Tag Archives: Bells

Buffy Sainte-Marie: She Used to Wanna Be a Balerina

In March 1971, “Vanguard” label released “She Used to Wanna Be a Ballerina” the seventh Buffy Sainte-Marie album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Jack Nitzsche and Buffy Sainte-Marie.


  • Buffy Sainte-Marie – vocals
  • Jesse Ed Davis – guitar
  • Neil Young – guitar 
  • Ry Cooder – guitar
  • Jack Nitzsche – piano
  • Merry Clayton – backing vocals
  • Gayle Levant – harp
  • Crazy Horse

Track listing:

All tracks by Buffy Sainte-Marie, except where noted.

  1. Rollin’ Mill Man – Gerry Goffin, Russ Titelman
  2. Smack Water Jack – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  3. Sweet September Morning
  4. She Used to Wanna Be a Ballerina
  5. Bells – Leonard Cohen
  6. Helpless – Neil Young
  7. Moratorium
  8. The Surfer – Buffy Sainte-Marie, Ariel Gonzales, Carlos Pardeiro
  9. Song of the French Partisan – Anna Marly, Hy Zaret
  10. Soldier Blue
  11. Now You’ve Been Gone for a Long Time

On May 17, 1968.

On May 17, 1968, “Transatlantic” label released the self – titled, debut Pentangle album. It was recorded February – March 1968, at “IBC Studios” and “Olympic Sound Studio” in London, and was produced by Shel Talmy.


  • Jacqui McShee– vocals
  • Bert Jansch– vocals, acoustic guitar
  • John Renbourn– vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Danny Thompson– double bass
  • Terry Cox– vocals, drums

Track listing:

  1. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme – traditional
  2. Bells – Jacqui McShee, Bert Jansch, John Renbourn, Danny Thompson, Terry Cox
  3. Hear Mt Call – The Staple Singers
  4. Pentangling – Jacqui McShee, Bert Jansch, John Renbourn, Danny Thompson, Terry Cox
  5. Mirage – Bert Jansch
  6. Way Behind the Sun – traditional
  7. Bruton Town – traditional
  8. Waltz – Jacqui McShee, Bert Jansch, John Renbourn, Danny Thompson, Terry Cox


On May 3, 2005.

On May 3, 2005, “PI Recordings” label released “Spiritual Unity”, the 16th Marc Ribot album. It was recorded in October 2004, at “Orange Music Sound Studio” in West Orange, New Jersey, “Tonic” in New York City, and was produced by Marc Ribot.


  • Marc Ribot– guitar
  • Roy Campbell– trumpet, pocket trumpet
  • Henry Grimes– bass
  • Chad Taylor – drums

 Track listing:

All tracks by Albert Ayler.

  1. Invocation
  2. Spirits
  3. Truth Is Marching In
  4. Saints
  5. Bells