Tag Archives: Mickey Newbury

In November 1973.

In November 1973, “Vanguard” label released “Quiet Places”, the ninth Buffy Sainte-Marie album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Norbert Putnam and Buffy Sainte-Marie.


  • Buffy Sainte-Marie – vocals, guitar, piano
  • Charlie McCoy, Billy Sanford – guitar
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • David Briggs– keyboards
  • Kenny Buttrey– drums
  • Memphis Horns
  • Sid Sharp Strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Buffy Sainte-Marie, except where noted.

  1. Why You Been Gone So Long – Mickey Newbury
  2. No One Told Me
  3. For Free – Joni Mitchell
  4. She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain When She Comes
  5. Clair Vol’s Young Son
  6. Just That Kind of Man
  7. Quiet Places
  8. Have You Seen My Baby? (Hold On) – Randy Newman
  9. There’s No One in the World Like Caleb
  10. Civilization – Boudleaux Bryant
  11. Eventually – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  12. The Jewels of Hanalei



In October 1971.

In October 1971, “Elektra” label released “Frisco Mable Joy”, the third Mickey Newbury album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Cinderella Studios” in Tennessee, and was produced by Dennis Linde, Owsley Manier and Robert Rosemurgy.


  • Mickey Newbury– guitar, lead vocals
  • Dennis Linde– guitar, background vocals
  • Charlie McCoy– guitar, harmonica
  • Bobby Thompson – banjo, guitar
  • Wayne Moss– guitar
  • Weldon Myrick – steel guitar
  • Beegie Adair– keyboards
  • Jimmy Capps – guitar
  • Jim Isbell – drums
  • Buddy Spicher– drums
  • Farrell Morris – percussion
  • Bob Beckham
  • John Harris
  • John Moss
  • Charles Navarro
  • Walker Sill
  • Recording engineer – Wayne Linde, Wayne Moss
  • Art direction, photography – Robert L. Heimall

Track listing:

All tracks by Mickey Newbury,except where noted.

  1. An American Trilogy – traditional, Mickey Newbury
  2. How Many Times (Must the Piper Be Paid for His Song)
  3. Interlude
  4. The Future’s Not What It Used to Be
  5. Mobile Blue
  6. Frisco Depot
  7. You’re Not My Same Sweet Baby
  8. Interlude
  9. Remember the Good
  10. Swiss Cottage Place
  11. How I Love Them Old Songs
  12. San Francisco Mabel Joy


In July 1979.

In July 1979, “Elektra” label released “Gamma 1”, the debut Gamma album. It was recorded in 1979, at “Chateau Recorders”, and was produced by Ken Scott.


  • Davey Pattison: vocals
  • Ronnie Montrose: guitar
  • Jim Alcivar: keyboards
  • Alan Fitzgerald: bass guitar
  • Skip Gillette: drums
  • Engineered by Ken Scott
  • Engineer assistant – Brian Leshon, Phil Jost
  • Mastered By – Bernie Grundman

Track listing:

  1. I’m Alive – Clint Ballard, Jr.
  2. Razor King – Ronnie Montrose, Davey Pattison
  3. No Tears – Davey Pattison
  4. Solar Heat – Ronnie Montrose
  5. Ready for Action – Ronnie Montrose
  6. Wish I Was – Mickey Newbury
  7. Fight to the Finish – Ronnie Montrose, Jim Alcivar

In July 1971.

In July 1971, “Vanguard” label released “Blessed Are…”, the thirteen Joan Baez studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Quadrafonic Sound Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Norbert Putnam and Jack Lothrop


  • Joan Baez – guitar, vocals
  • Norman Blake– dobro, guitar
  • David Briggs– keyboards
  • Kenneth A. Buttrey–drums
  • The Holladay – singers
  • Ed Logan – tenor saxophone
  • Charlie McCoy– harmonica
  • Norbert Putnam– bass, arranger
  • Buddy Spicher– violin
  • Pete Wade – guitar
  • Gene Eichelberger – engineer
  • Dave Harris – artwork
  • Jim Marshall– photography
  • Jobriath– design

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Baez; except where noted.

  1. Blessed Are…
  2. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down – Robbie Robertson
  3. Salt of the Earth – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  4. Three Horses
  5. The Brand New Tennessee Waltz – Jesse Winchester
  6. Last, Lonely and Wretched
  7. Lincoln Freed Me Today (The Slave) – David Paton
  8. Outside the Nashville City Limits
  9. San Francisco Mabel Joy – Mickey Newbury
  10. When Time Is Stolen
  11. Heaven Help Us All – Ronald Miller
  12. Angeline – Mickey Newbury
  13. Help Me Make It Through the Night – Kris Kristofferson
  14. Let It Be – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  15. Put Your Hand in the Hand – Gene MacLellan
  16. Gabriel and Me
  17. Milanese Waltz/Marie Flore
  18. The Hitchhikers’ Song
  19. The 33rd of August – Mickey Newbury
  20. Fifteen Months

On August 18, 1986.

Kicking against the pricks

On August 18, 1986, “Mute” label released “Kicking Against the Pricks” the third Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds album. It was recorded in 1986, and was produced by Flood and Tony Cohen. The album is a collection of cover versions and first one with the drummer Thomas Wydler.


  • Barry Adamson– bass, backing vocals, vocals
  • Blixa Bargeld- guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals, vocals
  • Dawn Cave – violin
  • Nick Cave- vocals, organ, piano interior
  • Mick Harvey- piano, backing vocals, bass, drums, guitars, vocals, organ, vibes
  • Rowland S. Howard- vocals, organ, guitar
  • Tracy Pew- bass
  • Hugo Race- guitar
  • Thomas Wydler- drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Muddy Water – Phil Rosenthal
  2. I’m Gonna Kill That Woman – John Lee Hooker
  3. Sleeping Annaleah – Mickey Newbury, Dan Folger
  4. Long Black Veil – Danny Dill, Marijohn Wilkin
  5. Hey Joe – Billy Roberts
  6. The Singer – Johnny Cash, Charlie Daniels
  7. All Tomorrow’s Parties – Lou Reed
  8. By the Time I Get to Phoenix – Jimmy Webb
  9. The Hammer Song – Alex Harvey
  10. Something’s Gotten Hold of My Heart – Roger Greenaway, Roger Cook
  11. Jesus Met the Woman at the Well –Traditional, Arranged The Alabama Singers
  12. The Carnival is Over – Tom Springfield