Tag Archives: John Wright

On March 11, 1983.

On March 11, 1983, “Mirage Music” label released “Adventures in the Land of the Good Groove”, the first Nile Rodgers solo album. It was recorded in 1983, at “The Power Station” in New York City, and was produced by Nile Rodgers.


  • Nile Rodgers– lead and backing vocals, drums, guitar, keyboards
  • Sarah Dash– lead vocals
  • Carmine Rojas, Curtis King, David Spinner, Eddie Martinez, Fonzi Thornton, Frank Simms, George Simms, John Wright, Kenny Williams, Phillip Balou, Rachel Sweet– backing vocals
  • Bernard Edwards– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Tony Thompson– drums, backing vocals
  • Jeremy Steele – guitar
  • Raymond Jones – piano, keyboards
  • Rob Sabino– keyboards
  • Jason Corsaro – sound engineer
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Nile Rodgers.

  1. The Land of the Good Groove
  2. Yum-Yum
  3. Beet
  4. Get Her Crazy
  5. It’s All In Your Hands
  6. Rock Bottom
  7. My Love Song fort You
  8. Most Down


On May 21, 1983.


On May 21, 1983, “Alternative Tentacles” label released “Why Do They Call Me Mr. Happy?” the sixth Nomeansno album. It was recorded in 1983 and was produced by Nomeansno.


  • John Wright(Mr. Right) – vocals, drums, keyboards
  • Rob Wright(Mr. Wrong) – vocals, bass, guitar
  • Craig Bougie – mixing
  • Brian (Who) Else – engineering, mixing
  • George Horn – mastering
  • Prod Nattrass – sequencing
  • John Yates – artwork

Track listing:

  1. The Land of the Living
  2. The River
  3. Machine
  4. Madness and Death
  5. Happy Bridge
  6. Kill Everyone Now
  7. I Need You
  8. Slowly Melting
  9. Lullaby
  10. Cats, Sex and Nazis