In June 1974.

In June 1974, “Stax” label released “I Wanna Get Funky”, the eighth Albert King studio album. It was recorded in 1972 and was produced by Henry Bush and Allen Jines.


  • Albert King– vocals, electric guitar
  • Donald Kanzie (Donald Kinsey)– rhythm guitar
  • Memphis Symphony Orchestra– strings
  • The Memphis Horns– horns
  • The Bar-Kays& The Movement – rhythm section
  • Hot Buttered Soul, Henry Bush – background vocal

Track listing:

  1. I Wanna Get Funky – Clifton William Smith
  2. Playing on Me – Sir Mack Rice
  3. Walking the Back Streets and Crying – Sandy Jones
  4. ‘Til My Back Ain’t Got No Bone – Eddie Floyd, Alvertis Isbell
  5. Flat Tire – Henry Bush, Booker T. Jones, Albert King
  6. I Can’t Hear Nothing But the Blues – Henry Bush, Dave Clark
  7. Travelin’ Man – Albert King
  8. Crosscut Saw – R.G. Ford
  9. That’s What the Blues Is All About – Bobby Patterson, Jerry Strickland

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.