Tag Archives: November 4

On November 4, 1985.


On November 4, 1985, “Epic” label released “Cut the Crap”, the sixth and the final Clash studio album. It was recorded January – March 1985, at “Weryton Studios” in Unterföhring, and was produced by Jose Unidos (Bernie Rhodes, the band’s manager). The album was recorded after founding members Topper Headon (drums) and Mick Jones (guitar) were fired from the band.


  • Joe Strummer– lead vocals
  • Paul Simonon– bass
  • Nick Sheppard– guitar, lead vocals
  • Vince White– additional guitar
  • Pete Howard– drums
  • Hermann Weindorf – keyboards, synthesizers
  • Norman Watt-Roy– bass
  • Michael Fayne – drum machines, vocals
  • Bernie Rhodes– drum machine programming

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Strummer and Bernard Rhodes.

  1. Dictator
  2. Dirty Punk
  3. We Are the Clash
  4. Are You Red..Y
  5. Cool Under Heat
  6. Movers and Shakers
  7. This Is England
  8. Three Card Trick
  9. Play to Win
  10. Fingerpoppin
  11. North and South
  12. Life is Wild

On November 4, 1983.


On November 4, 1983, “Warner Bros” label released “Hearts and Bones”, the sixth Paul Simon solo studio album. It was recorded in 1983, and was produced by Roy Halee, Paul Simon, Russ Titelman and Lenny Waronker.


  • Paul Simon – guitar, programming, vocals
  • Rob Mounsey- synthesizer, vocoder
  • The Harptones- background vocals
  • Bernard Edwards- bass
  • Nile Rodgers- guitar, programming
  • Airto Moreira- percussion
  • Marin Alsop- violin
  • Michael Boddicker- synthesizer
  • Wells Christy – synthesizer, Synclavier
  • Tom Coppola- synthesizer, Synclavier
  • Al Di Meola- guitar
  • Steve Ferrone- drums
  • Steve Gadd- drums
  • Eric Gale- guitar
  • Anthony Jackson- contrabass guitar
  • Jill Jaffe – viola
  • Jesse Levy – cello
  • Mike Mainieri- marimba, vibraphone,
  • George Marge – bass clarinet
  • Sid McGinnis- guitar
  • Marcus Miller- bass
  • Jeff Porcaro- drums
  • Dean Parks- guitar
  • Greg Phillinganes- Fender Rhodes
  • Michael Riesman- synthesizer, conductor
  • Mark Rivera- alto saxophone
  • Rob Sabino- synthesizer, piano
  • Richard Tee- synthesizer, piano, Fender Rhodes
  • Carol Wincenc – flute
  • Frederick Zlotkin – cello
  • Peter Gordon – French horn
  • Dave Matthews – horn arrangements

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Simon, with one-minute coda on track 10 by Philip Glass.

  1. Allergies
  2. Hearts and Bones
  3. When Numbers Get Serious
  4. Think Too Much (b)
  5. Song About the Moon
  6. Think Too Much (a)
  7. Train in the Distance
  8. Rene and Georgette Magritte with Their Dog After the War
  9. Cars Are Cars
  10. The Late Great Johnny Ace

On November 4, 1977.


On November 4, 1977, “Sire” label released “Rocket to Russia”, the third Ramones studio album. It was recorded August – September 1977, at “Media Sound Studios” in Midtown Manhattan, and was produced by Tony Bongiovi and Tommy Ramone. The album’s cover art concept was by John Gillespie, with John Holmstrom and Johnny Ramone work on the illustration. In 2012, “rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Rocket to Russia” at number 106 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Joey Ramone– lead vocals
  • Johnny Ramone– lead guitar
  • Dee Dee Ramone– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Tommy Ramone– drums
  • Ed Stasium– engineer
  • Don Berman – assistant engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Danny Fields– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ramones, except where noted.

  1. Cretin Hop
  2. Rockaway Beach
  3. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
  4. Locket Love
  5. I Don’t Care
  6. Sheena Is a Punk Rocker
  7. We’re a Happy Family
  8. Teenage Lobotomy
  9. Do You Wanna Dance? – Bobby Freeman
  10. I Wanna Be Well
  11. I Can’t Give you Anything
  12. Ramona
  13. Surfin’ Bird – Carl White, Alfred Frazier, John Harris, Turner Wilson
  14. Why Is It Always This Way?

On November 4, 1976.


On November 4, 1976, “Atlantic” label released “Imaginary Voyage”, the fourteenth Jean-Luc Ponty album. It was recorded July – August 1976, at “Kendun Studios” in Burbank, California, and was produced by Jean – Luc Ponty.


  • Jean-Luc Ponty– electric and acoustic violins, organ, background Synthesizers
  • Daryl Stuermer– electric and acoustic guitars
  • Allan Zavod– electric keyboards and acoustic piano
  • Tom Fowler– electric bass
  • Mark Craney– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Jean-Luc Ponty.

  1. New Country
  2. The Gardens of Babylon
  3. Wandering on the Milky Way
  4. Once upon a Dream
  5. Tarantula
  6. Imaginary Voyage
  • Part I
  • Part II
  • Part III
  • Part IV


On November 4, 1991.


8025458P01 15

On November 4, 1991, “WEA” label released “Shepherd Moons”, the third Enya album. It was recorded 1989 – 1991, at “Aigle Studios: in Dublin and “Sarm West Studios” in London, and was produced by Nicky Ryan. In 1993, “Shepherd Moon” won “Grammy Award” for “Best New Age Album”.


  • Enya– percussion, keyboards, vocals, piano
  • Andy Duncan– percussion
  • Roy Jewitt – clarinet
  • Liam O’Flynn– uillean pipes
  • Nicky Ryan– additional percussion
  • Steve Sidwell– cornet
  • Executive Producer: Rob Dickins
  • Arranger: Enya, Nicky Ryan
  • Photography: David Scheinmann

Track listing:

  1. Shepherd Moon
  2. Caribbean Blue
  3. How Can I Keep from Singing
  4. Ebudae
  5. Angeles
  6. No Holly for Miss Quin
  7. Book of Days
  8. Evacuee
  9. Lothlorien
  10. Marble Halls
  11. Afer Ventus
  12. Smaointe

On November 4, 1986.

They Might Be Giants

On November 4, 1986, “Bar/None” label released They Might Be Giants’s self titled debut album, also known as “The Pink Album”. The album was recorded in 1986 and 1986 at “Studio Pass” and “Dubway Studio” in New York, and was produced by Bill Krauss.


  • John Flansburgh- vocals, guitars, bass, harmonica, programming
  • John Linnell- vocals, accordion, keyboards, saxophones, programming
  • Eugene Chadbourne – phoned-in guitar
  • Margaret Seiler – lead vocals
  • Mark Boyer – executive producer
  • Matthew Hill – executive producer
  • Rodney Alan Greenblat – cover art

Track listing:

All compositions by John Flansburgh and John Linnell.

  1. Everything Right Is Wrong Again
  2. Put Your Hand Inside the Puppet Head
  3. Number Three
  4. Don’t Let’s Start
  5. Hide Away Folk Family
  6. 32 Footsteps
  7. Tolddier Hiway
  8. Rabid Child
  9. Nothing’s Donna Change My Clothes
  10. (She Was A) Hotel Detective
  11. She’s an Angel
  12. Youth Culture Killed My Dog
  13. Boat of Car
  14. Absolutely Bill’s Mode
  15. Chess Piece Face
  16. I Hope That I Get Old Before I Die
  17. Allenation’s for the Rich
  18. The Day
  19. Rhythm Section Want Ad