On July 1, 1997.

On July 1, 1997, “Savant” label released “The Opening Round”, subtitled “The Groove Masters Series Vol. 1”, the 43rd Houston Person album. It was recorded in February 1997, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Houston Person.


  • Houston Person– tenor saxophone
  • Joey DeFrancesco– Hammond B3 organ
  • Rodney Jones– guitar
  • Tracy Wormworth– electric bass
  • Bernard Purdie– drums

Track listing:

  1. Sweet Sucker – Johnny Griffin
  2. Let’s Stay Together – Al Green, Al Jackson Jr., Willie Mitchell
  3. Can’t Help Lovin’ That Man – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II
  4. What’s Going On? – Marvin Gaye, Renaldo Benson, Al Cleveland
  5. When a Man Loves a Woman – Calvin Lewis, Andrew Wright
  6. Blue Spring – Rodney Jones
  7. Song for a Rainbow – Rodney Jones
  8. Shenandoah – traditional


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.