Tag Archives: Barry DeSouza

In July 1985.

In July 1985, “Epic” label released “Flash”, the fourth Jeff Beck studio album. It was recorded in 1985, and was produced by Jeff Beck, Tony Hymas, Nile Rodgers and Arthur Baker. At the 1986 “Grammy Awards” Jeff Beck won the award for “Best Rock Instrumental Performance”.


  • Jeff Beck– lead vocals, guitar
  • Jimmy Hall– lead vocals, background vocals
  • Rod Stewart– lead vocals
  • Karen Lawrence– lead vocals
  • Jan Hammer– Fairlight CMI
  • Tony Hymas, Duane Hitchings, Robert Sabino– keyboard
  • Carmine Appice, Jay Burnett, Jimmy Bralower, Barry DeSouza, Tony “Thunder” Smith– drums
  • Doug Wimbish– bass
  • Tina B, Curtis King, David Simms, Frank Simms, George Simms, David Spinner – background vocals
  • David Charles, Jason Corsaro, Eddie DeLena, Rob Eaton, Chris Lord-Alge, Tom Lord-Alge, Eric Mohler, Tony Tavener, Nigel Walker, Andy Wallace – engineering

Track listing:

  1. Ambitious – Nile Rodgers
  2. Gets Us All in the End – Arthur Baker, Tina B
  3. Escape – Jan Hammer
  4. People Get Ready – Curtis Mayfield
  5. Stop Look and Listen – Nile Rodgers
  6. Get Workin’ – Nile Rodgers
  7. Ecstasy – David Bendeth, Simon Climie
  8. Night After Night – Nile Rodgers
  9. You Know We Know – Tony Hymas

In June 1974.

In June 1974, “Asylum” label released “Land’s End”, the fifth Jimmy Webb album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by Jimmy Webb.


  • Jimmy Webb – vocals, keyboards
  • Jim Ryan – guitar
  • Paul Keogh – guitar
  • Fred Tackett– guitar
  • Dean Parks– guitar
  • J. Cole– steel guitar
  • Davey Johnstone– mandolin
  • Phillip Goodhand-Tait– keyboards
  • David Hentschel– synthesizer
  • Tom Scott– saxophone
  • Brian Hodges – bass
  • Dee Murray– bass
  • Barry DeSouza – drums
  • Nigel Olsson– drums
  • Ringo Starr– drums
  • Susan Webb – vocals
  • Joni Mitchell– vocals
  • Bob Fisher – mastering
  • Richie Unterberger – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Jimmy Webb.

  1. Ocean in His Eyes
  2. Feet in the Sunshine
  3. Cloudman
  4. Lady Fits Her Blue Jeans
  5. Just This One Time
  6. Crying in My Sleep
  7. It’s a Sin
  8. Alyce Blue Gown
  9. Land’s End/ Asleep on the Wind

In April 1978.

In April 1978, “Harvest” label released “Rainbow Takeaway”, the eighth Kevin Ayers studio album. It was recorded in1978;at  “Workshop Studio”, and was produced by Kevin Ayers and Anthony Moore.


  • Kevin Ayers- guitar, vocals
  • Ollie Halsall- guitar
  • Billy Livsey- keyboards
  • Rob Townsend- drums
  • Charles McCracken – bass, guitar
  • Anthony Moore- keyboards
  • Graham Preskett – violin
  • Barry DeSouza – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Kevin Ayers.

  1. Blaming It All on Love
  2. Ballad of a Salesman Who Sold Himself
  3. A View from the Mountain
  4. Rainbow Takeaway
  5. Waltz for You
  6. Beware of the Dog II
  7. Strange Song
  8. Goodnight Goodnight
  9. Hat Song

In January 1975.


In January 1975, “CBS” label released “Modern Times”, the sixth Al Stewart album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by Al Stewart.


  • Al Stewart – vocals, guitar, keyboard
  • Brian Bennett – background vocals
  • David Ellis – acoustic guitar
  • Isaac Guillory- guitar
  • Simon Nicol- guitar
  • Tim Renwick- guitar
  • Andrew Powell- arranger
  • Tony Carr – percussion
  • Gerry Conway- drums
  • Stuart Cowell – dobro, guitar
  • Barry DeSouza – drums
  • George Ford – bass
  • Neil Lancaster – background vocals
  • Charles Mills – background vocals
  • Peter Moss – fuzz bass
  • Graham Smith – harmonica
  • Pete Wingfield- keyboards
  • Peter Wood- keyboards, accordion
  • Alan Parsons- engineer, string arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Al Stewart except where noted.

  1. Carol
  2. Sirens of Titan
  3. What’s Going On?
  4. Not the One
  5. Next Time
  6. Apple Cider Re-Constitution
  7. The Dark and the Rolling Sea
  8. Modern Times – Dave Mudge, Al Stewart

On February 17, 1978.


On February 17, 1978, “EMI” label released “The Kick Inside”, the debut Kate Bush album. It was recorded in June 1975, and July and August 1977, and was produced by Andrew Powell and David Gilmour.


  • Kate Bush – piano, composer, keyboards, vocals, background vocals
  • Ian Bairnson- guitar, vocals, background vocals, bottle
  • Paul Keogh, Alan Parker- guitar
  • Paddy Bush- harmonica, mandolin, vocals
  • Duncan Mackay- organ, synthesizer, keyboards, electric piano, clavinet
  • Andrew Powell- synthesizer, keyboards, bass, electric piano
  • Alan Skidmore- saxophone
  • David Paton- bass, acoustic guitar, background vocals
  • Bruce Lynch- bass
  • Barry DeSouza – drums
  • Stuart Elliott- drums
  • Morris Pert- percussion
  • David Katz – violin, orchestra contractor

All tracks by Kate Bush.

  1. Moving
  2. The Saxophone Song
  3. Strange Phenomena
  4. Kite
  5. The Man with the Child in His Eyes
  6. Wuthering Heights
  7. James and the Cold Gun
  8. Feel It
  9. Oh To Be in Love
  10. L’Amour Looks Something Like You
  11. Them Heavy People
  12. Room for the Life
  13. The Kick Inside


On November 8, 1972.

Lou Reed Transformer

On November 8, 1972, “RCA” label released “Transformer”, the second Lou Reed studio album. It was recorded in August 1972, at the “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Mick Ronson and David Bowie.


  • Lou Reed– rhythm guitar, lead vocals
  • Herbie Flowers– bass guitar, double-bass, tuba
  • Mick Ronson– lead guitar, piano, recorder, string arrangements
  • John Halsey– drums
  • David Bowie: backing vocals, keyboards, acoustic guitar
  • Trevor Bolder: trumpet
  • Ronnie Ross– baritone saxophone
  • The Thunder Thighs– backing vocals
  • Barry DeSouza – drums
  • Ritchie Dharma – drums
  • Klaus Voormann– bass

Track listing

All tracks by Lou Reed except where noted .

  1. Vicious
  2. Andy’s Chest
  3. Perfect Day
  4. Hangin’ Round
  5. Walk on the Wild Side
  6. Make Up
  7. Satellite of Love
  8. Wagon Wheel – Lou Reed, David Bowie
  9. New York Telephone Conversation
  10. I’m So Free
  11. Goodnight Ladies