Tag Archives: Allen Jones

In November 1981.

In November 1981, “Mercury” label released “Nightcruising”, the twelve Bar Kays (The) album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Ardent Recording Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Allen Jones.



  • James Alexander – vocals, bass
  • Larry Dodson – vocals
  • Mark Bynum – vocals, keyboard
  • Winston Stewart – keyboards
  • Lloyd Smith – guitar
  • Michael Toles – guitar
  • Charles Allen – vocals, trumpet
  • Benjamin Cauley – trumpet
  • Harvey Henderson – saxophone
  • Frank Thompson – trombone
  • Bryan Smith – bass
  • Michael Beard – drums
  • Sherman Guy – vocals, percussion
  • Mervell Thomas – arranger
  • Henry Bush – engineer
  • Allen Jones – engineer, cover concept
  • Bernie Grundman – engineer
  • Mike McCarty – art direction
  • Tom Hill – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by James Alexander, Larry Dodson, Mark Bynum, Winston Stewart, Lloyd Smith, Charles Allen, Benjamin Cauley, Harvey Henderson, Frank Thompson, Bryan Smith, Michael Beard, Sherman Guy and Allen Jones, except where noted.

  1. Nightcruising
  2. Hit and Run
  3. Feels Like I’m Falling in Love
  4. Freaky Behavior – Allen Jones, Howard Redmond, Jr.
  5. Touch Tone
  6. Unforgettable Dream
  7. Traffic Jammer
  8. Backseat Driver

On November 10, 1980.

On November 10, 1980, “Mercury” label released “As One”, the eleventh Bar Kays album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Ardent Recording Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Allen Jones.


  • Larry Dodson – vocals
  • Winston Stewart – keyboards
  • Lloyd Smith – guitar
  • James Alexander – bass
  • Mike Beard – drums
  • Charles “Scoops” Allen – trumpet
  • Harvey Henderson – saxophone
  • Frank Thompson – trombone

Track listing:

  1. As One
  2. Say It Through Love
  3. Body Fever
  4. Work It Out
  5. Boogie Body Land
  6. Take The Time To Love Somebody
  7. Open Your Heart
  8. Deliver Us

On March 16, 1981.

The Who-Face-dances

On March 16, 1981, “Warner Bros” label release “Face Dances”, the ninth The Who studio album. It was recorded July – December 1980, at “Odyssey Recording Studios” in London, and was produced by Bill Szymczyk.


  • Roger Daltrey- lead vocals
  • Pete Townshend- guitars, keyboards, backing vocals, lead vocals
  • John Entwistle- bass guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals
  • Kenney Jones- drums
  • John “Rabbit” Bundrick- keyboards, synthesizer, backing vocals
  • Michael Andrews -paintings
  • Brian Aris -photography
  • Clive Barker- paintings, photography, paintbox bronze on rear cover
  • Peter Blake- cover design, concept, paintings
  • Patrick Caulfield– paintings
  • Gavin Cochrane – photography
  • Richard Evans- graphic design
  • Richard Hamilton– paintings
  • David Hockney– paintings
  • Howard Hodgkin– paintings
  • David Inshaw– paintings
  • Bill Jacklin – paintings
  • Allen Jones– paintings
  • B. Kitaj– paintings
  • Tom Phillips– paintings
  • Patrick Procktor – paintings
  • Colin Self– paintings
  • Joe Tilson – paintings
  • David Tindle – paintings

Track listing:

All tracks by Pete Townshend, except where noted.

  1. You Better You Bet
  2. Don’t Let Go the Coat
  3. Cache Cache
  4. The Quiet One – John Entwistle
  5. Did You Steal My Money
  6. How Can You Do It Alone
  7. Daily Records
  8. You – John Entwistle
  9. Another Tricky Day

On February 15, 1980.


On February 15, 1980, “F-Beat” label released “Get Happy!!”, the fourth Elvis Costello album, third one with the Attractions. It was recorded in October 1979, and was produced by Nick Lowe. Album sleeve was designed by “F-Beat” art director Barney Bubbles. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Get Happy” at number 11 of its list of the “100 Greatest Albums of the 1980s”. In 2012, “Slant”  magazine ranked the album at number 68 on its list of “Best Albums of the 1980s.


