green Day studio album. It was recorded May – September 1991, at the “Art of Ears Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Andy Ernst, Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool . “Kerplunk” was band’s last release for “Lookout Records” and the first album to feature Tré Cool on drums.  With sale of over 5 million copies worldwide, “Kerplunk” became one of the best sold independent albums of all time.


  • Billie Joe Armstrong– lead vocals, guitar, drums
  • Mike Dirnt– bass, backing vocals
  • Tré Cool– drums, lead vocals, guitar
  • Al Sobrante– drums
  • Chris Applecore – cover art
  • Pat Hynes – artwork
  • Thadicus – art direction

Track listing:

All lyrics by Billie Joe Armstrong, except where noted, all music by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt and Tré Cool,  except where noted.

  1. 2000 Light Years Away – music by Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt, Tré Cool, Jesse Michaels, Pete Rypins and  Dave “E.C.” Henwood
  2. One for the Razorbacks
  3. Welcome to Paradise
  4. Christie Road
  5. Private Ale
  6. Dominated Love Slave – lyrics by Tré Cool
  7. One Of My Lies
  8. 80
  9. Android
  10. No one Knows
  11. Who Wrote Holden Caulfield
  12. Words I Might Have Ate