Tag Archives: Open Your Heart

On November 10, 1980.

On November 10, 1980, “Mercury” label released “As One”, the eleventh Bar Kays album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Ardent Recording Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Allen Jones.


  • Larry Dodson – vocals
  • Winston Stewart – keyboards
  • Lloyd Smith – guitar
  • James Alexander – bass
  • Mike Beard – drums
  • Charles “Scoops” Allen – trumpet
  • Harvey Henderson – saxophone
  • Frank Thompson – trombone

Track listing:

  1. As One
  2. Say It Through Love
  3. Body Fever
  4. Work It Out
  5. Boogie Body Land
  6. Take The Time To Love Somebody
  7. Open Your Heart
  8. Deliver Us

On February 10, 2017.

On February 10, 2017, “Yep Roc” label released “Bobby Fuller Died for Your Sins”, the fourteenth Chuck Prophet album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Hyde Street Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by Brad Jones, Paul Q. Kolderie, Chuck Prophet and Bill Wesemann.


  • Chuck Prophet – vocals, guitar
  • Kevin T White – bass
  • Brad Jones – bass, harmonica, keyboards
  • Stephanie Finch – vocals
  • Jim Hoke – woodwind
  • Paul Revelli, Prairie Prince, Vicente Rodriquez – drums
  • James DePrato – guitar
  • Matt Winegar – keyboards, bass, guitar
  • Richard Dodd – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Prophet, except where noted.

  1. Bobby Fuller Died For Your Sins – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  2. Your Skin
  3. Open Your Heart – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  4. Come Out in Code – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  5. Killing Machine – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  6. Bad Year for Rock and Roll – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  7. Jesus Was a Social Drinker
  8. In The Mausoleum (For Alan Vega) – Chuck Prophet, James DePrato, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  9. Rider of the Train
  10. It Was Connie Britton
  11. Post-War Cinematic Dead Man Blues – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)
  12. We Got Up and Played
  13. Alex Nieto – Chuck Prophet, klipschutz (Kurt Lipschutz)

In February 1972.


In February 1972, “Island” label released “Oh How We Danced”, the debut Jim Capaldi solo studio album. It was recorded in December 1971, at “Muscle Shoals Sound Studios”, and was produced by Jim Capaldi and Chris Blackwell.


  • Jim Capaldi – lead vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section
  • David Hood– bass
  • Roger Hawkins– drums
  • Barry Beckett- piano, organ
  • Jimmy Johnson- electric guitar
  • Paul Kossoff- electric guitar
  • Dave Mason- harmonica, electric guitar
  • Steve Winwood- organ, backing vocal, guitar
  • Chris Wood- flute, electric saxophone
  • Ric Grech- bass
  • Jim Gordon- drums
  • Rebop Kwaku Baah- percussion, congas
  • Trevor Burton- bass
  • Mike Kellie- drums
  • Bob Griffin – piano
  • Sunny Leslie- backing vocal
  • Brian Humphries, Jerry Masters – engineer
  • Neal Preston – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Capaldi, except where noted.

  1. Eve
  2. Big Thirst – Jim Capaldi, Dave Mason
  3. Love is All You Can Try
  4. Last Day of Dawn
  5. Don’t be a Hero
  6. Open Your Heart
  7. How Much Can a Man Really Take?
  8. Anniversary Song – Saul Chaplin, Al Jolson

On June 30, 1986.


On June 30, 1986, “Sire” label released “True Blue”, the third Madonna studio album. It was recorded December 1985–April 1986, at “Channel Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Madonna, Stephen Bray and Patrick Leonard. “True Blue” was global commercial success, reaching number one in record-breaking 28 countries worldwide, spending 34 consecutive weeks at the top of the “European Top 100 Albums” chart, longer than any other album in history. It became the world’s top-selling album of 1986,and the best-selling album of the 1980s by a female artist. In 1986, as recognition of her impact on the popular culture, Madonna became the first female artist to receive the “Video Vanguard Award” at the 1986 “MTV Video Music Awards”.


  • Madonna – lead and backing vocals
  • Bruce Gaitsch – guitar
  • Dann Huff– guitar
  • Paul Jackson, Jr.– guitar
  • John Putnam – acoustic and electric guitar
  • David Williams – guitar, rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Fred Zarr – keyboards
  • Stephen Bray – keyboards, drums, music programming, drum programming
  • Patrick Leonard– keyboards, drums, drum programming, programming
  • Jonathan Moffett – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Paulinho da Costa– percussion
  • Dave Boroff – saxophone
  • Keithen Carter – backing vocals
  • Edie Lehmann – backing vocals
  • Jackie Jackson– backing vocals
  • Siedah Garrett– backing vocals
  • Richard Marx– backging vocals
  • Billy Meyers – string arrangements
  • Michael Hutchinson – engineer
  • Michael Verdick – engineer, mixing
  • Dan Nebenzal – mixing
  • Ted Jensenat Sterling Sound, NYC – mastering
  • Jeffrey Kent Ayeroff – art direction
  • Jeri McManus – art direction, design
  • Herb Ritts– photography

Track listing:

  1. Papa Don’t Preach – Brain Elliot, Madonna
  2. Open Your Heart – Madonna, Gardner Cole, Peter Rafelson
  3. White Heat – Patrick Leonard, Madonna
  4. Live to Tell – Patrick Leonard, Madonna
  5. Where’s the Party – Madonna, Stephen Bray, Patrick Leonard
  6. True Blue – Madonna, Stephen Bray
  7. La Isla Bonita – Madonna, Patrick Leonard, Bruce Gaitsch
  8. Jimmy Jimmy – Madonna, Stephen Bray
  9. Love Makes the World Go Round – Madonna, Patrick Leonard



On October 16, 1981.

The Hyman League Dare

On October 16, 1981, “Virgin” label released “Dare”, the third  Human League studio album. It was recorded March – September 1981, at “Genetic Sound”, in Berkshire, and was produced by Martin Rushent, Ian Burden, Jo Callis, Joanne Catherall, Philip Oakey, Susan Ann Sulley, and Philip Adrian Wright.


  • Ian Burden – synthesizer
  • Jo Callis – synthesizer
  • Joanne Catherall – vocals
  • Philip Oakey – vocals, synthesizer
  • Susan Ann Sulley – vocals
  • Philip Adrian Wright – synthesizer, slides

Track listing:

  1. The Things That Dreams Are Made Of – Philip Oakey, Philip Adrian Wright
  2. Open Your Heart – Jo Callis and Philip Oakey
  3. The Sound of the Crowd – Ian Burden, Philip Oakey
  4. Darkness – Jo Callis, Philip Oakey
  5. Do or Die – Ian Burden, Philip Oakey
  6. Get Carter – Roy Budd
  7. I Am the Law – Philip Oakey, Philip Adrian Wright
  8. Seconds – Jo Callis, Philip Oakey, Philip Adrian Wright
  9. Love Action – Ian Burden, Philip Oakey
  10. Don’t You Want Me – Jo Callis, Philip Oakey, Philip Adrian Wright