  • Elvis Costello– vocals, guitar, organ, all instruments on “New Amsterdam”
  • Steve Nieve– piano, organ
  • Bruce Thomas– bass, harmonica
  • Pete Thomas– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello except where noted.

  1. Love for Tender
  2. Opportunity
  3. The Imposter
  4. Secondary Modern
  5. King Horse
  6. Possession
  7. Man Called Uncle
  8. Clowntime Is Over
  9. New Amsterdam
  10. High Fidelity
  11. I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down – Homer Banks, Allen Jones
  12. Black & White World
  13. 5ive Gears in Reverse
  14. B Movie
  15. Motel Matches
  16. Human Touch
  17. Beaten to the Punch
  18. Temptation
  19. I Stand Accused – Tony Colton, Ray Smith
  20. Riot Act

On January 24, 1990.

Black Crowes Shake Your Money maker

On January 24, 1990, “Def American Recordings” released “Shake Your Money Maker”, the debut The Black Crowes album.  It was named after an Elmore James’s classic blues song and was recorded in 1989, at the “Soundscape Studios” in Atlanta; “Chapel Studios”, “Paramount Studios” and “Grandmaster Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by George Drakoulias. “Shake Your Money Maker” is the Black Crowes’ best selling album, having sold more than 5 million copies.


  • Chris Robinson– vocals
  • Rich Robinson– guitar
  • Jeff Cease– guitar
  • Johnny Colt– bass guitar
  • Steve Gorman– drums
  • Chuck Leavell– piano, organ
  • Brendan O’Brien– “a potpourri of instruments”
  • Laura Creamer– background vocals
  • Michael Lavine – photography
  • Ruth Leitman – photography, cover photo
  • Alan Forbes – artwork, art direction, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Chris Robinson and Rich Robinson, except where noted.

  1. Twice As Hard
  2. Jealous Again
  3. Sister Luck
  4. Could I’ve Been So Blind
  5. Seeing Things
  6. Hard to Handle – Allen Jones, Alvertis Isbell, Otis Redding
  7. Thick n’ Thin
  8. She Talks to Angels
  9. Struttin’ Blues
  10. Stare It Cold
  11. Live Too Fast Blues/Mercy, Sweet Moan

On October 26, 1967.


On October 26, 1967,”Stax” label released “Soul Men”, the third Sam & Dave album.  It was recorded August – October 1967, and was produced by Isaac Hayes and David Porter. The album featured the single “Soul Man” that became one of the R&B classics and won  Sam & Dave a “Grammy” in 1967 for” Best R&B Group, Vocal or Instrumental”.


  • Sam Moore- vocals
  • Dave Prater- vocals
  • Booker T. & the MG’sand the Mar-Key Horns – instrumentation
  • Booker T. Jones- keyboards
  • Steve Cropper- guitar
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn- bass guitar
  • Al Jackson, Jr.- drums
  • Charles “Packy” Axton- tenor saxophone
  • Don Nix- saxophone
  • Wayne Jackson- trombone, trumpet
  • Isaac Hayes- organ
  • Loring Eutemey – design
  • Jean-Pierre Leloir – photography
  1. Soul Man – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  2. May I Baby – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  3. Broke Down Piece of Man – Steve Cropper, Joe Shamwell
  4. Let It Be Me – Gilbert Bécaud, Mann Curtis, Pierre Delanoé
  5. Hold It Baby – Bonnie “Mack” Rice
  6. I’m With You – Lowman Pauling
  7. Don’t Knock It – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  8. Just Keep Holding On – Alvertis Isbell, Booker T. Jones
  9. The Good Runs the Bad Away – Wayne Jackson, Andrew Love
  10. Rich Kind of Poverty – Isaac Hayes, Paul Selph
  11. I’ve Seen What Loneliness Can Do – Homer Banks, Allen Jones