Tag Archives: John Gilmore

On August 14, 1978.

On August 14, 1978, “Philly Jazz” label released “Lanquidity”, the 49th Sun Ra studio album. It was recorded on July 17, 1978, at “Blank tapes Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Sun Ra.


  • Sun Ra – vocals, organ, synthesizer, piano, keyboards, Hammond organ, electric piano, bells, Arp, Fender Rhodes, orchestra bells, Mini Moog, arranger
  • John Gilmore –  tenor saxophone
  • Danny Ray Thompson – flute, baritone saxophone
  • Eddie Gale – trumpet
  • Michael Ray – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Marshall Allen – flute, oboe, alto saxophone
  • Luqman Ali – percussion
  • Michael Anderson – percussion
  • Artaukatune – drums, tympani
  • Disco Kid ( Slo Johnson ) – guitar
  • Dale Williams – guitar
  • Atakatun Odun –  congas
  • Elo Omoe – Flute, bass clarinet
  • Julian Pressley – baritone saxophone
  • James Jacson – oboe, basson, flute, voices
  • June Tyson -voices

Track listing:

All tracks by Sun Ra.

  1. Lanquidity
  2. Where Pathways Meet
  3. That’s How I Feel
  4. Twin Stars of Thence
  5. There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of)


On April 7, 2017.

On April 7, 2017, “Modern Harmonic” label released “Thunder of the Gods”, album by Sun Ra and His Arkestra, featuring unreleased live and studio tracks. It was recorded 1966 – 1971, at “Slug’s Saloon” in New York City.


  • Sun Ra– Moog, Intergalactic space organ, Lightening drum, strings
  • Marshall Allen– alto saxophone, oboe, piccolo flute, strings
  • Ronnie Boykins– bass, viola, dutar
  • Robert Cummings – strings
  • Danny Davis – alto saxophone, clarinet, strings
  • Akh Tal Ebar, Kwami Hadi – trumpet
  • John Gilmore– tenor saxophone, strings
  • Ali Hassan – trombone, strings
  • Lex Humphries– drums
  • James Jacson – oboe, flute, log drums, strings
  • Clifford Jarvis– percussion
  • Art Jenkins, Carl Nimrod – strings
  • Eloe Omoe – bass clarinet, strings
  • Pat Patrick– baritone saxophone, strings
  • Danny Ray Thompson – baritone saxophone, flute
  • Charles Stevens – trombone
  • June Tyson– vocals
  • Alzo Wright – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Sun Ra

  1. Calling Planet Earth – We’ll Wait for You
  2. Moonshots Across the Sky
  3. Thunder of the Gods

On January 3, 2016.


On January 3, 2016, Hyman Paul Bley died aged 83. He was pianist best known as one of the most important figures of the free jazz movement of the 60s and for his innovations and influence on trio playing. He has recorded and performed with many famous musicians, including: Charles Mingus, Art Blakey, Percy Heath, Al Levitt, Dave Pike, Charlie Haden, Lennie McBrowne, Ornette Coleman, Don Cherry, Charlie Haden, Billy Higgins, Steve Swallow, Pete LaRoca, Dewey Johnson,  Marshall Allen, Eddie Gómez, Milford Graves, Kent Carter, Barry Altschul, Mark Levinson, Paul Motian, Billy Elgart, John Gilmore, Annette Peacock, Dick Youngstein, Glen Moore, Frank Tusa, Steve Hass, Bobby Moses, Han Bennink, Dave Holland, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Pat Metheny, Jaco Pastorius, Bruce Ditmas, Jimmy Giuffre, Bill Connors, Lee Konitz, George Cross McDonald, Chet Baker, John Scofield, Jesper Lundgaard, Aage Tanggaard, John Surman, Bill Frisell, Ron McClure, John Abercrombie, Red Mitchell, Michal Urbaniak, Bob Cranshaw,  Keith Copeland, Hans Koch, Franz Koglmann, Tiziana Ghiglioni, Tony Oxley, Jane Bunnett, Herbie Spanier, Geordie McDonald, Evan Parker, Barre Phillips, Furio Di Castri, David Eyges, Bruce Ditmas, Sonny Greenwich, Rich Perry, Jay Anderson, Victor Lewis, Masahiko Togashi, Jakob Bro, Don Ellis, Sonny Rollins and Andreas Willers.