Tag Archives: Bernard Miller

On September 15, 2017.

On September 15, 2017, “Okeh” label released “Memphis… Yes, I’m Ready”, the 19th Dee Dee Bridgewater album. It was recorded in September 2016, at “Royal Studios” in  Memphis, TN, and was produced by Dee Dee Bridgewater, Tulani Bridgewater Kowalski, Kirk Whalum and Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell.


  • Dee Dee Bridgewater – vocals, linear notes
  • Kirk Whalum– tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Lannie McMillan, Kirk Smothers – tenor saxophone
  • Marc Franklin – trumpet
  • Kameron Whalum – trombone
  • John Stoddart– keyboards, vocal arrangements
  • Charles Hodges– Hammond organ
  • Garry Goin – guitar
  • Jackie Clark – bass
  • James Sexton – drums
  • Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell– cymbals, electric bongos, tambourine
  • Sharisse Norman, Candise Rayborn-Marshall, Kevin Whalum – background vocals
  • Stax Music Academy– background vocals
  • John Stoddart – associate producer
  • Ted Jensen– engineer
  • Tulani Bridgewater Kowalski – art direction, cover art, photography
  • Thomas Brodin – design

Track listing:

  1. Yes, I’m Ready – Barbara Mason
  2. Giving Up – Van McCoy
  3. I Can’t Get Next to You – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  4. Going Down Slow – Louis Jimmy Oden
  5. Why (Am I Treated So Bad) – Roebuck Staples
  6. B-A-B-Y – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  7. The Thrill Is Gone – Rick Ravon Darnell, Roy Hawkins
  8. The Sweeter He Is – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  9. I Can’t Stand the Rain – Donald Maurice Bryant, Bernard Miller, Ann Peebles
  10. Don’t Be Cruel – Otis Blackwell, Elvis Presley
  11. Hound Dog – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  12. Try a Little Tenderness – James Campbell, Reginald Connelly, Harry Woods
  13. Take My Hand, Precious Lord – Thomas A. Dorsey, Sobie Frank Frazier, Jeff Majors

On February 4, 2014.

On February 4, 2014, “429 Records” label released “The Royal Sessions”, the twelve Paul Rodgers solo album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Royal Studios” in Memphis, and was produced by Perry A. Margouleff.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals
  • Michael Toles– guitar
  • Leroy Hodges– bass
  • Michael Barar– viola
  • Roy Brewer – violin
  • Marc Franklin– trumpet
  • Charles Hodges– Hammond B3
  • Wesley Hovanec– assistant engineer, electric bongos, videography
  • Jonathan Kirkscey– cello
  • Beth Luscombe– viola
  • Perry Margouleff– guitar, mixing
  • Lannie McMillan– tenor saxophone
  • Susanna Perry-Gilmore, Jessie Munson– violin
  • Royal horns– horn
  • Lester Snell– piano
  • Gary Topper– tenor saxophone
  • Archie Turner– Wurlitzer
  • Mark Wallace – cello
  • The Royal Singers– strings
  • James L. Spake– baritone sax
  • James Robertson, Steve Potts, Daniel Bean– assistant engineer
  • Ryan Smith– mastering
  • William Wittman– engineer, mixing

Track listing:

  1. I Thank You – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  2. Down Don’t Bother Me – Albert King
  3. I Can’t Stand the Rain – Don Bryant, Bernard Miller, Ann Peebles
  4. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) – Jerry Butler, Otis Redding
  5. That’s How Strong My Love Is – Roosevelt Jamison
  6. Walk On By – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  7. Any Ole Way – Steve Cropper, Otis Redding
  8. It’s Growing – Warren Moore, Smokey Robinson
  9. Born Under a Bad Sign – William Bell, Booker T. Jones
  10. I’ve Got Dreams to Remember – Otis Redding

In February 1974.


In February 1974, “A&M” label released “Thunderbox”, the seventh Humble Pie album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Olics Sound”, and was produced by Steve Marriott.


