Tag Archives: Quicksilver Messenger Service

In December 1969.

In December 1969, “Capitol” label released “Shady Grove”, the second Quicksilver Messenger Service studio album. It was recorded July – September 199, at “Wally Heider Studios” and “Pacific High Recorders” in San Francisco, and was produced by John Palladino.


  • John Cipollina– vocals, guitar
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano, organ, celeste, harpsichord, cello
  • David Freiberg– vocals, bass, guitar, viola
  • Greg Elmore– drums, percussion
  • Dan Healy, Bob Shumaker, Dave Brown, Mike Leary – engineer
  • Dan Healy, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Snarly Grumble – mixing
  • John Palladino – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Shady Grove – O. Wands
  2. Flute Song – Denise Jewkes
  3. Three or Four Feet from Home – John Cipollina
  4. Too Far – David Freiberg
  5. Holy Moly – Nick Gravenites
  6. Joseph’s Coat – John Cipollina, Nick Gravenites
  7. Flashing Lonesome – David Freiberg, Denise Jewkes
  8. Words Can’t Say – David Freiberg, Denise Jewkes
  9. Edward, the Mad Shirt Grinder – Nicky Hopkins

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Capitol” label released “Quicksilver”, the sixth Quicksilver Messenger Service album.


  • Dino Valenti– guitar, vocals, flute, percussion
  • Gary Duncan- guitar, vocals
  • Chuck Steaks–organ, piano
  • Mark Ryan– bass
  • Greg Elmore– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Dino Valenti except where noted.

  1. Hope
  2. I Found Love – Gary Duncan
  3. Song for Frisco
  4. Play My Guitar
  5. Rebel – traditional, arr. by Dino Valenti
  6. Fire Brothers – Gary Duncan
  7. Out of My Mind
  8. Don’t Cry My Lady Love
  9. The Truth

In August 1970.

In August 1970, “Capitol” label released “Just for Love”, the fourth Quicksilver Messenger Service album. It was recorded May – June 1970, and was produced by John Palladino.


  • Dino Valenti– guitar, vocals, flute, conga
  • Gary Duncan– guitar, vocals, bass, maracas, wood block
  • John Cipollina– steel, slide and electric guitars, vocals
  • Nicky Hopkins– keyboards, piano
  • David Freiberg– bass, vocals, guitar
  • Greg Elmore– drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Just for Love (Part 1) – Farrow
  2. Cobra – John Cipollina
  3. The Hat – Farrow
  4. Freeway Flyer – Farrow
  5. Gone Again – Farrow
  6. Fresh Air – Farrow
  7. Just for Love (Part 2) – Farrow
  8. Wolf Run (Part 2) – Farrow

In May 1968.

In May 1968, “Capitol” label released the debut, self-titled Quicksilver Messenger Service studio album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Nick Gravenites, Harvey Brooks and Pete Welding.el:


  • John Cipollina- lead uitar
  • Gary Duncan- guitar, vocals
  • David Freiberg- bass guitar, vocals, viola
  • Greg Elmore- drums

Track listing:

  1. Pride of Man – Hamilton Camp
  2. Light Your Windows – Gary Duncan,David Freiberg
  3. Dino’s Song– Dino Valenti
  4. Gold and Silver – Gary Duncan, Steve Schuster
  5. It’s Been Too Long – Ron Polte
  6. The Fool” – Gary Duncan, David Freiberg



In April 1972.

In April 1972, “Capitol” label released “Comin’ Thru”, the seventh Quicksilver Messenger Service album.


  • Dino Valenti– vocals, guitar, congas
  • Gary Duncan– guitar, vocals
  • Chuck Steaks – organ
  • Mark Ryan – bass
  • Greg Elmore– drums
  • Ken Balzell – trumpet
  • Dalton Smith– trumpet
  • Bud Brisbois– trumpet
  • Pat O’Hara – trombone
  • Charles C. Loper – trombone
  • Sonny Lewis – saxophone
  • Donald Menza– saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Doin’ Time in the U.S.A. – Gary Duncan
  2. Chicken – traditional, arranged by Dino Valenti
  3. Changes – Dino Valenti
  4. California State Correctional Facility Blues – Dino Valenti, Gary Duncan, Greg Elmore, Chuck Steaks
  5. Forty Days – Dino Valenti, Gary Duncan, Greg Elmore
  6. Mojo – Dino Valenti
  7. Don’t Lose It – Gary Duncan, Dino Valenti

On March 16, 2017.

On March 16, 2017, James Henry Cotton died aged 81. Being blues  harmonica  player, singer and songwriter, he had successful solo career, recording albums under his own name, and recording and performing with number of great blues and rock musicians including Gregg Allman, William “Billy Boy” Arnold, Elvin Bishop, Mike Bloomfield, Joe Bonamassa, Paul Butterfield, Grateful Dead, Pat Hare, Howlin’ Wolf, Janis Joplin, B.B. King, Freddie King, Alexis Korner, Steve Miller, Charlie Musselwhite, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Keith Richards, Todd Rundgren, Santana, Willie “Big Eyes” Smith, Otis Spann, Taj Mahal, Big Mama Thornton, Jimmie Vaughan, Joe Louis Walker, Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson and Johnny Winter.

In December 1970.


In December 1970, “Capitol” label released “What About Me”, the fifth Quicksilver Messenger Service album. It was recorded May – June 1970, and was produced by John Palladino. “What About Me” the last album to feature pianist Nicky Hopkins.


  • Dino Valenti– lead vocals, guitar, percussion
  • Gary Duncan– guitar, backing vocals, bass, percussion, organ
  • John Cipollina– guitar, percussion
  • David Freiberg– bass, backing vocals, lead vocal, guitar
  • Greg Elmore– drums, percussion
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • Mark Naftalin- piano
  • Martin Fierro- tenor and alto saxes, flute
  • Frank Morin – tenor sax
  • Pat O’Hara -trombone
  • Jose Rico Reyes -conga, percussion, backing vocals
  • Ron Taormina -baritone and soprano saxes

Track listing:

  1. What About Me – Jesse Oris Farrow
  2. Local Color – John Cipollina
  3. Baby Baby – Jesse Oris Farrow
  4. Won’t Kill Me – David Freiberg
  5. Long Haired Lady – Jesse Oris Farrow
  6. Subway – Gary Duncan, Jesse Oris Farrow
  7. Spindrifter – Nicky Hopkins
  8. Good Old Rock and Roll – Jesse Oris Farrow
  9. All in My Mind – Gary Duncan, Jesse Oris Farrow
  10. Call on Me – Jesse Oris Farrow