Tag Archives: The Velvet Underground

On September 6, 1978.

On September 6, 1978, Thomas Blanchard “Tom” Wilson Jr. died aged 47. He was producer best known for his work with Bob Dylan, The Mothers of Invention, The Fraternity of Man, Simon and Garfunkel, the Velvet Underground, Cecil Taylor, Sun Ra, Eddie Harris, Nico, Eric Burdon & the Animals, the Blues Project, the Clancy Brothers & Tommy Makem and Soft Machine.


In March 1969.


In March 1969, “MGM” label released the third, self-titled Velvet Underground album. It was recorded November – December 1968, at “T.T.G. Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lou Reed, Doug Yule, Sterling Morrison and Maureen Tucker. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 314 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Lou Reed– lead and rhythm guitar, piano, lead and co-vocals
  • Doug Yule– bass guitar, organ, lead vocals on “Candy Says”, chorus co-vocals, backing vocals
  • Sterling Morrison– rhythm and lead guitar, verse co-vocals, backing vocals
  • Maureen Tucker– percussion, lead vocals, chorus co-vocals, backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed.

  1. .Candy Says
  2. What Goes On
  3. Some Kinda Love
  4. Pale Blue Eyes
  5. Jesus
  6. Beginning to See the Light
  7. I’m Set Free
  8. That’s the Story of My Life
  9. The Murder Mystery
  10. After Hours

In February 1985.


In February 1985, “Verve” label released “VU”, an  outtakes  compilation album  by The Velvet Underground. It was recorded 1968 – 1969 in New York City, and was produced by John Cale, Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed and Maureen Tucker. The album is selection from the 1969 tracks and two previously unreleased John Cale-era songs—”Temptation Inside Your Heart” and “Stephanie Says”.


  • John Cale– viola, celesta and backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Sterling Morrison– guitar, backing vocals
  • Lou Reed– vocals, guitar
  • Maureen Tucker– percussion, lead vocals
  • Doug Yule– bass guitar, keyboards, lead and backing vocals, piano, lead guitar
  • Gary Kellgren– engineer
  • Bill Levenson – executive producer
  • C. Convertino – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed except where noted.

  1. I Can’t Stand It
  2. Stephanie Says
  3. She’s My Best Friend
  4. Lisa Says
  5. Ocean
  6. Foggy Notion – Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison, Doug Yule, Maureen Tucker, Hy Weiss
  7. Temptation Inside Your Heart
  8. One of These Days
  9. Andy’s Chest
  10. I’m Sticking With You

On November 15, 1970.


On November 15, 1970, “Atlantic” label released “Loaded”, the fourth Velvet Underground studio album. It was recorded April–August 1970, at “Atlantic Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Geoff Haslam, Shel Kagan and The Velvet Underground. In 2012,  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Loaded” at number 110 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of all Time”.


  • Lou Reed– vocals lead guitar, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Doug Yule– bass, piano, keyboards, lead guitar, fuzz bass, drums, percussion, lead and backing vocals
  • Sterling Morrison– lead guitar, rhythm guitar, possible backing vocals
  • Maureen Tucker– drums, vocals
  • Adrian Barber– drums
  • Tommy Castagnaro – drums
  • Billy Yule– drums
  • Adrian Barber – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed except where noted.

  1. Who Loves the Sun – Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  2. Sweet Jane
  3. Rock & Roll – Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  4. Cool It Down – Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  5. New Age
  6. Head Held High
  7. Lonesome Cowboy Bill – Sterling Morrison, Lou Reed, Doug Yule
  8. I Found a Reason
  9. Train Round the Bend
  10. Oh! Sweet Nuthin – Lou Reed, Doug Yule

The Velvet Underground: The Complete Matrix Tapes

The Complete Matrix Tapes

In November and December 1969, The Velvet Underground were playing in two San Francisco venues: the “Family Dog” and the “Matrix”. During the18 night performances, most of the gigs were recorded on a four-track recorder.

The recordings from those shows are used for “The Complete Matrix Tapes”, the four-disc box set containing 42 recordings, including 9 previously unreleased tracks.

Track listing:

Disc One

01 I’m Waiting For The Man (Version 1)
02 What Goes On (Version 1)
03 Some Kinda Love (Version 1)
04 Heroin (Version 1)
05 The Black Angel’s Death Song
06 Venus In Furs (Version 1)
07 There She Goes Again (Version 1)
08 We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together (Version 1)
09 Over You (Version 1)
10 Sweet Jane (Version 1)
11 Pale Blue Eyes (Version 1)
12 After Hours (Version 1)

Disc Two

01 I’m Waiting For The Man (Version 2)
02 Venus In Furs (Version 2)
03 I Can’t Stand It (Version 1)
04 There She Goes Again (Version 2)
05 Some Kinda Love (Version 2)
06 Over You (Version 2)
07 After Hours (Version 2)
08 We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together (Version 2)
09 Sweet Bonnie Brown/Too Much
10 Heroin (Version 2)
11 White Light/White Heat (Version 1)
12 I’m Set Free

Disc Three

01 We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together (Version 3)
02 Some Kinda Love (Version 3)
03 There She Goes Again (Version 3)
04 Heroin (Version 3)
05 Ocean
06 Sister Ray

Disc Four

01 I’m Waiting For The Man (Version 3)
02 What Goes On (Version 2)
03 Some Kinda Love (Version 4)
04 We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together (Version 4)
05 Beginning To See The Light
06 Lisa Says
07 New Age
08 Rock and Roll
09 I Can’t Stand It (Version 2)
10 Heroin (Version 4)
11 White Light/White Heat (Version 2)
12 Sweet Jane (Version 2)

Label: Polydor / Universal Music Enterprises

Release date: November 20, 2015


On July 18, 1988.


On July 18, 1988, Christa Päffgen aka Nico died aged 49. German born singer-songwriter, lyricist, composer, musician, fashion model and actress Nico was promoted in the 60’s by Andy Warhol and had few roles in movies including Federico  Fellini’s “La Dolce Vita” (1960) and Andy Warhol’s “Chelsea Girls” (1966), but she is best known  by her vocals on the Velvet Underground’s album from 1967 “The Velvet Underground & Nico”.

On June 2, 2008.

Bo Diddley

On June 2, 2008, Ellas Otha Bates aka Bo Diddley, died aged 79. He was R&B and Chicago blues vocalist, guitarist, songwriter and music producer and he played important role in the transition from the blues to rock and roll. His original syncopated beat – three strokes /rest/ two strokes, became the core rhythm of rock ’n’ roll. His style influenced big number of music acts including The Animals, Buddy Holly, Jimi Hendrix, The Rolling Stones, Tom Petty, Parliament Funkadelic, The Velvet Underground, The Who, The Yardbirds, Eric Clapton, and The Beatles.