On May 13, 1983.

On May 13, 1983, “Rough Trade” label released “Variations on a Theme”, the second David Thomas studio album. It was recorded in March 1983, at “Suma Recording” in Painesville, OH, and was produced by David Thomas.


  • David Thomas – vocals
  • Jim Jones– guitar
  • Jack Monck– guitar
  • Richard Thompson– guitar
  • Paul Hamann – bass guitar, engineering
  • Anton Fier– drums
  • Chris Cutler– drums
  • Lindsay Cooper– bassoon
  • Ken Hamann – engineering
  • Adam Kidron– engineering
  • Robert Vogel – engineering
  • Mary Thomas – cover art, illustrations

Track listing:

All lyrics by David Thomas.

  1. A Day at the Botanical Gardens – mucis by David Thomas
  2. Pedestrian Walk – music by David Thomas, Eddie Thorton
  3. Bird Town – music by Richard Thompson
  4. The Egg & I – Anton Fier
  5. Who Is It – Lindsay Cooper, Chris Cutler
  6. Song of Hoe – David Thomas
  7. Hurry Back – Jim Jones
  8. The Rain – Chris Cutler, Anton Fier
  9. Semaphore – Lindsay Cooper, Chris Cutler, Jack Monck


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.