Tag Archives: December 21

On December 21, 2010.

On December 21, 2010, “All You Need Is Now”, the 13th Duran Duran studio album was released digitally, and the physical package was released on 21 March 2011 in Europe on the “Tape Modern” label. It was recorded February – August 2010, at “Sphere Studios” in London, and was produced by Mark Ronson, Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor and Nick Rhodes.


  • Simon Le Bon– lead vocals
  • John Taylor– bass, backing vocals
  • Roger Taylor– drums
  • Nick Rhodes– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Dominic Brown– guitars, backing vocals
  • Simon Willescroft – saxophone
  • Nina Hossain– vocals, spoken words
  • Anna Ross – backing vocals
  • Jamie Walton – cello
  • Mark Ronson– additional chorus guitar
  • Ana Matronic– vocals, rap
  • Tawiah – backing vocals
  • Kelis– vocals
  • Owen Pallett– string arrangements, conductor
  • The St. Kitts String Octet – strings
  • Mark ‘Spike’ Stent – mixing
  • Matty Green – mixing assistant
  • Ted Jensen – mastering

Track listing (digital release):

  1. All You Need is Now – Mark Ronson, Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes, Dom Brown
  2. Blame the Machines – Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes, Dom Brown
  3. Being Followed – Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes, Dom Brown
  4. Leave a Light On – Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes, Dom Brown
  5. Safe (In the Heat of the Moment) – Mark Ronson, Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes, Dom Brown, Ana Matronic
  6. Get Panic! – Mark Ronson, Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes, Dom Brown
  7. The Man Who Stole a Leopard – Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes
  8. Runaway Runaway – Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes, Dom Brown
  9. Before the Rain – Simon Le Bon, John Taylor, Roger Taylor, Nick Rhodes


On December 21, 1964.

On December 21, 1964, “Atlantic” label released “Autobiography”, the ninth Nat Adderley album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by Net Adderley.


  • Nat Adderley – cornet
  • Ernie Royal– trumpet
  • Benny Powell- trombone
  • Don Butterfield– tuba
  • Seldon Powell- tenor saxophone, flute,
  • Josef Zawinul- piano
  • Sam Jones– bass
  • Grady Tate– drums
  • Willie Bobo– percussion
  • Victor Pantoja – congas

Track listing:

All tracks by Nat Adderley, except where noted.

  1. Sermonette – Nat Adderley, Jon Hendricks
  2. Work Song – Nat Adderley, Oscar Brown
  3. The Old Country – Nat Adderley, Curtis Lewis
  4. Junkanoo
  5. Stony Island Little Boy with the Sad Eyes
  6. Never Say Yes
  7. Jive Samba


On December 21, 1995.

On December 21, 1995, “Verve” label released “The Promise”, the eleventh John McLaughlin album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by John McLaughlin and Eddie Kramer.


  • John McLaughlin – acoustic, electric and MIDI guitar, keyboards,assistant engineer, mixing
  • Don Alias– percussion
  • Jim Beard– keyboards
  • Dennis Chambers– drums
  • Vinnie Colaiuta– drums
  • James Genus– bass guitar
  • Zakir Hussain– tabla
  • Nishat Khan– sitar, vocals
  • Yan Maresz – arranger, acoustic bass guitar, bass guitar
  • Mark Mondesir – drums
  • Pino Palladino– bass
  • Mariko Takahashi– vocals
  • Jeff Beck– electric guitar
  • Michael Brecker– tenor sax
  • Joey DeFrancesco– Hammond organ, trumpet
  • Al Di Meola– acoustic guitar
  • Trilok Gurtu– percussion
  • Tony Hymas– keyboards
  • Paco de Lucía– acoustic guitar
  • David Sanborn– alto sax
  • Sting– bass
  • Jean-Philippe Allard – executive producer
  • Christian Pégand – production coordination
  • René Ameline, Gustav Hobel, Ken Jones, Eddie Kramer, Maurice Ouazana, Rd Rak – engineer
  • Philippe Arnal, Adam Blackburn, Steve Cook, Simon Osborne – assistant engineer
  • Max Costa – arranger, engineer, mixing
  • Sven Hoffman – assistant engineer
  • Alberto Mayer – cover design
  • Christian Rose – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John McLaughlin, except where noted.

  1. Django – John Lewis
  2. Thelonius Melodius
  3. Amy and Joseph
  4. No Return
  5. El Ciego
  6. Jazz Jungle
  7. The Wish
  8. English Jam – Vinnie Colaiuta, John McLaughlin, Sting
  9. Tokyo Decadence
  10. Shin Jin Rui
  11. The Peacocks – Jimmy Rowles


On December 21, 1992.

On December 21, 1992, Albert Nelson aka Albert King died aged 69. He was musician (guitar, drums) and singer, one of the most influential blues guitarists, one of the “Three Kings of the Blues Guitar” (along with B.B. King and Freddie King). Because of his smooth singing and his large size, he was given the nick name “The Velvet Bulldozer”. In 2013, he was posthumously inducted in the “Rock and Roll of Fame”. King has recorded sixteen studio albums.

On December 21, 1984.


On December 21, 1984, “Barking Pumpkin Records” label released “Thing-Fish”,  triple album box set by Frank Zappa. It was recorded 1976, 1980 -1983, and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa – book, arrangements
  • Ike Willis— Thing-Fish
  • Terry Bozzio— Harry
  • Dale Bozzio— Rhonda
  • Napoleon Murphy Brock— The Evil Prince
  • Bob Harris — Harry-As-A-Boy
  • Johnny “Guitar” Watson— Brown Moses
  • Ray White— Owl-Gonkwin-Jane Cowhoon
  • Mark Pinske, Bob Stone – recording engineers
  • Mark Pinske – engineering mixer
  • Ladi Von Jansky – cover photo

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa.

  1. Prologue
  2. The Mammy Nuns
  3. Harry & Rhonda
  4. Galoot Up-Date
  5. The ‘Torchum’ Never Stops
  6. That Evil Prince
  7. You Are What You Is
  8. Mudd Club
  9. The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing
  10. Clowns on Velvet
  11. Harry-As-a-Boy
  12. He’s So Gay
  13. The Massive Improve’lence
  14. Artificial Rhonda
  15. The Crab-Grass Baby
  16. The White Boy Troubles
  17. No Not Now
  18. Briefcase Boogie
  19. Brown Moses
  20. Wistful Wit a Fist-Full
  21. Drop Dead
  22. Won Ton On