Tag Archives: Buck Owens

On December 29, 1975.

On December 29, 1975, “Reprise” released “Elite Hotel”, the third Emmylou Harris studio album. It was recorded in June 1975, at “Enactron Truck” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Brian Ahern.


  • Emmylou Harris – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Brian Ahern- acoustic guitar, bass
  • Mike Auldridge– dobro
  • Byron Berline- fiddle, mandolin
  • Dianne Brooks – backing vocals
  • James Burton- electric guitar
  • Rodney Crowell- electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Rick Cunha – acoustic guitar
  • Nick DeCaro – string arrangements
  • Hank DeVito- pedal steel
  • Jonathan Edwards- backing vocals
  • Amos Garrett- electric guitar
  • Emory Gordy, Jr.- bass, backing vocals
  • Glen D. Hardin- piano, electric piano, string arrangements
  • Ben Keith- pedal steel
  • Bernie Leadon- acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Bill Payne– piano
  • Herb Pedersen- acoustic guitar, banjo, backing vocals
  • Mickey Raphael– harmonica
  • Linda Ronstadt- backing vocals
  • Fayssoux Starling- backing vocals
  • John Starling- acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Ron Tutt– drums
  • John Ware– drums
  • Brian Ahern – engineer
  • Bradley Hartman – engineer
  • Rudy Hill – engineer
  • Stuart Taylor – engineer
  • Miles Wilkinson – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Amarillo – Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell
  2. Together Again – Buck Owens
  3. Feelin’ Single, Seein’ Double – Wayne Kemp
  4. Sin City – Gram Parsons, Chris Hillman
  5. One of These Days – Earl Montgomery
  6. Till I Gain Control Again – Rodney Crowell
  7. Here, There and Everywhere – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  8. Ooh Las Vegas – Gram Parsons, Ric Grech
  9. Sweet Dreams – Don Gibson
  10. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) – Hank Williams
  11. Satan’s Jewel Crown – Edgar L. Eden
  12. Wheels – Chris Hillman, Gram Parsons

In February 1976.

In February 1976, “Hi” label released “Full of Fire”, the tenth Al Green studio album. It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Willie Mitchell.


  • Al Green – vocals
  • Teenie Hodges- guitar
  • Leroy Hodges- bass
  • Charles Hodges- organ
  • Howard Grimes- drums, congas
  • Archie Turner, Michael Allen – piano
  • Charles Chalmers, Donna Rhodes, Sandra Rhodes – backing vocals
  • Andrew Love, Lewis Collins – tenor saxophone
  • James Mitchell – baritone saxophone
  • Wayne Jackson- trumpet
  • Jack Hale – trombone
  • The Memphis Strings – strings
  • Norman Seeff- photography

Track listing:

  1. Glory, Glory – Al Green, Willie Mitchell
  2. That’s the Way It Is – Al Green
  3. Always – Al Green, Charles Hodges
  4. There’s No Way – Willie Mitchell, Earl Randle
  5. I’d Fly Away – Al Green
  6. Full of Fire – Al Green, Willie Mitchell, Mabon “Teenie” Hodges
  7. Together Again – Buck Owens
  8. Soon as I Get Home – Al Green, Michael Allen
  9. Let It Shine – Al Green, Mabon “Teenie” Hodges


On January 2, 1968.

On January 2, 1968, “Capitol” label released “Sing Me Back Home”, the fifth Merle Haggard studio album. It was recorded April, July, September, November 1967, at “Capitol Records” in Hollywood, and was produced by Ken Nelson.


  • Merle Haggard – vocals, guitar
  • Roy Nichols– guitar
  • Glen Campbell– guitar
  • Billy Mize– guitar
  • Lewis Talley – guitar
  • George French – piano
  • Jerry Ward – bass
  • Eddie Burns – drums
  • Bonnie Owens– harmony vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Merle Haggard; except where noted.

