Tag Archives: worldwide

In March 1964.

In March 1964, “Verve” label released “Getz/Gilberto”,album by Stan Getz and João Gilberto.It was recorded in March 1963, at “A&R Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Creed Taylor. The artwork was by artist Olga Albizu. In 1965, “Getz/Gilberto” received “Grammy Awards” for “Best Jazz Instrumental Album”, “Individual or Group and Best Engineered Recording – Non-Classical;” and “Album of the Year”. It is considered to be the album that popularized bossa nova worldwide. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 447 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Stan Getz– tenor saxophone
  • João Gilberto– vocals, guitar
  • Antônio Carlos Jobim– piano
  • Astrud Gilberto – vocals
  • Sebastião Neto – double bass
  • Milton Banana– drums, pandeiro

Track listing:

  1. The Girl from Ipanema – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Norman Gimbel
  2. Doralice – Antônio Almeida, Dorival Caymmi
  3. Para Machucar Meu Coração – Ary Barroso
  4. Desafinado – Antonio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça
  5. Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars) – Antônio Carlos Jobim
  6. Só Danço Samba – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes
  7. O Grande Amor – Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes
  8. Vivo Sonhando – Antônio Carlos Jobim



On January 6, 2006.

On December 6, 2006, Louis Allen Rawls died aged 92. He was singer, actor, voice actor, songwriter, and music producer, known for his singing ability, winner of three “Grammy Awards”, all for “Best Male R&B Vocal Performance”. He released more than 60 albums, and sold more than 40 million records worldwide.

On March 8, 1994.


On March 8, 1994, “A&M” label released “Superunknown”, the fourth Soundgarden album. It was recorded July – September 1993, at “Bad Animals Studio” in Seattle, and was produced by Michael Beinhorn, Chris Cornell, Kim Thayll, Ben Shepherd and Matt Cameron. The album was a critical and commercial success and became the band’s breakthrough album. In the United States “Superunknown” has been certified 5 x Platinum in US by the “RIAA”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 336 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time” and at number 38 on magazine’s list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the Nineties”. Magazine “Kerrang” listed “Superunknown” in its list of “100 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die”.


  • Chris Cornell– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Kim Thayil– lead guitar
  • Ben Shepherd– bass guitar, drums and percussion, backing vocals, lead vocals, guitar
  • Matt Cameron– drums, percussion, mellotron, pots and pans
  • April Acevez –viola
  • Artis the Spoonman – spoons
  • Michael Beinhorn– piano
  • Fred Chalenor– harmonic guidance
  • Justine Foy –cello
  • Kelk – front cover design
  • Gregg Keplinger– drums, percussion
  • Reyzart –layout
  • Natasha Shneider– clavinet
  • Kevin Westenberg –band photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Chris Cornell, except where noted.

  1. Let Me Drown
  2. My Wave
  3. Fell on Black Days
  4. Mailman
  5. Superunknown
  6. Head Down
  7. Black Hole Sun
  8. Spoonman
  9. Limo Wreck
  10. The Day I Tried To Live
  11. Kickstand
  12. Fresh Tendrils
  13. 4th of July
  14. Half
  15. Like Suicide

On September 24, 1991.

Nirvana Nevermind

On September 24, 1991, “DGC” label released “Nevermind” the second Nirvana studio album.  It was recorded in 1991, at “Sound City Studios”, in Van Nuys, and “Smart Studios”,in Madison, and was produced by Butch Vig. This was the first album to feature drummer Dave Grohl. The album feature compositions “Smells Like Teen Spirit”, “Come as You Are”, “Lithium”, and “In Bloom”. “The album was certified Diamond in the US by the “RIIA”. “Nevermind” has sold over 30 million copies worldwide. By January 1992, it had replaced Michael Jackson’s album “Dangerous” at number one on the “Billboard 200” chart.


  • Kurt Cobain– lead and backing vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Krist Novoselic– bass, voice
  • Dave Grohl– drums, backing vocals
  • Chad Channing– cymbals, drums
  • Kirk Canning – cello

All compositions by Kurt Cobain, except where noted.

  1. Smells Like Teen Spirit – Kurt Cobain, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic
  2. In Bloom
  3. Come as You Are
  4. Breed
  5. Lithium
  6. Polly
  7. Territorial Pissings – Kurt Cobain, Chet Powers
  8. Drain You
  9. Lounge Act
  10. Stay Away
  11. On a Plain
  12. Something in the Way