On August 18, 1986.

Kicking against the pricks

On August 18, 1986, “Mute” label released “Kicking Against the Pricks” the third Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds album. It was recorded in 1986, and was produced by Flood and Tony Cohen.


  • Nick Cave – lead vocal, organ, piano interior
  • Hugo Race- guitar
  • Blixa Bargeld – lead and backing vocals, guitar, slide guitar
  • Mick Harvey – lead and backing vocals, piano, bass, drums, guitars, organ, vibes
  • Barry Adamson – lead and backing vocals, bass
  • Rowland S. Howard- vocals, organ, guitar
  • Tracy Pew- bass
  • Thomas Wydler- drums, percussion
  • Dawn Cave – violin

Track listing:

  1. Muddy Water – Phil Rosenthal
  2. I’m Gonna Kill That Woman – John Lee Hooker
  3. Sleeping Annaleah – Mickey Newbury, Dan Folger
  4. Long Black Veil – Danny Dill, Mari John Wilkin
  5. Hey Joe – Billy Roberts
  6. The Singer – Johnny Cash, Charlie Daniels
  7. All Tomorrow’s Parties – Lou Reed
  8. By the Time I Get to Phoenix – Jimmy Webb
  9. The Hammer Song – Alex Harvey
  10. Something’s Gotten Hold of My Heart – Roger Greenaway, Roger Cook
  11. Jesus Met the Woman at the Well –Traditional, Arranged The Alabama Singers
  12. The Carnival is Over – Tom Springfield

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.