Tag Archives: Tom Springfield

In May 1984.

In May 1984, “F-Beat” label released “Nick Lowe and His Cowboy Outfit”, the fifth Nick Lowe studio album. It was recorded in January 1984, at “Ampro Studios” in Shepherds Bush, “Riverside Studios” in Chiswick, “Eden Studios”, “Acton Boathouse Studios” in Twickenham, and was produced by Nick Lowe, Colin Fairley, Paul Bass and Elvis Costello.


  • Nick Lowe- vocals, bass guitar, guitar
  • Martin Belmont- guitar
  • Paul Carrack- keyboards, backing vocals
  • Bobby Irwin – drums, backing vocals
  • Billy Bremner- guitar
  • Bobby Valentino- fiddle
  • TKO Horns- Jeff Blythe – saxophone; Jimmy Paterson – trombone; Dave Plews – trumpet; Paul Speare – saxophone
  • Colin Phillips, Tony Phillips, Chris Ludwinski – engineering assistant
  • String Arrangements by Robert Kirby– string arrangements
  • Elvis Costello– horn arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Nick Lowe except where noted.

  1. Half a Boy and Half a Man
  2. Breakaway – Tom Springfield
  3. You’ll Never Get Me Up in One of Those – Mickey Jupp
  4. Love Like a Glove – Carlene Carter, James Eller
  5. The Gee and The Rick and The Three Card Trick
  6. (Hey Big Mouth) Stand Up and Say That
  7. Awesome – Nick Lowe, Profile
  8. God’s Gift to Women
  9. Maureen
  10. A.F.S.
  11. Live Fast, Love Hard, Die Young – Joe Allison



On April 19, 1976.

John Sebastian Welcome Back

On April 19, 1976, “Reprise” label released “Welcome Back”, album by John Sebastian. The album was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Steve Barri and John Sebastian.


  • John Sebastian– vocals, guitar, harmonica, autoharp, piano
  • David Hungate– bass
  • Richard Bell – piano, clavinet
  • Jeff Porcaro– drums
  • Jeff “Skunk” Baxter– pedal steel guitar

All tracks by John Sebastian, except where noted.

  1. Hideaway
  2. She’s Funny
  3. You Go Your Way and I’ll Go Mine
  4. Didn’t Wanna Have to Do It
  5. One Step Forward, Two Steps Back – John Sebastian, Tom Springfield
  6. Welcome Back
  7. I Needed Her Most When I Told Her to Go
  8. A Song a Day in Nashville
  9. Warm Baby
  10. Let This Be Our Time to Get Along

On August 18, 1986.

Kicking against the pricks

On August 18, 1986, “Mute” label released “Kicking Against the Pricks” the third Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds album. It was recorded in 1986, and was produced by Flood and Tony Cohen. The album is a collection of cover versions and first one with the drummer Thomas Wydler.


  • Barry Adamson– bass, backing vocals, vocals
  • Blixa Bargeld- guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals, vocals
  • Dawn Cave – violin
  • Nick Cave- vocals, organ, piano interior
  • Mick Harvey- piano, backing vocals, bass, drums, guitars, vocals, organ, vibes
  • Rowland S. Howard- vocals, organ, guitar
  • Tracy Pew- bass
  • Hugo Race- guitar
  • Thomas Wydler- drums, percussion

Track listing:

  1. Muddy Water – Phil Rosenthal
  2. I’m Gonna Kill That Woman – John Lee Hooker
  3. Sleeping Annaleah – Mickey Newbury, Dan Folger
  4. Long Black Veil – Danny Dill, Marijohn Wilkin
  5. Hey Joe – Billy Roberts
  6. The Singer – Johnny Cash, Charlie Daniels
  7. All Tomorrow’s Parties – Lou Reed
  8. By the Time I Get to Phoenix – Jimmy Webb
  9. The Hammer Song – Alex Harvey
  10. Something’s Gotten Hold of My Heart – Roger Greenaway, Roger Cook
  11. Jesus Met the Woman at the Well –Traditional, Arranged The Alabama Singers
  12. The Carnival is Over – Tom Springfield