Tag Archives: Ronnie Montrose

In August 1980.

In August 1980, “Elektra” label released “Gamma 2”, the second Gamma album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Gary Lyons and Ronnie Montrose.


  • Davey Pattison: lead vocals
  • Ronnie Montrose: guitar
  • Jim Alcivar: keyboards
  • Glenn Letsch: bass guitar
  • Denny Carmassi: drums
  • Engineered by Gary Lyons

Track listing:

  1. Mean Streak – Ronnie Montrose, Davey Pattison,Jim Alcivar
  2. Four Horsemen – Ronnie Montrose, Dave Pattison
  3. Dirty City – Ronnie Montrose, Dave Pattison
  4. Voyager – Ronnie Montrose, Dave Pattison
  5. Something in the Air -John “Speedy” Keen
  6. Cat on a Leash – Ronnie Montrose, Jerry Stahl
  7. Skin and Bone – Ronnie Montrose, Jerry Stahl
  8. Mayday – Ronnie Montrose, Jim Alcivar

In July 1979.

In July 1979, “Elektra” label released “Gamma 1”, the debut Gamma album. It was recorded in 1979, at “Chateau Recorders”, and was produced by Ken Scott.


  • Davey Pattison: vocals
  • Ronnie Montrose: guitar
  • Jim Alcivar: keyboards
  • Alan Fitzgerald: bass guitar
  • Skip Gillette: drums
  • Engineered by Ken Scott
  • Engineer assistant – Brian Leshon, Phil Jost
  • Mastered By – Bernie Grundman

Track listing:

  1. I’m Alive – Clint Ballard, Jr.
  2. Razor King – Ronnie Montrose, Davey Pattison
  3. No Tears – Davey Pattison
  4. Solar Heat – Ronnie Montrose
  5. Ready for Action – Ronnie Montrose
  6. Wish I Was – Mickey Newbury
  7. Fight to the Finish – Ronnie Montrose, Jim Alcivar

In July 1972.

In July 1972, “Warner Bros” label released “Saint Dominic’s Preview”, the sixth Van Morrison studio album. It was recorded 1971 – 1972, at “Wally Heider Studios”, “Pacific High Studios” in San Francisco, “The Church” in San Anselmo, California,  and was produced by Ted Templeman and Van Morrison.


  • Van Morrison— vocals, acoustic, rhythm and twelve string guitar, backing vocals, arrangements
  • Jules Broussard — tenor saxophone, flute
  • Lee Charlton — drums
  • Bill Church— bass
  • Ron Elliott— acoustic guitar
  • “Boots” Houston — tenor saxophone, backing vocals
  • Mark Jordan — piano
  • Connie Kay— drums
  • Bernie Krause— Moog synthesizer
  • Gary Mallaber— drums, percussion, vibraphone
  • John McFee— steel guitar
  • Doug Messenger — electric and acoustic guitars
  • Ronnie Montrose— acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Mark Naftalin— piano, Moog synthesizer
  • Pat O’Hara — trombone
  • Janet Planet — backing vocals
  • Tom Salisbury — piano, organ
  • Rick Shlosser- drums
  • Ellen Schroer — backing vocals
  • Jack Schroer— alto and baritone saxophones
  • Mark Springer — backing vocals
  • Leroy Vinnegar— double bass
  • Engineers: Donn Landee, Bob Schumaker, Jim Gaines, Dave Brown, Steve Brandon
  • Mixing: Donn Landee, Bob Schumaker
  • Photography: Michael Maggid
  • Arrangements – Tom Salisbury
  • Remastering – Tim Young, Walter Samuel

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

  1. Jackie Wilson Said (I’m in Heaven When You Smile)
  2. Gypsy
  3. I Will Be There
  4. Listen to the Lion
  5. Saint Dominic’s Preview
  6. Redwood Tree
  7. Almost Independence Day




In June 1975.

In June 1975, “Warner Bros” label released “The Dream Weaver”, the fourth Gary Wright album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Gary Wright.


  • Gary Wright- Hammond Organ, Fender Rhodes, Moog synthesizers, ARP String Ensemble, vocals, arranger
  • David Foster- Hammond Organ, Fender Rhodes, ARP String Ensemble
  • Bobby Lyle- synthesizers
  • Ronnie Montrose- electric guitar
  • Andy Newmark- drums
  • Jim Keltner- drums
  • Betty Sweet, David Pomeranz, Lorna Wright – backing vocals
  • Recorded and engineered by Jay Lewis
  • Mastered by Doug Sax
  • Mick Haggerty, Ed Scarsbrick – illustrations
  • Norman Seeff – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Gary Wright except where noted.

  1. Love Is Alive
  2. Let It Out – Gary Wright, Jamie Quinn
  3. Can’t Find the Judge
  4. Made to Love You
  5. Power of Love
  6. Dream Weaver
  7. Blind Feeling
  8. Much Higher
  9. Feel for Me – Gary Wright, Tina Wright