Tag Archives: For Free

In November 1973.

In November 1973, “Vanguard” label released “Quiet Places”, the ninth Buffy Sainte-Marie album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Norbert Putnam and Buffy Sainte-Marie.


  • Buffy Sainte-Marie – vocals, guitar, piano
  • Charlie McCoy, Billy Sanford – guitar
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • David Briggs– keyboards
  • Kenny Buttrey– drums
  • Memphis Horns
  • Sid Sharp Strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Buffy Sainte-Marie, except where noted.

  1. Why You Been Gone So Long – Mickey Newbury
  2. No One Told Me
  3. For Free – Joni Mitchell
  4. She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain When She Comes
  5. Clair Vol’s Young Son
  6. Just That Kind of Man
  7. Quiet Places
  8. Have You Seen My Baby? (Hold On) – Randy Newman
  9. There’s No One in the World Like Caleb
  10. Civilization – Boudleaux Bryant
  11. Eventually – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  12. The Jewels of Hanalei



In March 1970.


In March 1970, “Reprise” label released “Ladies of the Canyon”, the third Joni Mitchell studio album. It was recorded 1969 – 1970, at “A&M Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Joni Mitchell.The album title was reference to Laurel Canyon, a centre of popular music culture in Los Angeles during the 1960s.


  • Joni Mitchell– guitar, piano, vocals, cover illustration
  • Teresa Adams – cello
  • Paul Horn– clarinet, flute
  • Jim Horn– baritone saxophone
  • Milt Holland– percussion
  • The Saskatunes – bop vocals
  • The Lookout Mountain United Downstairs Choir – chorus
  • Don Bagley– cello arrangement
  • Henry Lewy- engineer, production advice

Track listing:

All tracks by Joni Mitchell.

  1. Morning Morgantown
  2. For Free
  3. Conversation
  4. Ladies of the Canyon
  5. Willy
  6. The Arrangement
  7. Rainy Night House
  8. The Priest
  9. Blue Boy
  10. Big yellow Taxi
  11. Woodstock
  12. The Circle Game

On March 7, 1973.


On March 7, 1973, “Asylum” label released “Byrds”, the twelve and final The Byrds studio album. It was recorded October – November 1972, at “Wally Heider’s Studio 3” in Los Angeles, and was produced by David Crosby.


  • Roger McGuinn– guitar, banjo, Moog synthesizer, vocals
  • Gene Clark- guitar, harmonica, tambourine, vocals
  • David Crosby- guitar, vocals
  • Chris Hillman– electric bass, guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Michael Clarke– drums, congas, percussion
  • Wilton Felder- electric bass
  • Johnny Barbata- drums
  • Dallas Taylor- congas, tambourine

Track listing:

  1. Full Circle – Gene Clark
  2. Sweet Mary – Roger McGuinn, Jacques Levy
  3. Changing Heart – Gene Clark
  4. For Free – Joni Mitchell
  5. Born to Rock ‘n’ Roll – Roger McGuinn
  6. Things Will Be Better – Chris Hillman, Dallas Taylor
  7. Cowgirl in the Sand – Neil Young
  8. Long Live the King – David Crosby
  9. Borrowing Time – Chris Hillman, Joe Lala
  10. Laughing – David Crosby
  11. (See the Sky) About to Rain – Neil Young