  • Steve Marriott- guitar, harmonica, keyboards, vocals
  • Greg Ridley- bass, vocals
  • Jerry Shirley- drums, piano, backing vocals
  • Dave “Clem” Clempson- guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Mel Collins– horns
  • The Blackberries :
    • Carlena Williams –vocals
    • Venetta Fields– vocals
    • Billie Barnum – vocals
  • Hipgnosis- album sleeve design
  • Editing : Alan O’Duffy

Track listing:

  1. Thunderbox – Steve Marriott, Dave “Clem” Clempson
  2. Groovin’ with Jesus – Gene Barge, Bennie Swartz
  3. I Can’t Stand the Rain – Ann Peebles, Don Bryant, Bernard Miller
  4. Anna (Go to Him) – Arthur Alexander
  5. No Way – Steve Marriott, Greg Ridley
  6. Rally with Ali – Steve Marriott, Dave “Clem” Clempson, Greg Ridley, Jerry Shirley
  7. Don’t Worry, be Happy – Steve Marriott, Dave “Clem” Clempson, Greg Ridley, Jerry Shirley
  8. Ninety-Nine Pounds – Don Bryant
  9. Every Single Day – Dave “Clem” Clempson
  10. No Money Down – Chuck Berry
  11. Drift Away – Mentor Williams
  12. Oh La-De-Da – Phillip Mitchell


On November 22, 1968.

The White Album

On November 22, 1968, “Apple” label released the self titled, ninth Beatles studio album, known as the “White Album”.  It was recorded May – October 1968, at the “EMI Studios” and “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by George Martin. In 2003, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked it at number 10 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • John Lennon– lead, harmony and background vocals, acoustic, lead, rhythm  and bass guitars; piano, Hammond organ, harmonium, Mellotron , harmonica,  tenor saxophone,  extra drums and assorted percussion, tapes, tape loops, sound effects
  • Paul McCartney– lead, harmony and background vocals, acoustic, lead, rhythm and bass guitars, acoustic and electric pianos, Hammond organ, assorted percussion,  tambourine, cowbell, hand shake bell, handclaps, foot taps, vocal percussion, drums, recorder, flugelhorn
  • George Harrison– lead, harmony and background vocals, lead, rhythm, acoustic and bass guitars, Hammond organ, extra drums and assorted percussion and sound effects
  • Ringo Starr– drums and assorted percussion, piano , sleigh bell, lead and backing vocals
  • Eric Clapton– lead guitar
  • Mal Evans– backing vocals, handclaps, trumpet
  • Jack Fallon– violin
  • Pattie Harrison– backing vocals
  • Jackie Lomax– backing vocals, handclaps
  • Maureen Starkey– backing vocals
  • Yoko Ono– lead and backing vocals, speech, tapes, sound effects
  • Ted Barker – trombone
  • Leon Calvert – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Henry Datyner, Eric Bowie, Norman Lederman, Ronald Thomas, Bernard Miller, Dennis McConnell, Lou Soufier, Les Maddox – violin
  • Reginald Kilby, Eldon Fox – cello
  • Frederick Alexander – cello
  • Harry Klein, Dennis Walton, Ronald Chamberlain, Jim Chest, Rex Morris – saxophone
  • Raymond Newman, David Smith – clarinet
  • Art Ellefson, Danny Mossand,  Derek Collins – tenor sax
  • Ronnie Rossand Bernard George – baritone sax
  • Alf Reece – tuba
  • The Mike Sammes Singers– backing vocals
  • Stanley Reynolds, Ronnie Hughes – trumpet
  • Chris Shepard – stumpf fiddle
  • Tony Tunstall – French horn
  • John Underwood and Keith Cummings, Leo Birnbaum, Henry Myerscough– viola
  • Richard Hamilton – design

Track listing

All tracks by John Lennon and Paul McCartney, except where noted.

  1. Back in the U.S.S,R
  2. Dear Prudence
  3. Glass Onion
  4. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  5. Wild Honey Pie
  6. The Continuing Story of Bungallow Bill
  7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps – George Harrison
  8. Happiness Is a Warm Gun
  9. Martha My Dear
  10. I’m So Tired
  11. Blackbird
  12. Piggies – George Harrison
  13. Rocky Raccoon
  14. Don’t Pass Me By – Richard Starkey
  15. Why Don’t We Do it in the Road
  16. I Will
  17. Julia
  18. Birthday
  19. Yer Blues
  20. Mother’s Nature Son
  21. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide Except Me and My Monkey
  22. Sexy Sadie
  23. Helter Skelter
  24. Long, Long, Long – George Harrison
  25. Revolution 1
  26. Honey Pie
  27. Savoy Truffle – George Harrison
  28. Cry Baby Cry
  29. Revolution 9
  30. Good Night