Tag Archives: Tangerine

Ray Charles: Jazz Number II

In January 1973, “Tangerine” label released “Jazz Number II”, the 35th Ray Charles album. It was recorded in “Charles’ Tangerine / RPM Studios” in Los Angeles and was produced by Ray Charles.


  • Ray Charles – piano, engineer
  • Ray Charles Big Band
  • Alf Clausen, Jimmy Heath, Roger Neumann, Teddy Edwards – arrangements
  • David Braithwaite – engineer
  • Steve Swain – cover concept
  • Don Niehaus – design
  • Joe Adams – photography

Track listing:

  1. Our Suite – Ray Charles, Roger Neumann
  2. A Pair of Threes – Alf Clausen
  3. Morning of Carnival – Luiz Bonfá, Antônio Maria
  4. Going Home – Teddy Edwards
  5. Kids Are Pretty People – Thad Jones
  6. Togetherness – Jimmy Heath
  7. Brazilian Skies – Teddy Edwards

On December 16, 2017.

On December 16, 2017, “Concord” label released “Exposure”, the sixth Esperanza Spalding studio album. It was recorded in September 2017, at “NRG Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Esperanza Spalding, Ray Angry, Matthew Stevens, Justin Tyson, and Rob Schwimmer.


  • Esperanza Spalding – vocals, acoustic bass, electric bass, kalimba
  • Robert Glasper – piano
  • Lalah Hathaway – vocals
  • Rob Schwimmer – continuum
  • Tivona Miller – backing vocals
  • Starr Busby – backing vocals
  • Andrew Bird – vocals, violin
  • Ray Angry – keyboard
  • Matthew Stevens – guitar
  • Justin Tyson – drums
  • Fernando Lodeiro – recording, mixing
  • Zach Brown – recording
  • Paul Blakemore – mastering
  • Rich Costey – mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Esperanza Spalding except where noted.


  1. Swimming Toward the Black Dot
  2. Public Trance It
  3. Heaven in Pennies – Robert Glasper, Esperanza Spalding
  4. Colonial Fire
  5. Coming to Life – Lalah Hathaway, Esperanza Spalding
  6. Geriment
  7. I Am Telling You
  8. The Way You Got the Love – Andrew Bird, Esperanza Spalding
  9. I Do
  10. Double Jointed Canyon – Justin Tyson, Matthew Stevens, Esperanza Spalding

Undeveloped (Pre-Exposure Practice)

  1. Helluva
  2. Tangerine
  3. Word Jungle
  4. Chelsea Mercy
  5. Work of Art
  6. Winning Machines
  7. Trouble
  8. 4th Grade
  9. Whisper
  10. Fittest

In March 1968.

In March 1968, “ABC / Tangerine” label released “A Portrait of Ray”, album by Ray Charles. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Joe Adams.


  • Ray Charles– vocals, keyboard, piano
  • Bryon Clark – engineering, remixing

Track listing:

  1. Never Say Naw – Percy Mayfield
  2. The Sun Died – Ray Charles, Ann Grégory, Hubert Giraud, Pierre Delanoë
  3. Am I Blue? – Harry Akst, Grant Clarke
  4. Yesterdays – Jerome Kern, Otto Harbach
  5. When I Stop Dreaming’ – Ira Louvin, Charlie Louvin
  6. I Won’t Leave – Lou Courtney, Luther Ingram, Robert Bateman
  7. A Sweet Young Thing Like You – Dee Ervin
  8. The Bright Lights and You Girl – Sayde Shepherd
  9. Understanding – Jimmy Holiday, Ray Charles
  10. Eleanor Rigby – John Lennon, Paul McCartney

In February 1966.


In February 1966, “Tangerine” label released “Crying Time”, the twenty sixth Ray Charles album. It was recorded in 1965, at “R.P.M. International Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Joe Adams.


  • Ray Charles– vocals, piano
  • The Raelettes – performer
  • Onzy Matthews- arranger
  • William Alexander – album cover
  • George S. Whiteman – album cover
  • Joe Lebow – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Crying Time – Buck Owens
  2. No Use Crying – Roy Gaines, Freddie Lee Kober, J.B. Daniels
  3. Let’s Go Get Stoned – Valerie Simpson, Nikolas Ashford, Jo Armstead
  4. Going Down Slow – Jimmy Oden
  5. Peace of Mind – Ray Charles,  Holiday
  6. Tears – Norman Newell, Robert Maxwell
  7. Drifting Blues – Johnny Moore, Eddie Williams, Charles Brown
  8. We Don’t See Eye to Eye – Percy Mayfield
  9. You’re In For a Big Surprise – Percy Mayfield
  10. You’re Just About to Lose Your Clown – Johnny MacRae
  11. Don’t You Think I Ought To Know – William Johnson, Melvin Wettergreen
  12. You’ve Got a Problem – William D. Weeks, Freddy James

Led Zeppelin: Led Zeppelin III

Led_Zeppelin III

On October 5, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “Led Zeppelin III”, the third Led Zeppelin studio album. It was composed at a cottage in Wells, known as “Bron-Yr-Aur”, and was recorded  December 1969; January – August 1970, at “Rolling Stones Mobile Studio”, in Headley Grange, Hampshire; “Island Studios”, “Olympic Studios” in London,  and was produced by Jimmy Page.  The album was certified Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 3 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 3 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in UK by “BPI, and 6 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Robert Plant– lead vocals, harmonica
  • Jimmy Page– acoustic, electric and pedal steel guitars, banjo, dulcimer, bass, backing vocals
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, Hammond organ, Moog synthesizer, mandolin, double bass, string arrangements
  • John Bonham– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Zacron – cover art, design

Track listing:

  1. Immigrant Song – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  2. Friends – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  3. Celebration Day – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  4. Since I’ve Been Loving You – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  5. Out in the Tiles – Jimmy page, Robert Plant, John Bonham
  6. Gallows Pole – traditional, arr. by Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  7. Tangerine – Jimmy Page
  8. That’s the Way – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  9. Bron-Y-Stomp – Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  10. Hats Off to (Roy) Harper – traditional, arr. by Charles Obscure