In July 1971.

In July 1971, “Vanguard” label released “Blessed Are…”, the thirteen Joan Baez studio album. It was recorded in 1971, at “Quadrafonic Sound Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Norbert Putnam and Jack Lothrop


  • Joan Baez – guitar, vocals
  • Norman Blake– dobro, guitar
  • David Briggs– keyboards
  • Kenneth A. Buttrey–drums
  • The Holladay – singers
  • Ed Logan – tenor saxophone
  • Charlie McCoy– harmonica
  • Norbert Putnam– bass, arranger
  • Buddy Spicher– violin
  • Pete Wade – guitar
  • Gene Eichelberger – engineer
  • Dave Harris – artwork
  • Jim Marshall– photography
  • Jobriath– design

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Baez; except where noted.

  1. Blessed Are…
  2. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down – Robbie Robertson
  3. Salt of the Earth – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  4. Three Horses
  5. The Brand New Tennessee Waltz – Jesse Winchester
  6. Last, Lonely and Wretched
  7. Lincoln Freed Me Today (The Slave) – David Paton
  8. Outside the Nashville City Limits
  9. San Francisco Mabel Joy – Mickey Newbury
  10. When Time Is Stolen
  11. Heaven Help Us All – Ronald Miller
  12. Angeline – Mickey Newbury
  13. Help Me Make It Through the Night – Kris Kristofferson
  14. Let It Be – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  15. Put Your Hand in the Hand – Gene MacLellan
  16. Gabriel and Me
  17. Milanese Waltz/Marie Flore
  18. The Hitchhikers’ Song
  19. The 33rd of August – Mickey Newbury
  20. Fifteen Months

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.