Gino Vannelli: A Pauper in Paradise

On November 7, 1977, “A&M” label released “A Pauper in Paradise”, the fifth Gino Vannelli studio album. It was recorded in 1977, at “AIR Studios”, and “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Gino Vanelli, and Joe Vanelli.


  • Gino Vannelli – lead vocals, arranger
  • Joe Vannelli – Fender Rhodes, synthesizers, acoustic piano, synthesizer programming, backing vocals; synthesizer, arstring and brass arrangements
  • Bill Meyers – acoustic piano, synthesizers, synth bass, backing vocals
  • Chris Rhyne – keyboards, synth bass
  • Mark Davis – bass guitar
  • Casey Scheuerell – drums
  • John J. Mandel – timpani, percussion
  • Dido Morris – congas, bongos
  • Dick Morrissey – tenor saxophone
  • Don Sebesky – orchestration, conductor
  • Barry Griffiths – orchestra leader
  • The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – orchestra
  • Joanie Bartels – backing vocals
  • Joanne Jayde – backing vocals
  • Jay Stone – backing vocals
  • The John McCarthy Choir – choir
  • Norm Kinney; John Kurlander – engineer
  • Steve Prestage – engineer assistant
  • Jon Kelly – remixi
  • Bernie Grundman – mastering
  • Fabio Nicola, Roland Young – art direction
  • Joanne Jayde – design
  • Beth Kelly – poster photography
  • Paul McCreath – back cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gino Vannelli.

  1. Mardi Gras
  2. Valleys of Valhalla
  3. The Surest Things Can Change
  4. One Night with You
  5. A Song and Dance
  6. Black and Blue
  7. A Pauper in Paradise (In Four Movements)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.