Tag Archives: British Phonographic Industry

On April 10, 1989.


On April 10, 1989, “Virgin” label released “Club Classics Vol. One”, the debut Soul II Soul album. It was recorded 1988 – 1989, and was produced by Jazzie B. and Nellee Hooper. The album was certified 3 x Platinum by the “British Phonographic Industry”, and 2 x Platinum by the “RIAA” for sales in US. In 2004,  “Q”  magazine  ranked Club Classics Vol. One at number 28 in its list of the “50 Greatest British Albums Ever”. In 2012, “Slant Magazine”, ranked the album at number 100 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s”.

Track listing:

  1. Keep on Movin’ – Trevor Baresford Romes
  2. Fairplay – Trevor Baresford Romeo, Nellee Hooper, Rose Windrows
  3. Holdin’ On – Trevor Baresford Romes, Simon Law
  4. Feeling Free (Live Rap) – Trevor Baresford Romes
  5. African Dance – Trevor Baresford Romes, Simon Law
  6. Dance – Trevor Baresford Romes, Simon Law
  7. Feel Free – Trevor Baresford Romes, Nellee Hooper
  8. Happiness (Dub) – Trevor Baresford Romes, Nellee Hooper
  9. Back to Life (Accapella) – Trevor Baresford Romes
  10. Jazzie’s Groove – Trevor Baresford Romes, Nellee Hooper

On March 9, 1992.

Blanka gainrider

On March 9, 1992, “Creation” label released “Going Blank Again”, the second Ride studio album. It was recorded in 1991, at “Chipping Norton Recording Studios” in Chipping Norton, and “Blackbarn Studios” in Ripley, and was produced by Alan Moulder, Andy Bell, Loz Colbert, Mark Gardener and Steve Queralt.


  • Andy Bell – vocals, guitar
  • Loz Colbert – drums
  • Mark Gardener – vocals, guitar
  • Steve Queralt – bass

Track listing:

All music by Andy Bell, Loz Colbert, Mark Gardener, Steve Queralt.

  1. Leave Them All Behind – lyrics by Mark Gardener
  2. Twisterella – lyrics by Mark Gardener
  3. Not Fazed – lyrics by Andy Bell
  4. Chrome Bells – lyrics by Andy Bell
  5. Mouse Trap – lyrics by Mark Gardener
  6. Time of Her Time – lyrics by Andy Bell
  7. Cool Your Boots – lyrics by Andy Bell
  8. Making Judy Smile – lyrics by Andy Bell
  9. Time Machine – lyrics bay Mark Gardener
  10. OX4 – lyrics by Mark Gardener

On February 6, 1984.

Simple_minds-Sparkle in the Rain

On February 6, 1984, “Virgin” label released “Sparkle in the Rain”, the sixth Simple Minds studio album. It was recorded September – October 1983, at “Monnow Valley Studio” in Rockfield, and “The Town House” in London, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the UK by the “BPI.


  • Jim Kerr– vocals
  • Charlie Burchill– acoustic and electric guitars
  • Derek Forbes– bass, vocals
  • Mel Gaynor– drums, vocals
  • Mick MacNeil– keyboards, vocals
  • Kirsty MacColl– voice

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Kerr, Charlie Burchill, Derek Forbes, Mel Gaynor and Mick MacNeil, except where noted..

  1. Up on the Catwalk
  2. Book of Brilliant Things
  3. Speed Your Love to Me
  4. Waterfront
  5. East at Easter
  6. Street Hassle
  7. White Hot Day
  8. ‘C’ Moon Cry Like a Baby
  9. The Kick Inside of Me
  10. Shake Off the Ghosts


On February 4, 1977.

Fleetwood Mac Rumours

On February 4, 1977, “Warner Bros” label released “Rumours”, the eleventh Fleetwood Mac studio album.  It was recorded in 1976, at “Criteria Studios” in Miami; “Record Plant Studios” in Los Angeles; “Zellerbach Auditorium” in Berkeley and “Wally Heider Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lindsey Buckingham,  Mick Fleetwood, Christine McVie, John McVie, Stevie Nicks, Ken Caillat and Richard Dashut. “Rumours” won “Grammy Award for Album of the Year” in 1978, the three major US trade publications – “Billboard”, “Cash Box, and Record World”, named it “Album of the Year” for 1977. The album has sold over 40 million copies worldwide, becoming one of the best-selling albums of all time. Rumours has received Diamond certifications in several countries, including the US, Canada, and Australia. “Rumours” was certified 11 x Platinum in UK by the “BPI”; it has received a “Diamond Award” in US by “RIAA” for a 20 x Platinum certification or 20 million units shipped. In 1998, magazine “Q”  ranked  “Rumours” at number three in its list of “50 Best Albums of the 70’s’; in 1999,  “Vibe”  featured it as one of “100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century”; in  2003, “VH1” ranked “Rumours” at number 16 during its “100 Greatest Albums countdown”and magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked it at number 25 in its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Lindsey Buckingham– guitars, dobro, percussion, vocals
  • Stevie Nicks– vocals
  • Christine McVie– keyboards, vocals
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums, percussion, harpsichord
  • Desmond Strobel – design
  • Larry Vigon – calligraphy
  • Herbert W. Worthington– photography

Track listing:

  1. Second hand News – Lindsey Buckingham
  2. Dreams – Stevie Nicks
  3. Never Going Back Again – Lindsey Buckingham
  4. Second Hand News – Lindsey Buckingham
  5. Dreams – Stevie Nicks
  6. Never Going Back Again – Lindsey Buckingham
  7. Don’t Stop – Christine McVie
  8. Go Your Own Way – Lindsey Buckingham
  9. Songbird – Christine McVie
  10. The Chain – Lindsey Buckingham, Mick Fleetwood, Christine McVie, John McVie and Stevie Nicks
  11. You Make Loving Fun – Christine McVie
  12. I Don’t Want to Know – Stevie Nicks
  13. Oh Daddy – Christine McVie
  14. Gold Dust Woman – Stevie Nicks