Tag Archives: The Stranger

On September 23, 2013.

On September 23, 2013, “Bella Union” label released “Man & Myth”, the 22nd Roy Harper studio album. It was recorded in 2013, in Ireland, UK, USA, and was produced by Roy Harper with additional production by Jonathan Wilson and John Fitzgerald.


  • Roy Harper– vocals, guitar
  • Jonathan Wilson- banjo, guitar, mandolin, bass guitar, backing vocals
  • John Fitzgerald – bouzouki, Oud, bass guitar, guitar, engineering
  • Pete Townshend– electric guitar
  • Tony Franklin- bass guitar
  • Jake Blanton – bass guitar
  • Jason Borger – keyboard
  • Fiona Brice- strings, brass
  • Gillon Cameron – violin
  • Bertrand Galen – cello
  • Richard Gowen – drums, percussion
  • Justin Grounds- violin

Track listing:

All tracks by Roy Harper.

  1. The Enemy
  2. Time Is Temporary
  3. January Man
  4. The Stranger
  5. Cloud Cuckooland
  6. Heaven Is Here
  7. The Exile

On March 19, 1982.

On March 19, 1982, “CBS” label released “Batteries Not Included”, the fourth and final After the Fire album. It was recorded in 1981, at “The Record Plant” in New York City, and was produced by Mack.


  • Andy Piercy – vocals, guitar, bass
  • Peter Banks – keyboards
  • John Russell – guitar
  • Pete King – drums

All tracks by Andy Piercy and Peter Banks, except where noted.

  1. Short Change
  2. Frozen Rivers
  3. Sometimes – Andy Piercy, Peter Banks, John Russell
  4. Sailing Ship
  5. I Don’t Understand Your Love
  6. The Stranger
  7. Rich Boys
  8. Carry Me Home
  9. Dancing in the Shadows
  10. Space Walking
  11. Gina
  12. Stuck in Paris (Nowhere To Go)
  13. Bright Lights

On September 29, 1977.


On September 29, 1977, “Family Productions” label released “The Stranger” the fifth Billy Joel studio album. It was recorded July – August 1977, at “A&R Recording, Inc.” in New York City, and was produced by Phil Ramone. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “The Stranger” at number 70 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.  The album became Joel’s critical and commercial breakthrough, and remains his best-selling non-compilation album to date. The album was certified 5 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Hong Kong by “IFPI Hong Kong”; Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”, and Diamond in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Billy Joel– vocals, acoustic piano, keyboards, synthesizers, Fender Rhodes
  • Doug Stegmeyer– bass guitar
  • Liberty DeVitto– drums
  • Richie Cannata– tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet, flute, organ, tuba
  • Steve Khan– six and twelve string electric guitars, acoustic rhythm guitar, high string guitar
  • Hiram Bullock– electric guitar
  • Patrick Williams– orchestration
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • Hugh McCracken– acoustic guitar
  • Steve Burgh – acoustic guitar ; electric guitar
  • Phil Woods– alto saxophone
  • Dominic Cortese – accordion
  • Richard Tee– organ
  • Phoebe Snow– background vocals
  • Lani Groves – background vocals
  • Gwen Guthrie– background vocals
  • Patti Austin– background vocals
  • Ted Jensen– mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Joel.

  1. Movin’ Out (Anthony’s Song)
  2. The Stranger
  3. Just the Way You Are
  4. Scenes from an Italian Restaurant
  5. Vienna
  6. Only the Good Die Young
  7. She’s Always a Woman
  8. Get It Right the First Time
  9. Everybody Has a Dream/The Stranger (Reprise)