Tag Archives: Mark Linett

In August 1982.

In August 1982, “Warner Bros” label released “If That’s What It Takes”, the debut Michael McDonald studio album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Warner Bros. Recording Studio”; “Sunset Sound Recorders” and “Ocean Way Recording” in Hollywood, and was produced by Ted Templeman and Lenny Waronker.


  • Lead vocals: Michael McDonald
  • Bass: Willie Weeks, Louis Johnson, Mike Porcaro
  • Drums: Steve Gadd, Jeff Porcaro
  • Guitar: Dean Parks, Steve Lukather, Robben Ford
  • Saxophone: Edgar Winter, Tom Scott
  • Percussion: Lenny Castro, Bobby LaKind, Paulinho Da Costa, Ted Templeman
  • Piano: Greg Phillinganes, Michael McDonald
  • Clavinet: Greg Phillinganes
  • Organ: Greg Phillinganes
  • Fender Rhodes: Michael McDonald, Greg Phillinganes, Michael Omartian
  • Synthesizer: Michael McDonald, Michael Boddicker
  • Lyricon: Tom Scott
  • Background vocals: Michael McDonald, Ed Sanford, Maureen McDonald,  Kenny Loggins, Christopher Cross, Brenda Russell, Kathy Walker, Amy Holland
  • Engineers: Ken Deane, Bobby Hata, Lee Herschberg, James Isaacson, Donn Landee, Mark Linett, Steve McManus
  • Overdub engineers: Lee Herschberg, James Isaacson, Donn Landee, Mark Linett
  • Mixing: Lee Herschberg
  • Mastering: Bobby Hata
  • Horn arrangements: Jerry Hey
  • String arrangements: Marty Paich
  • Keyboard technician: Paul Mederios
  • Production coordinators: Joan Parker, Kathy Walker and Vicki Fortson
  • Art direction and Design: Jeff Adamoff
  • Photography: Jim Shea
  • Direction: Irving Azoff

Track listing:

  1. Playin’ by the Rules – Michael McDonald, Ed Sanford
  2. I Keep Forgetting – Michael McDonald, Ed Sanford, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  3. Love Lies – Michael McDonald, Randy Goodrum
  4. I Gotta Try – Michael McDonald, Kenny Loggins
  5. I Can Let Go Now – Michael McDonald
  6. That’s Why – McDonald, Randy Goodrum
  7. If That’s What It Takes – Michael McDonald, Jackie De Shannon
  8. No Such Luck – Michael McDonald, Grady Walker, Harry Garfield
  9. Losin’ End – Michael McDonald
  10. Believe in It – Michael McDonald

On January 30, 1990.


On January 30, 1990, “Reprise Records” label released “Riverside”, the fifth Luka Bloom album. It was recorded in 1989, at “R.P.M.” in New York City, “S.T.S”. in Dublin,  and at “Track Record” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jeffrey Woods. .


  • Luka Bloom – vocals, guitars, backing vocals, arrangements
  • David Hofstra – bass
  • Liam ‘O Maonlai -bodhrán
  • Jane Scarpantoni – cello
  • Bob Riley – drums, percussion
  • Jeffrey Woods – keyboards, electric guitar
  • Ed Tomney – electric guitar
  • Eileen Ivers – fiddle
  • Conor Byrne – flute
  • Ali Fatemi – goblet drum
  • David Mansfield – mandolin
  • Mike Krowiak – recording engineer
  • Mark Linett – mix engineer
  • David Seltzer – photography
  • Kim Champagne – artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Luka Bloom.

  1. Delirious
  2. Dreams in America
  3. Over the Moon
  4. Gone to Pablo
  5. The Man is Alive
  6. An Irishman in Chinatown
  7. Rescue Mission
  8. The One
  9. Hudson lady
  10. This is for Life
  11. You Couldn’t Have Come At A Better Time
  12. The Hill of Allen