Tag Archives: Who Is It

On May 13, 1983.

On May 13, 1983, “Rough Trade” label released “Variations on a Theme”, the second David Thomas studio album. It was recorded in March 1983, at “Suma Recording” in Painesville, OH, and was produced by David Thomas.


  • David Thomas – vocals
  • Jim Jones– guitar
  • Jack Monck– guitar
  • Richard Thompson– guitar
  • Paul Hamann – bass guitar, engineering
  • Anton Fier– drums
  • Chris Cutler– drums
  • Lindsay Cooper– bassoon
  • Ken Hamann – engineering
  • Adam Kidron– engineering
  • Robert Vogel – engineering
  • Mary Thomas – cover art, illustrations

Track listing:

All lyrics by David Thomas.

  1. A Day at the Botanical Gardens – mucis by David Thomas
  2. Pedestrian Walk – music by David Thomas, Eddie Thorton
  3. Bird Town – music by Richard Thompson
  4. The Egg & I – Anton Fier
  5. Who Is It – Lindsay Cooper, Chris Cutler
  6. Song of Hoe – David Thomas
  7. Hurry Back – Jim Jones
  8. The Rain – Chris Cutler, Anton Fier
  9. Semaphore – Lindsay Cooper, Chris Cutler, Jack Monck


On November 26, 1991.


On November 26, 1991, “Epic” label released “Dangerous”, the eighth Michael Jackson studio album. It was recorded June 1990 – October 1991, at “Ocean Way Studios” and “Record One Studios”, and was produced by Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley, Bill Bottrell and Bruce Swedien.  The album was certified 10 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 4 x Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”;  6 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; 5 x Platinum in Chile by “IFPI’; Platinum in Finland by “Musiikkituottajat”; Diamond in France by “SNEP”; 4 x Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; Diamond in Italy by “FIMI”; 2 x Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”; 7 x Platinum by Malaysia by “RIM”;  2 x Platinum in Mexico by “AMPROFON”; 3 x Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”; 6 x Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; 6 x Platinum in Spain by “PROMUSICAE”; 3 x Platinum in Sweden by “GLF”; 5 x Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”; 6 x Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 7 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Michael Jackson- lead vocals, background vocals, arrangement, vocal arrangement, rhythm arrangement, director, soprano voice
  • John Bahler- vocal and choir arrangements
  • The John Bahler Singers – choir
  • Glen Ballard- arrangement
  • John Barnes – keyboards
  • Michael Boddicker- synthesizers, speed sequencer, keyboards, keyboard programming
  • Bill Bottrell- recording engineer, audio mixer, percussion, guitar, rap, Father speaking part, drums, synthesizer, bass, mellotron
  • Craig Brock – guitar recording engineer assistant
  • Brad Buxer- keyboards, synthesizers, percussion, keyboard arrangement/programming, keyboard programming
  • Larry Corbett – solo cello
  • Andraé Crouch- choir arrangement
  • Sandra Crouch- choir arrangement
  • The Andraé Crouch Singers – choir
  • Heavy D- rap
  • George Del Barrio – string arrangement
  • Matt Forger – recording engineer, audio mixer, engineering and sound design
  • Kevin Gilbert- speed sequencer
  • Endre Granat- concertmaster
  • Linda Harmon – soprano voice
  • Jerry Hey- arrangement
  • Jean-Marie Horvat – recording engineer
  • Paul Jackson Jr.- guitar intro
  • Terry Jackson – bass guitar
  • Louis Johnson- bass guitar
  • Abraham Laboriel- bass guitar
  • Christa Larson- ending solo vocal
  • Rhett Lawrence- synthesizers, synthesizer programming, arrangement, drums , percussion
  • Bryan Loren- drums, Moog bass
  • Johnny Mandel- orchestral arrangement and conductor
  • Jasun Martz- keyboards
  • Andres McKenzie – Son speaking part
  • Jim Mitchell – guitar recording engineer
  • René Moore- arrangement, keyboards
  • David Paich- keyboards, synthesizers, keyboard arrangement, keyboard programming, rhythm arrangement
  • Marty Paich- orchestral arrangement and conductor
  • Greg Phillinganes- keyboards
  • Tim Pierce- heavy metal guitar
  • Jeff Porcaro- drums
  • Steve Porcaro- synthesizers, keyboards, keyboard programming
  • Teddy Riley- recording engineer, audio mixer, arrangement, keyboards, synthesizers, drums, guitar, rhythm arrangement, synthesizer arrangement
  • Thom Russo- recording engineer
  • Slash- special guitar performance
  • Bruce Swedien- co-producer, recording engineer, audio mixer, arrangement, keyboards, drums, percussion
  • Jai Winding – keyboards, keyboard programming, piano, bass
  • Mystery Girl (Princess Stéphanie of Monaco) – vocals

Track listing:

  1. Jam – Michael Jackson, René Moore, Bruce Swedien, Teddy Riley
  2. Why You Wanna Trip on Me – Teddy Riley, Bernard Belle
  3. In the Closet – Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley
  4. She Drives Me Wild – Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley; rap lyrics by Aqil Davidson
  5. Remember the Time – Teddy Riley, Michael Jackson, Bernard Belle
  6. Can’t Let Her Get Away – Michael Jackson, Teddy Riley
  7. Heal the World – Michael Jackson
  8. Black or White – Michael Jackson, Bill Bottrell
  9. Who Is It – Michael Jackson
  10. Give In to Me – Michael Jackson, Bill Bottrell
  11. Will You Be There – Michael Jackson
  12. Keep the Faith – Glen Ballard, Siedah Garrett, Michael Jackson
  13. Gone Too Soon – Larry Grossman, Buz Kohan
  14. Dangerous – Michael Jackson, Bill Bottrell, Teddy Riley


On September 16, 1977.

Talking Heads - 77

On September 16, 1977, “Sire” label released “77”, the debut Talking Heads album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, at the “Sundragon Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Tony Bongiovi, Lance Quinn and Talking Heads. The album featured the composition “Psycho killer”, which became one of band’s most popular songs.  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “77” at number 290 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • David Byrne – guitar, vocals
  • Chris Frantz– drums
  • Jerry Harrison– guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Tina Weymouth– bass guitar

All tracks by David Byrne, except where noted.

  1. Uh-Oh, Love Comes to Town
  2. New Feeling
  3. Tentative Decisions
  4. Happy Day
  5. Who Is It
  6. No Compassion
  7. The Book I Read
  8. Don’t Worry About the Government
  9. First Week/Last Week..Carefree
  10. Psycho Killer – David Byrne, Chris Frantz, Tina Weymouth
  11. Pulled Up