Tag Archives: Donald Kinsey

In June 1986.

In June 1986, “Alligator” label released “Dancing on the Edge”, the eleventh Roy Buchanan album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Streeterville Studios” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Roy Buchanan, Dick Shurman, and Bruce Iglauer.


  • Roy Buchanan – vocals, guitar
  • Larry Exum – bass guitar
  • Morris Jennings– drums
  • Stan Szelest– keyboards
  • Donald Kinsey– guitar
  • Delbert McClinton– vocals
  • Justin Niebank – mixing
  • Tom Coyne – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks Roy Buchanan; except where noted.

  1. Peter Gunn – Henry Mancini
  2. The Chokin’ Kind – Harlan Howard
  3. Jungle Gym
  4. Drowning on Dry Land — Mickey Gregory, Alan Jones
  5. Petal to the Metal
  6. You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover – Willie Dixon
  7. Cream of the Crop
  8. Beer Drinking Woman – Peter Chatman
  9. Whiplash
  10. Baby, Baby, Baby – Aretha Franklin, Carolyn Franklin
  11. Matthew

In June 1974.

In June 1974, “Stax” label released “I Wanna Get Funky”, the eighth Albert King studio album. It was recorded in 1972 and was produced by Henry Bush and Allen Jines.


  • Albert King– vocals, electric guitar
  • Donald Kanzie (Donald Kinsey)– rhythm guitar
  • Memphis Symphony Orchestra– strings
  • The Memphis Horns– horns
  • The Bar-Kays& The Movement – rhythm section
  • Hot Buttered Soul, Henry Bush – background vocal

Track listing:

  1. I Wanna Get Funky – Clifton William Smith
  2. Playing on Me – Sir Mack Rice
  3. Walking the Back Streets and Crying – Sandy Jones
  4. ‘Til My Back Ain’t Got No Bone – Eddie Floyd, Alvertis Isbell
  5. Flat Tire – Henry Bush, Booker T. Jones, Albert King
  6. I Can’t Hear Nothing But the Blues – Henry Bush, Dave Clark
  7. Travelin’ Man – Albert King
  8. Crosscut Saw – R.G. Ford
  9. That’s What the Blues Is All About – Bobby Patterson, Jerry Strickland

In May 1983.

In May 1983, “EMI” label released “Mama Africa”, the sixth Peter Tosh studio album. It was recorded in 1983, and was produced by Chris Kimsey and Peter Tosh.


  • Peter Tosh – clavinet
  • Audrey Hall, Betty Wright, Chris Kimsey, Donald Kinsey, Dorriett Myers, Pam Hall, Peter Tosh, Raymond Hall, The Tamlins – backing vocals
  • Leebert “Gibby” Morrison, George “Fully” Fullwood, Robbie Shakespeare – bass
  • Carlton “Santa” Davis, Sly Dunbar – drums
  • Mikey Chung, Steve Golding – rhythm guitar
  • Darryl Thompson, Donald Kinsey – lead guitar
  • Byron Allred, Peter Couch – keyboards
  • Robert Lynn – organ
  • Skully, Uziah “Sticky” Thompson – percussion
  • Keith Sterling – piano
  • Dean Fraser – saxophone
  • Ronald “Nambo” Robinson – trombone
  • Arnold Breckenridge, David Madden, Junior “Chico” Chin – trumpet
  • Jon Paris – harmonica
  • Geoffrey Chung, Lancelot “Maxie” McKenzie – engineer
  • Mixed by – Chris Kimsey, Peter Tosh; John “Jellybean” Benitez

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Tosh; except where noted.

  1. Mama Africa
  2. Glass House
  3. Not Gonna Give It Up
  4. Stop That Train
  5. Johnny B. Goode – Chuck Berry
  6. Where You Gonna Run – Donald Kinsey
  7. Peace Treaty
  8. Feel No Way
  9. Maga Dog