On November 15, 1986.


On November 15, 1986, “Def Jam” label released “Licensed to Ill”, the debut Beastie Boys studio album. It was recorded in 1986, and was produced by Rick Rubin, Mike D, MCA and Ad-Rock. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 217 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time and in 2013 the same magazine named it the best debut album of all time. “Licensed to Ill” was the first rap album to top the Billboard album chart. In February 1987, the album was certified Platinum in the US by “RIIA’.


  • Mike D (Michael Louis Diamond) – vocals, drums
  • MCA (Adam Nathaniel Yauch) – vocals, bass
  • Ad – Rock (Adam Keefe Horovitz) – vocals, guitar, programing
  • Kerry King– lead guitar
  • Keene Carse – trombone
  • Danny Lipman – trumpet
  • Tony Orbach – tenor saxophone
  • Steven Ett – engineer
  • Joe Blaney – mixing
  • Steve Byram – art direction
  • World B. Omes (David Gambale) – cover art
  • Sunny Bak– photography

Track listing:

All tracks by  Mike D, MCA, Ad-Rock and Rick Rubin, except where noted.

  1. Rhymin & Stealin
  2. The New Style
  3. She’s Crafty
  4. Posse in Effect
  5. Slow Ride
  6. Girls
  7. (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party!)
  8. No Sleep till Brooklyn
  9. Paul Revere – Adam Horovitz,Darryl McDaniels, Rick Rubin, Joseph Simmons
  10. Hold It Now, Hit It
  11. Brass Monkey
  12. Slow and Low – Darryl McDaniels, Rick Rubin, Joseph Simmons
  13. Time to Get Ill

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.