Tag Archives: Michael Toles

On February 4, 2014.

On February 4, 2014, “429 Records” label released “The Royal Sessions”, the twelve Paul Rodgers solo album. It was recorded in 2013, at “Royal Studios” in Memphis, and was produced by Perry A. Margouleff.


  • Paul Rodgers– vocals
  • Michael Toles– guitar
  • Leroy Hodges– bass
  • Michael Barar– viola
  • Roy Brewer – violin
  • Marc Franklin– trumpet
  • Charles Hodges– Hammond B3
  • Wesley Hovanec– assistant engineer, electric bongos, videography
  • Jonathan Kirkscey– cello
  • Beth Luscombe– viola
  • Perry Margouleff– guitar, mixing
  • Lannie McMillan– tenor saxophone
  • Susanna Perry-Gilmore, Jessie Munson– violin
  • Royal horns– horn
  • Lester Snell– piano
  • Gary Topper– tenor saxophone
  • Archie Turner– Wurlitzer
  • Mark Wallace – cello
  • The Royal Singers– strings
  • James L. Spake– baritone sax
  • James Robertson, Steve Potts, Daniel Bean– assistant engineer
  • Ryan Smith– mastering
  • William Wittman– engineer, mixing

Track listing:

  1. I Thank You – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  2. Down Don’t Bother Me – Albert King
  3. I Can’t Stand the Rain – Don Bryant, Bernard Miller, Ann Peebles
  4. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) – Jerry Butler, Otis Redding
  5. That’s How Strong My Love Is – Roosevelt Jamison
  6. Walk On By – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  7. Any Ole Way – Steve Cropper, Otis Redding
  8. It’s Growing – Warren Moore, Smokey Robinson
  9. Born Under a Bad Sign – William Bell, Booker T. Jones
  10. I’ve Got Dreams to Remember – Otis Redding

On September 23, 1969.


On September 23, 1969, “Enterprise” label releases Isaac Hayes second studio album “Hot Buttered Soul”. The album was recorded in June–July 1969 at the “Ardent Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and at the “Tera Shirma Studios”, in Detroit, Michigan, and was produced by Al Bell, Marvell Thomas and Allen Jones.


  • Isaac Hayes– vocals, keyboards
  • Marvell Thomas– keyboards
  • The Bar-Kays– Willie Hall, drums; James Alexander, bass; Michael Toles, guitar

Track listing:

  1. Walk On By – Burt Bacharach and Hal David
  2. Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic – Isaac Hayes and Alvertis Isbell
  3. One Woman – Charles Chalmers and Sandra Rhodes
  4. By the Time I Get to Phoenix – Jimmy Webb