Tag Archives: Dan Ar Braz

On September 16. 2018.

On September 16, 2018, Maartin Allcock died aged 61. He was a musician (violin, guitar, bass, keyboards, pipes), and record producer, best known as a member of Fairport Convention, Jethro Tull, and The Mission. As a musician, he recorded with a number of bands and musicians including Ralph McTell, Simon Nicol, Kieran Halpin, Beverley Craven, Steve Ashley, Dan Ar Braz, Robert Plant, Beth Nielsen Chapman, Les Barker, Ashley Hutchings, Billy Connolly, Judith Durhamlin, Steve Tilston, Maggie Boyle, Chris Leslie, The Simon Mayor Quintet, WAZ!, Dave Pegg, Steve Gibbons, David Hughes, Sally Barker, Emily Slade, Alistair Russell, John Wright, Swarb’s Lazarus, Mike Billington, The Bar-Steward Sons of Val Doonican, Scott Doonican, Dave Burland, and Lisa Starnini. Allcock released four solo albums.

On May 9, 2000.

On May 9, 2000, “Epic” label released “Open the Door”, the fourth Roger Hodgson album. It was recorded 1998 – 2000, at “Studio Arpege” in Les Sorinieres, France, “Eglise Notre Dame de Bon-Port” in Nantes, France, “Unicorn Studios” in Nevada City, California, “Barrandov Studios” in Prague, Czech Republic, and was produced by Alan Simon, Roger Hodgson.


  • Roger Hodgson – vocals, 12 string and electric guitar, bass guitar, keyboards, piano, harmonium, pipe organ, harpsichord, church organ
  • Trevor Rabin – electric guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Claude Samard – banjo, dobroslide and pedal steel guitar, bouzouki, oud
  • Manuel Delgado – Spanish guitar, palmas
  • Dan Ar Braz – arpeggio guitar
  • Laurent Vernerey – bass guitar
  • Alan Thomson – bass guitar
  • Arnaud Dunoyer – Hammond organ
  • Olivier Rousseau – piano
  • Alan Simon – high whistle, bodhran, harmonica
  • Loïc Ponthieu – drums, wavedrum
  • Denis Banarrosh – percussion
  • Gerry Conway – drums, percussion
  • Jeff Phillips – drums
  • Jean Pierre Meneghin – Scottish drums
  • Gurvan Houdayer – Scottish drums
  • Christophe Negre – saxophone
  • Michel Gaucher – flute
  • Zdenek Rys – oboe
  • Bruno Le Rouzic – bagpipe
  • Pascal Martin – uilleann pipe
  • Jean Louis Roques – accordion
  • Marco Canepa – Morse code
  • Jean-Jacques Milteau – harmonica
  • Dominique Regef – rebec, Hurdy Gurdy
  • Didier Lockwood – violin
  • Pavel Belohlavek – cello
  • Ilana Russell (Alana Cunningham) – children’s choir
  • Sierrah Dietz – children’s chorus
  • Justine Black – children’s chorus
  • Molly Katwman – children’s chorus
  • Nikki Matheson – backing vocals
  • The Symphonic Orchestra of Prague – conducted by Mario Klemens
  • The Bulgarian Voices “Philippopolis” – conducted by Hristo Arabadjiev
  • Samples from: speech by Queen Elizabeth II, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Ronald Reagan, Sevik the wolf

Track listing:

All tracks by Roger Hodgson, except where noted.

  1. Along Came Mary
  2. The More I Look
  3. Showdown
  4. Hungry
  5. The Garden
  6. Death and a Zoo
  7. Love is a Thousand Times
  8. Say Goodbye
  9. Open the Door
  10. For Every Man – Roger Hodgson, Alan Simon