  1. Sing Me Back Home
  2. Look Over Me
  3. Son of Hickory Holler’s Tramp – Dallas Frazier
  4. Wine Take Me Away – Tommy Collins, Merle Haggard
  5. If You See My Baby – Eddie Miller, Bob Morris
  6. Where Does the Good Times Go – Buck Owens
  7. I’ll Leave the Bottle on the Bar
  8. My Past Is Present – Merle Haggard, Wynn Stewart
  9. Home Is Where a Kid Grows Up – Merle Haggard, Wynn Stewart, Bob Wills
  10. Mom and Dad’s Waltz – Lefty Frizzell
  11. Good Times
  12. Seeing Eye Dog


On May 2, 1966.

On May 2, 1966, “Capitol” label released “Dust on Mother’s Bible”, the eleventh Buck Owens and his Buckaroos studio album. It was recorded in November 1965, at “Capitol Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Ken Nelson.


  • Buck Owens – guitar, vocals
  • Don Rich– guitar, fiddle, vocals
  • Tom Brumley– pedal steel guitar
  • Willie Cantu – drums
  • Bobby Austin – bass
  • Doyle Holly– guitar, vocals
  • Wayne Stong – drums
  • Red Simpson – guitar
  • George French, Jr. – piano

Track listing:

  1. Pray Every Day – Buck Owens, Red Simpson
  2. When Jesus Calls All His Children In – Buck Owens, Red Simpson
  3. I’ll Go to the Church Again With Momma – Buck Owens, Red Simpson
  4. Bring It to Jesus – Buck Owens, Bonnie Owens
  5. Jesus Saved Me – Buck Owens, Red Simpson
  6. Would You Be Ready? – Don Rich
  7. Dust on Mother’s Bible – Buck Owens
  8. Satan’s Gotta Get Along Without Me – Buck Owens, Red Simpson
  9. Where Would I Be Without Jesus – Don Sessions
  10. Eternal Vacation – Buck Owens, Bonnie Owens
  11. It Was With Love – Loudilla Johnson, Don Rich
  12. All the Way With Jesus – Buck Owens, Bonnie Owens

In February 1966.


In February 1966, “Tangerine” label released “Crying Time”, the twenty sixth Ray Charles album. It was recorded in 1965, at “R.P.M. International Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Joe Adams.


  • Ray Charles– piano, vocals
  • The Raelettes– performer
  • Onzy Matthews- arranger
  • William Alexander – album cover
  • George S. Whiteman – album cover
  • Joe Lebow – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Crying Time – Buck Owens
  2. No Use Crying – Roy Gaines, Freddie Lee Kober, J.B. Daniels
  3. Let’s Go Get Stoned – Valerie Simpson, Nikolas Ashford, Jo Armstead
  4. Going Down Slow – Jimmy Oden
  5. Peace of Mind – Ray Charles,  Holiday
  6. Tears – Norman Newell, Robert Maxwell
  7. Drifting Blues – Johnny Moore, Eddie Williams, Charles Brown
  8. We Don’t See Eye to Eye – Percy Mayfield
  9. You’re In For a Big Surprise – Percy Mayfield
  10. You’re Just About to Lose Your Clown – Johnny MacRae
  11. Don’t You Think I Ought To Know – William Johnson, Melvin Wettergreen
  12. You’ve Got a Problem – William D. Weeks, Freddy James

Merle Haggard died aged 79.


On April 6, 2016, Merle Ronald Haggard died aged 79. Being country songwriter, singer, guitarist and fiddler, in the 70’s, Haggard was part of the outlaw country movement, and with his band the Strangers, along with Buck Owens, he created the Bakersfield sound. In 1994, Haggard was inducted into the “Country Music Hall of Fame”. In 1997, he was inducted into the “Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame”, and in 2010, Haggard was inducted in “Kennedy Center Honors”. Haggard won three “Grammy Awards”:

  • In 1984 “Best Male Country Vocal Performance– “That’s The Way Love Goes”
  • In 1998 “Best Country Collaboration with Vocals”with Clint Black, Joe Diffie, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, Patty Loveless, Earl Scruggs, Ricky Skaggs, Marty Stuart, Pam Tillis, Randy Travis, Travis Tritt & Dwight Yoakam for “Same Old Train”
  • In 1999 “Grammy Hall of Fame Award”– “Mama Tried”