Tag Archives: Maggie Boyle

On September 16. 2018.

On September 16, 2018, Maartin Allcock died aged 61. He was a musician (violin, guitar, bass, keyboards, pipes), and record producer, best known as a member of Fairport Convention, Jethro Tull, and The Mission. As a musician, he recorded with a number of bands and musicians including Ralph McTell, Simon Nicol, Kieran Halpin, Beverley Craven, Steve Ashley, Dan Ar Braz, Robert Plant, Beth Nielsen Chapman, Les Barker, Ashley Hutchings, Billy Connolly, Judith Durhamlin, Steve Tilston, Maggie Boyle, Chris Leslie, The Simon Mayor Quintet, WAZ!, Dave Pegg, Steve Gibbons, David Hughes, Sally Barker, Emily Slade, Alistair Russell, John Wright, Swarb’s Lazarus, Mike Billington, The Bar-Steward Sons of Val Doonican, Scott Doonican, Dave Burland, and Lisa Starnini. Allcock released four solo albums.

On September 18, 2006.

On September 18, 2006, “Drag City” label released “Black Swan”, the twenty-third and last Bert Jansch studio album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by Noah Georgeson and Bert Jansch.


  • Bert Jansch – vocals, guitar
  • Beth Orton – vocals, guitar
  • Devendra Banhart – vocals
  • Paul Wassif – guitar, slide guitar, banjo
  • Noah Georgeson – percussion, bass
  • Otto Hauser – drums, percussion
  • Kevin Barker – lead guitar, percussion
  • Helena Espvall – cello
  • Adam Jansch – keyboards
  • David Roback – slide guitar
  • Richard Good – slide guitar
  • Pete Newsom – drums
  • Maggie Boyle – flute

Track listing:

All tracks by Bert Jansch, except where noted

  1. The Black Swan
  2. High Days
  3. When the Sun Comes Up
  4. Katie Cruel – traditional
  5. My Pocket’s Empty – traditional
  6. Watch the Stars – traditional
  7. A Woman Like You
  8. The Old Triangle – Brendan Behan
  9. Bring Your Religion
  10. Texas Cowboy Blues
  11. Magdalina’s Dance – Bert Jansch, Paul Wassif
  12. Hey Pretty Girl


On August 28, 1995.

On August 28, 1995, “Cooking Vinyl” label released “When the Circus Comes to Town”, the nineteenth Bert Jansch album. It was recorded in 1995, at Bert Jansch’s home studio and “Boundary Row Studios” in London, and was produced by Bert Jansch and Jay Burnett.


  • Bert Jansch – guitar, vocals
  • Colin Gibson- bass
  • Liam Genockey- drums
  • Mike Piggott- violin
  • Mark Ramsden- soprano saxophone
  • Bobby Barton- slide guitar
  • Tony Hinnigan- strings
  • Maggie Boyle, Janie Romer, Christine Collister- backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Bert Jansch; except where noted.

  1. Walk Quietly By
  2. Open Road
  3. Back Home
  4. No-One Around – Janie Romer
  5. Step Back
  6. When The Circus Comes To Town
  7. Summer Heat
  8. Just a Dream
  9. The Lady Doctor from Ashington
  10. Stealing the Night Away
  11. Honey Don’t You Understand
  12. Born with the Blues
  13. Morning Brings Peace Of Mind
  14. Living in the Shadows