Tag Archives: Buffy Sainte-Marie

In November 1973.

In November 1973, “Vanguard” label released “Quiet Places”, the ninth Buffy Sainte-Marie album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Norbert Putnam and Buffy Sainte-Marie.


  • Buffy Sainte-Marie – vocals, guitar, piano
  • Charlie McCoy, Billy Sanford – guitar
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • David Briggs– keyboards
  • Kenny Buttrey– drums
  • Memphis Horns
  • Sid Sharp Strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Buffy Sainte-Marie, except where noted.

  1. Why You Been Gone So Long – Mickey Newbury
  2. No One Told Me
  3. For Free – Joni Mitchell
  4. She’ll Be Coming ‘Round the Mountain When She Comes
  5. Clair Vol’s Young Son
  6. Just That Kind of Man
  7. Quiet Places
  8. Have You Seen My Baby? (Hold On) – Randy Newman
  9. There’s No One in the World Like Caleb
  10. Civilization – Boudleaux Bryant
  11. Eventually – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  12. The Jewels of Hanalei



In October 1973.

In October 1973, “Columbia” label released “The Adventures of Panama Red”, the fourth New Riders of the Purple Sage album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Record Plant” in Sausalito, and was produced by Norbert Putnam


  • John Dawson– guitar, vocals, lead vocals
  • David Nelson– electric guitar, vocals, lead vocals
  • Dave Torbert– bass, guitar, vocals, lead vocals
  • Buddy Cage– pedal steel guitar
  • Spencer Dryden– drums, percussion
  • Donna Jean Godchaux– vocals
  • Buffy Sainte-Marie– vocals
  • Norbert Putnam– bass
  • The Memphis Horns, arranged by Norbert Putnam and the Memphis Horns
  • Tom Flye – recording engineer
  • John Stronach, Bobby Hughes – associate engineers
  • Tom Anderson, Phil Brown, Bob Edwards – sound engineers
  • Norbert Putnam – remix engineer
  • Lore and Chris – cover art
  • Mixed at Quadrafonic Studios, Nashville

Track listing:

  1. Panama Red – Peter Rowan
  2. It’s Alright With Me – Dave Torbert
  3. Lonesome L.A. Cowboy – Peter Rowan
  4. Important Exportin Man – Tim Hovey, Dave Torbert
  5. One Too Many Stories – John Dawson
  6. Kick in the Head – Robert Hunter
  7. You Should Have Seen Me Runnin – John Dawson
  8. Teardrops in My Eyes – Red Allen, Tommy Sutton
  9. A. Lady – Troy Seals, Don Goodman, Will Jennings
  10. Thank the Day – Dave Torbert
  11. Cement, Clay and Glass – Spencer Dryden, David Nelson


In July 1973.

In July 1973, “20th Century” label released “The Morning After”, the debut Maureen McGovern album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Carl Maduri.


  • Maureen McGovern – vocals
  • Bob Fraser – guitars
  • Bill Severance – drums, percussion
  • Arranged by Joe Hudson, Michel Rubini, Gene Page, Gary Kekel, Bob Hill
  • Conducted by Joe Hudson, Bob Hill
  • Engineered and mixed by Arnie Rosenberg

Track listing:

  1. The Morning After (Song from The Poseidon Adventure)- Al Kasha, Joel Hirschhorn
  2. I Won’t Last a Day Without You – Paul Williams, Roger Nichols
  3. And This I Find Is Beautiful – Mack David, Larry Weiss
  4. Midnight Storm – Maureen McGovern, Jimmy Kennedy
  5. It Might as Well Stay Monday (From Now On) – Bodie Chandler
  6. If I Wrote You a Song – Maureen McGovern, Jimmy Kennedy
  7. Don’t Try to Close a Rose – Ginger Greco
  8. Darlene – Jonathan Cane
  9. Can’t You Hear the Song – Chris Arnold, David Martin, Geoff Morrow
  10. Until It’s Time for You to Go – Buffy Sainte-Marie