Tag Archives: Bill Connors

On July 22, 1979.

On July 22, 1979. “ECM” label released “Photo with Blue Sky, White Cloud, Wires, Windows and a Red Roof”, the eleventh Jan Garbarek album. It was recorded in December 1978, at “Talent Studio” in Oslo, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Jan Garbarek – soprano and tenor saxophone
  • John Taylor – piano
  • Bill Connors – guitar
  • Eberhard Weber – bass
  • Jon Christensen – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Jan Garbarek.

  1. Blue Sky
  2. White Cloud
  3. Windows
  4. Red Roof
  5. Wires
  6. The Picture

On March 26, 1980.

On March 25, 1980, “ECM” label released “Swimming with a Hole in My Body” the fifth Bill Connors album. It was recorded in August 1979, at “Talent Studio” in Oslo, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Bill Connors – acoustic guitar
  • Jan Erik Kongshaug – engineer
  • Barbara Wojirsch – design
  • Dieter Rehm – design
  • Isio Saba – photography
  • Joel Meyerowitz – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Bill Connors

  1. Feet First
  2. Wade
  3. Sing and Swim
  4. Frog Stroke
  5. Surrender to the Water
  6. Survive
  7. With Strings Attached
  8. Breath

In December 1974.

In December 1974, “Nemperor” and “Atlantic” labels released the self-titled, second Stanley Clarke studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Stanley Clarke.


  • Stanley Clarke – vocals, bass guitar, double bass, guitar, piano
  • Jan Hammer– keyboards
  • Bill Connors– guitar
  • Tony Williams– drums
  • Airto Moreira– percussion
  • David Taylor – trombone, brasses
  • Jon Faddis, James Buffington, Lew Soloff, Garnett Brown, Peter Gordon – brasses
  • David Nadien, Charles McCracken, Jesse Levy, Carol Buck, Beverly Lauridsen, Harry Cykman, Harold Kohon, Paul Gershman, Harry Lookofsky, Emanuel Green – string section
  • Michael Gibbs– string and brass arrangement
  • Ken Scott– engineer
  • Brian Gardner– mastering engineer
  • Dave Whitman – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Stanley Clarke; except where noted.

  1. Vulcan Princess
  2. Yesterday Princess – Stanley Clarke, Carolyn Clarke
  3. Lopsy Lu
  4. Power
  5. Spanish Phases for Strings & Bass – Michael Gibbs
  6. Life Suite
  • Part I
  • Part II
  • Part III
  • Part IV

On January 3, 2016.


On January 3, 2016, Hyman Paul Bley died aged 83. He was musician   (piano) and composer, one of the most important figures of the free jazz movement of the 60s and for his innovations and influence on trio playing. He has recorded and performed with many famous musicians, including: Charles Mingus, Art Blakey, Percy Heath, Al Levitt, Dave Pike, Charlie Haden, Lennie McBrowne, Ornette Coleman, Don Cherry, Charlie Haden, Billy Higgins, Steve Swallow, Pete LaRoca, Dewey Johnson,  Marshall Allen, Eddie Gómez, Milford Graves, Kent Carter, Barry Altschul, Mark Levinson, Paul Motian, Billy Elgart, John Gilmore, Annette Peacock, Dick Youngstein, Glen Moore, Frank Tusa, Steve Hass, Bobby Moses, Han Bennink, Dave Holland, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Pat Metheny, Jaco Pastorius, Bruce Ditmas, Jimmy Giuffre, Bill Connors, Lee Konitz, George Cross McDonald, Chet Baker, John Scofield, Jesper Lundgaard, Aage Tanggaard, John Surman, Bill Frisell, Ron McClure, John Abercrombie, Red Mitchell, Michal Urbaniak, Bob Cranshaw,  Keith Copeland, Hans Koch, Franz Koglmann, Tiziana Ghiglioni, Tony Oxley, Jane Bunnett, Herbie Spanier, Geordie McDonald, Evan Parker, Barre Phillips, Furio Di Castri, David Eyges, Bruce Ditmas, Sonny Greenwich, Rich Perry, Jay Anderson, Victor Lewis, Masahiko Togashi, Jakob Bro, Don Ellis, Sonny Rollins and Andreas Willers.