Tag Archives: Ed Stasium

On June 14, 1994.

On June 14, 1994, “Blackheart” / “Warner Bros” labels released “Pure and Simple”, the ninth Joan Jett and the Blackhearts studio album. It was recorded in 1994, at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, “Studio Works 11”, “Music Palace” in New York,
“Armoury Studios” in Vancouver, Canada, “Bad Animals Studio” in Seattle, Washington, “Indigo Ranch” in Malibu, California, and was produced by Kenny Laguna, Thom Panunzio, Ed Stasium, Desmond Child, Jim Vallance and Joan Jett.


  • Joan Jett– lead vocals, guitars
  • Tony “Bruno” Rey- lead guitars
  • Kenny Aaronson- bass
  • Thommy Price– drums
  • Ricky Byrd, John Marshall, Billy Karren, Blake Brocksmith – guitar
  • Mike Howe, Kathleen Hanna– vocals
  • Chuck Kentis – keyboards
  • Arno Hecht – saxophone
  • Thom Panunzio- engineer, mixing
  • John Aiosa – engineer, digital editing
  • Lance Clark – digital editing
  • Carl Glanville, Lee Anthony, Tim Donovan, Mike Thompson, Neil Perry, Danny Kadar, Adam Kasper, Delwyn Brooks, Chuck Johnson – assistant engineers
  • Bob Ludwig- mastering

Track listing:

  1. Go Home – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  2. Eye to Eye – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  3. Spinster – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  4. Torture – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  5. Rubber & Glue – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  6. As I Am – Joan Jett, Desmond Child
  7. Activity Grrrl – Joan Jett, Kathleen Hanna
  8. Insecure – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  9. Wonderin’ – Joan Jett, Jim Vallance, Kenny Laguna
  10. Consumed – Joan Jett, Thommy Price
  11. You Got a Problem – Joan Jett, Desmond Child, Kathleen Hanna
  12. Brighter Day – Joan Jett, Desmond Child

On August 20, 1990.

On August 20, 1990, “Epic” label released “Time’s Up”, the second Living Colour studio album. It was recorded 1989 – 1990, at “A&M Studios” in Hollywood, and “RPM Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Ed Stasium. The album won “Grammy” award for the “Best Hard Rock Album of the Year”.


  • Corey Glover– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Vernon Reid– lead guitar
  • Muzz Skillings– bass
  • Will Calhoun– drums
  • Akbar Ali – strings
  • Charles Burnham- strings
  • Don Byron- clarinet, baritone saxophone
  • Annette Daniels, K. Dyson – background vocals
  • Eileen Folson- strings
  • Doug E. Fresh- percussion, vocals
  • Mick Jagger, Toshinobu Kubota- background vocals
  • Little Richard- vocals
  • Yubie Navas – background vocals
  • Maceo Parker- saxophone
  • Queen Latifah– vocals
  • Alva Rogers, Rosa Russ – background vocals
  • Francine Stasium – background vocals
  • Lex Van Pieterson – photography
  • Reggie Workman- strings
  • Derin Young – vocals, background vocals
  • Ed Stasium- engineer, mixing
  • John Aguto – assistant engineer
  • Alan Friedman – programming
  • Lolly Grodner – assistant engineer
  • Paul Hamingson – engineer, assistant engineer
  • Jeff Lippay – assistant engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Vernon Reid, except where noted.

  1. Time’s Up – Vernon Reid, Muzz Skillings, Corey Glover, Will Calhoun
  2. History Lesson
  3. Pride – Will Calhoun
  4. Love Rears Its Ugly Head
  5. New Jack Theme
  6. Someone Like You – Muzz Skillings
  7. Elvis Is Dead
  8. Type
  9. Information Overload
  10. Under Cover of Darkness – Corey Glover
  11. Ology – Muzz Skillings
  12. Fight the Fight – Vernon Reid, Muzz Skillings, Corey Glover, Will Calhoun
  13. Tag Team Partners – Corey Glover
  14. Solace of You – Corey Glover, Vernon Reid
  15. This Is the Life

On November 4, 1977.


On November 4, 1977, “Sire” label released “Rocket to Russia”, the third Ramones studio album. It was recorded August – September 1977, at “Media Sound Studios” in Midtown Manhattan, and was produced by Tony Bongiovi and Tommy Ramone. The album’s cover art concept was by John Gillespie, with John Holmstrom and Johnny Ramone work on the illustration. In 2012, “rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Rocket to Russia” at number 106 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Joey Ramone– lead vocals
  • Johnny Ramone– lead guitar
  • Dee Dee Ramone– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Tommy Ramone– drums
  • Ed Stasium– engineer
  • Don Berman – assistant engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Danny Fields– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ramones, except where noted.

  1. Cretin Hop
  2. Rockaway Beach
  3. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  4. Locket Love
  5. I Don’t Care
  6. Sheena Is a Punk Rocker
  7. We’re a Happy Family
  8. Teenage Lobotomy
  9. Do You Wanna Dance? – Bobby Freeman
  10. I Wanna Be Well
  11. I Can’t Give you Anything
  12. Ramona
  13. Surfin’ Bird – Carl White, Alfred Frazier, John Harris, Turner Wilson
  14. Why Is It Always This Way?

On October 1, 1984.


On October 1, 1984, “Sire” label released “Too Tough to Die” the eighth Ramones studio album. It was recorded in July 1984, and was produced by Tommy Ramone, Dave Stewart and Ed Stasium. It was the first Ramones albums to feature Richie Ramone on drums. The cover photo for the album was taken by photographer George DuBose


  • Joey Ramone– lead vocals
  • Johnny Ramone– lead guitar
  • Dee Dee Ramone– bass, guitar, backing and lead vocals
  • Richie Ramone– drums, backing vocals
  • Walter Lure– guitar
  • Jerry Harrison– synthesizer
  • Ben Tench– keyboards
  • Tony Wright– cover design
  • George DuBose – photography

Track listing:

  1. Mama’s Boy – Johnny Ramone, Dee Dee Ramone, Tommy Ramone
  2. I’m Not Afraid of Life –
  3. Too Tough to Die – Dee Dee Ramone
  4. Durango 95 – Johnny Ramone
  5. Wart Hog – Dee Dee Ramone, Johnny Ramone
  6. Danger Zone – Dee Dee Ramone, Johnny Ramone
  7. Chasing the Night – Busta Cherry Jones, Joey Ramone, Dee Dee Ramone
  8. Howling at the Moon (Sha-La-La) – Dee Dee Ramone
  9. Daytime Dilemma (Dangers of Love) – Joey Ramone, Daniel Rey
  10. Planet Earth 1988 – Dee Dee Ramone
  11. Humankind – Ritchie Ramone
  12. Endless Vacation – Dee Dee Ramone, Johnny Ramone
  13. No Go – Joey Ramone


On April 25, 1988.


On April 25, 1988, “A&M” label released “Hang Time”, the major-label debut album by Soul Asylum.  It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Lenny Kaye and Ed Stasium.


  • Karl Mueller – bass
  • Dan Murphy – vocals, guitar
  • Dave Pirner – guitar, piano, saxophone, vocals
  • Grant Young – drums
  • Paul Hamingson – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave Pirner, except where noted.

  1. Down on Up to Me
  2. Little Too Clean
  3. Sometime to Return
  4. Cartoon – Dan Murphy
  5. Beggars and Choosers
  6. Endless Farewell
  7. Standing in the Doorway
  8. Marionette
  9. Ode
  10. Jack of All Trades
  11. Twiddly Dee
  12. Heavy Rotation